Geelong vs Brisbane - Who would win?

brisbane irection.
easily people under estimate how good the lions actually were.look at that forward line!

Funny a lot of people are saying Brisbane's forward line is the decider. This year Geelong kicked 2672 points in H&A, 160 more than any other side. Last year we kicked 2542, which is still more than Brisbane in any of it's flag years.

As for Geelogn having no competition :)rolleyes:), it looks that way because we are ahead of the pack at the moment. Just because Brisbane lost plenty of H&A games during their seasons, they get some kind of credit for having competition? Pretty silly reasoning if you think about it.

GEELONG WOULD WIN
the reasons for this was,
a/ that brisbane side were all at there peak ( late twenties , experience, prime)
b/ geelong were very young ( abletts, bartels ect were like 20-21)
c/ although the cats were young these same guys almost beat them in the prelim, from memory it was less then a goal in the 04 prelim?
d/ no ottens, no selwood ect ect

also rememebr brisbane were handed the best of 2 sides, given priority drafts and also were given salary cap increasements.....
brisbane were a very very good side, but from the above comment....makes u think....

also people have mentioned brisbane had a great forward line, well they didnt score big hauls against the cats coz the cats used to play a defensive style of play , and also one reason why the cats are so good is because they have so many goal scorers...rememebr it is a team game not a individual game...hence why geelong never won a flag with ablett snr.

but with all due respect brisbane have got the 3 flags on the board, geelong have 1...so only time will tell....

also brisbane were tuff and skillfull...

Personnel aside, what sets Geelong apart is their style of play. Brisbane did not have a backline that could run, share and distribute the ball the way Geelong can. I expect Geelong's dare and play-on style of football would be a bit much for the Lions and I'll go with Hart on this one seeing as he actually played for 'em.

Also, as mentioned, Byrnes in place of Enright is lunacy; Enright is arguably Geelong's most polished player and rarely if ever makes a blue.

Funny a lot of people are saying Brisbane's forward line is the decider. This year Geelong kicked 2672 points in H&A, 160 more than any other side. Last year we kicked 2542, which is still more than Brisbane in any of it's flag years.

As for Geelogn having no competition :)rolleyes:), it looks that way because we are ahead of the pack at the moment. Just because Brisbane lost plenty of H&A games during their seasons, they get some kind of credit for having competition? Pretty silly reasoning if you think about it.
no its because the game has changed heaps since Brisbane won there grand finals. now the game is a much faster pasted game

This is the the thread that does not end. Yes it goes on and on my friends. Da da da dide da daaaaaaa da. There's more chance of someone on here replicating photosynthesis artificially than a concensus being reached on this. Brisbane on what day, is it raining, Did Ablett go out for vindaloo and turn up a bit churny on the day. Be content with the fact it would have been the best game of football played in history if both had played at their peak against each other and given it their absolute all.

Geelong Cats, team of the millenium would win by 100+

Team of the millenium?

As it stands today Geelong isn't even the team of the last four years.

West Coast and Sydney each played 2 Grand Finals for 1 win. Geelong has only made one Grand Final for one win so far (but I must add that I think that will change in a few weeks)

Essendon 99-01 were about the best side I've seen and they only got one flag. Premierships are bloody hard to win, winning three is amazing.

If Geelong do go on and win 3 flags I will happily rate them above Brisbane because the Lions never dominated a season like the Cats have - but on the evidence we have today Brisbane have them covered.

This thread seems to me 1 year and 3 weeks early.

Are you saying it's higher scoring now?

Because the average points for for the top 8 in 2001 was 2294.

The top 8 in 2008 on average scored 2251, 7 goals less.
im saying the pace of the game is much faster with more interchanges and all. i think the top teams now score much more then what the top teams scored back then. I would not average it out from this year there have been alot of really bad teams. in that period there was carlton and bulldogs i think but no other team was really bad. this year we have west coast,melbourne,freo and port.

a lot of people r saying geelong's record is much better then brisbanes but brisbane covered alot of injurys during that time players like lynch that could not travel much,j.brown,1 of the scotts i think i get confused but they covered heaps of injurys. geelong has been pretty lucky with injurys they had king out last year and maybe a couple of others and egan out this year but other then that not too much else bad has happend for them. both sides r kick ass though. i wish adelaide manges to pull out a side like 1 of these 2 in the next 10 years:D and also be able to do well in the finals which we seem to struggle in

Either:

This year's competition has been weaker, allowing Geelong to move well ahead of the pack,

Or:

Geelong have taken the game to a new level, leaving the rest of the competition at 05/06 levels of skill and teamwork while far outclassing them in almost every respect.

We'll never agree, but it's fun trying...:D

Yard Sticks (Competition) - my first reaction is that Brisbane in 01-03 had the tougher competition but on further thought I'm not so sure. Geelong have only lost a few games and won most games convincingly. This can be taken as lack of competition but could also be a reflection of where the Cats are at. When it comes down to it, answering the question of who had the tougher competition is as hard as answering the OP. If I had to choose I'd probably lean towards Brisbane having the tougher competition.

Player vs Player - try picking one side from the two: who do you leave out? Again, tough. I'd have to say I loved the Brisbane team and reckon they come out slightly ahead when you go through the match-ups. Interestingly, if you list both teams from best to worst players, I reckon Brisbane are ahead at the top of the list but Geelong are ahead at the bottom of the list. Depth (and here I mean the difference between the best and worst player in the team) has been one of Geelongs real strengths (not that Brisbane's was shabby). But player vs player I'd have Brisbane slightly ahead.

Team Play - this is where I think Geelong has the edge. Brisbane won simply because their individual players were better. Geelong has a teamwork and gameplan I have never witnessed before (yes, I know I'm looking through Geelong coloured glasses but non-Geelong supporters have made the same comment). So Geelong ahead on this one for me.

Overall - who bloody knows? As another poster stated, there are so many variables - the weather, who ate what for breakfast etc. All I know is that it would be an absolute ripper of a game. :D

I suspect if the teams played 3 times, neither team would win 3-0.

Well, I guess the general consensus is........(drum roll).....that the Cats arent rated amongst the big boys just yet & that Brisbane has been & is the side of the MIllenium thus far.....sorry kittens.....thumsup;thumpsup;tumbsup

Did it take all of six days to come up with your conclusion?

Can comeone please bookmark this thread for 2011, at which point we will actually be able to make some sort of reasonable judgement.

As it stands right now we are comparing a team that has completed their era of success against one that has (hopefully) got a fair way to go.

Geelong vs Brisbane - Who would win?