Oppo Camp General AFL and other clubs discussion thread. **Opposition fans not welcome** Part 5

Big talking story is Clarko and no frees for holding the ball

Most of the shows unable to find the relevant vision

If you show three incidents that aren't what Clarko is talking about then Clarko must be wrong

Footy Classified found a whole string of examples, but Kane couldn't agree with any of it

Classified really needs a Grant Thomas type in there who'll ask the hard questions of the panel. Tonight Hutchy brings up Essendon shedding players after 2000 due to salary cap issues, but wasn't going to ask the question that needs to be asked to Lloydy - why did you Hirdy Mercuri & Misiti need so much money. Wouldn't you have preferred to keep your mates and take a 20% pay cut?

No one ever asks the Big Sook the same question - you almost won 2 Grand Finals. How often do you think that you might have been able to recruit a Burgoyne or similar type player to get you over the line if you'd been on a little less $?

For the last two rounds Carlton have just saved Kade Simpson equalling Kevin Murray for most losses

Noticed that on the most wins tally it is:
Tuck 302
Bartlett 260
Burgoyne 254

So we need another 6 wins to get Burgoyne into second spot

I haven't watched any of them for last couple of years and I haven't missed one single one.
I really miss the good old days of the original Talking Footy and such. Proper analysis and informative. A far cry from what is dished up by some of these pseudo experts these days.
The only one I watch is The Front Bar. And that's hardly a footy show.

I watched a bit of 360 tonight. Robbo is a complete and utter twat. Went straight into blaming the coaches. FFS - it is the coaches job to exploit the rules. It is not their fault.

The single biggest change to football ever is 4 on the bench and unlimited rotations. Even in the early 90’s bench players were largely reserves and there was only two of them. This change to the game has been massive and it has never been properly addressed.
Robbo is a buffoon of the highest order . Showed his colours and complete lack of ability to be nothing more then a cheerleader during the 'saga'

But he did agree with Clarko .......then went on his coaching rant before GW cut him off after he lost interest

Some melts on the Tigers board regarding the rescheduled fixture and the prospect of having to move in to hubs. Cotchin has come out and said that some of their players would not be willing to go to hubs for extended periods. I think that Cotchin, Riewoldt, Edwards and Houlli are among them. They may have to wait to 2021 for their next premiership.

This is beginning to sound a lot like Melbourne... No wonder things are not what they seem down there. Its all a bit too hard at the moment

Haven't the tigers played their last 15 games at the MCG, and then Marvel?

Go to a hub for 6 weeks you sooks

Even though we've had a rough fixture with effectively no home games (outside of round 1) I'd be more than happy to see us go join a hub interstate.

I think our group has the right mindset to thrive in those conditions, and ultimately I reckon we can go all the way this year. A tough start followed by an extended period interstate would only lend credibility to any potential premiership we might be able to win.

Also the benefit of the entire team not being in Victoria is that the chances of any of our players getting COVID and potentially derailing our entire season is far lower.

Let's do it the hard way.

Richmond fans can EAGOD for having the gall to compare their mediocre list to our glorious 3peat teams. We can rule a line through the Tuggers if they aren't even committed enough to the season to send their entire squad interstate for a mere two weeks.

They've been carried hard by their bandwagoner army and the absence of crowds has brought them back to the pack. Its also revealed how ruthlesssly average most of their players are - what a travesty players like Houli, Lambert & Edwards are now regarded as All-Australians.

Even though we've had a rough fixture with effectively no home games (outside of round 1) I'd be more than happy to see us go join a hub interstate.

I think our group has the right mindset to thrive in those conditions, and ultimately I reckon we can go all the way this year. A tough start followed by an extended period interstate would only lend credibility to any potential premiership we might be able to win.

Also the benefit of the entire team not being in Victoria is that the chances of any of our players getting COVID and potentially derailing our entire season is far lower.

Let's do it the hard way.

If we have a 4-6 week road trip then bring it on

If it ends up being longer than that then so long as we are playing other teams in the same position then it won't matter either

If we play the Giants and Suns in Rounds 5&6 as scheduled then go to ACT/NSW for 14 days with our Round 7 match in the middle of that 14 day period then as I understand it we might be clear to travel to QLD or SA (hopefully WA & Tas too by then) without having to quarantine on arrival.

A Tassie hub would be good for us as we'd get a genuine home ground advantage from matches in Launceston - plus the players will feel more "at home"

R7 in Sydney/ACT (Maybe v Essendon)
R8 & R9 in Adelaide (v the Adelaide sides)
R10-R12 in Launceston

"In reality to a lot of different clubs, we aren't quite used to having no noise in the stadium ... You have to create your own energy." - Trent Cotchin today

Wow he must think that even with 5000 at a GWS game in Sydney that there is no noise at a ground. Sorry, comes across as a real douche.

Getting all a bit too hard for the tigers.

"In reality to a lot of different clubs, we aren't quite used to having no noise in the stadium ... You have to create your own energy." - Trent Cotchin today

Wow he must think that even with 5000 at a GWS game in Sydney that there is no noise at a ground. Sorry, comes across as a real douche.

Getting all a bit too hard for the tigers.

Do the recent flags make it harder for some Tigers and Eagles to motivate themselves?

Maybe it does

Maybe Richmond are missing out on not having had a Grand Final defeat...

Richmond fans can EAGOD for having the gall to compare their mediocre list to our glorious 3peat teams. We can rule a line through the Tuggers if they aren't even committed enough to the season to send their entire squad interstate for a mere two weeks.

They've been carried hard by their bandwagoner army and the absence of crowds has brought them back to the pack. Its also revealed how ruthlesssly average most of their players are - what a travesty players like Houli, Lambert & Edwards are now regarded as All-Australians.

I don’t think Lambert was ever All Australian (and never deserved to be). Edwards made it to the AA bench (undeservedly) in 2018. He was lucky in that year to be surrounded by some good players and was carried on their coattails.

Surely no one’s comparing that Richmond 2017/2019 premiership side to the Hawthorn 3 peat side!!??

No I don't think even Richomnd supporters could be that stupid
And Lambert in discussions for AA - FMD - did that really happen. in what universe could that even be considered possible

No I don't think even Richomnd supporters could be that stupid
And Lambert in discussions for AA - FMD - did that really happen. in what universe could that even be considered possible

they are that stupid. That’s why after being heckled in that 2018 final during game and when leaving the ground I’m so happy that they couldn’t go B2B. The last 3 premiers would have to go down as one of the 3 worst to have ever played.

edit: last 4

Who would have thought being the "oldest team in the comp." could possibly work to our advantage in the sort of situation we all find ourselves in now? ;)

Not something the AFL* (in their forever quest to stymie us at every opportunity) would have had in mind, I'm sure.

Gil has agreed with Clarko in regards to the holding the ball rule.. Hmmm get ready for a record number of Hawthorn players getting caught holding the ball this week.
it's funny coz I swear I saw the Bulldogs win a whole bunch of HTB decisions in their game - actually made me think it might be Rule of the Week ...

For the last two rounds Carlton have just saved Kade Simpson equalling Kevin Murray for most losses

Noticed that on the most wins tally it is:
Tuck 302
Bartlett 260
Burgoyne 254

So we need another 6 wins to get Burgoyne into second spot
Joel Selwood would have to be close on wins

Cotchin would be doing Richmond a favor by not going atm.