Getting To Sydney Game- Bus Anyone? (post 22)

Re: Whos going to Sydney?

I go up most years and really trying to get up there again. If you're smart (or stupid, either way you look at it!), you can keep the cost low.

Tiger Airways have a $50 flight no luggage, at Avalon Airport (2.55pm). And you can get flights back to Melbourne Airport from about $100 the next day, depending what time. No late flights causes the need for acommodation which adds further cost, although you could just stay out all night! :p

I go up most years and really trying to get up there again. If you're smart (or stupid, either way you look at it!), you can keep the cost low.

Tiger Airways have a $50 flight no luggage, at Avalon Airport (2.55pm). And you can get flights back to Melbourne Airport from about $100 the next day, depending what time. No late flights causes the need for acommodation which adds further cost, although you could just stay out all night! :p

thanks brah!
i dont know what im going to do, its either do what you said or stay home m, next to the fireplace, listening to quarterbrains commentary,and fapping over Daisy Thomas?

Well with Tiget it could leave at any time or not at all

Re: Who's Going To Sydney?

I'm going up but my grandpa is organising it so I've got no idea :confused:
I hope jolly, swan and daisy are all back in considering we are going to sydney for a day :D

Well with Tiget it could leave at any time or not at all
Very true, as with any flight at the moment! But if you're trying to keep costs to a minimum, it could be worth the risk.

It's a very good night though, so it's worth trying to get up there. Getting back to Melb is the only annoying bit.

Very true, as with any flight at the moment! But if you're trying to keep costs to a minimum, it could be worth the risk.

It's a very good night though, so it's worth trying to get up there. Getting back to Melb is the only annoying bit.

I am going to the VFL on Sunday instead

I'm going to be in Sydney on the weekend to see my sister, but now my sister doesn't want to go to the game cos its too expensive. What a mole lol.

So the irony is, if I stay in Melbourne I get it live, but cos I'm in Sydney its delayed half an hour. :(

I'll be there.

I booked the flights a while ago. It's costing us $84 all up for 2 people return on the Tiger flight people are mentioning so that's $21 each, each way which is unbelievable and the main reason we're flying Tiger. We were lucky enough to book it when there was a 1c special going in one of the directions. Staying at the Radisson on Liverpool St and making a weekend out of it. Should be good me thinks.

This is the first time I will have ever seen the Pies live interstate so I'm really looking forward to it.

Someone mentioned something about a ferry that goes to the game, can anyone give any further details? The other times I've been to Sydney we've just got the train there which can be a bit of a pain after the game when everyone is trying to do the same thing, not sure if the ferry is any better than that

I caught the ferry to the game last year.

It leaves from the main ferry terminal at circular quay, and the transport cost is free if you have a match ticket on you, which I though was good.

I went this way last year as how many chances do you get to take a ferry to a football game.

A little warning though, it takes about 30 minutes with the ferry from the city, and then you have to catch a bus from the ferry terminal at Homebush to the ground, so give yourself a good hour before hand if you go this way.

Not sure about on the way back though, we just caught the train back to the city, yes it was packed, but we got on eventually.:)

I am going with my bestie (she doesn't even like footy - aint she lovely!). It's my first interstate footy trip and i'm muchly excitied. Also happens to be my birthday on Saturday so party time. :D

I booked through Pie in the Sky so went for the 5 star hotel and all!!

Catching the ferry too...includes sausage sizzle and drinks - should be a ripper.

Sitting in Aisle 143 row 19...

Bring.it.on

Yep, im heading up to go with a friend in Sydney, will be my first interstate game, very exciting!!!

This ferry idea sounds great, going to have to read into that one!

Using frequent flyer points to

Have been to Sydney for this match a few times and its great because we always win and its a great getaway

The stadium is clearly the worst place you can go to watch the footy though, seats set way back at funny viewing angles. Crowd uneducated but good.

Despite the stadium you will have a great time. Reckon Daisy loves it up there

I've got two extra tix in 142 (Pies Cheersquad goalend section) Row 31. Reckon $40 for the pair is do-able.

Anyone already up here or coming up but hasn't bought tix, PM me.

Getting To Sydney For The Game

Just wondering how many of you are heading up to Sydney for the game this weekend.

We are booked to fly out early Friday morning but the way it's looking our flight will probably either be delayed or cancelled.

So we have decided to organize an alternative just in case and wondered if anyone else was in a similar position.

There is 7 of us and we are thinking of hiring a mini bus and driving up Thursday night leaving Melbourne at approximately 9:00pm.

Is anyone else interested in filling one of the remaining 5 spots, cost of the bus & fuel will be split evenly amongst everyone.

Message me if you are interested.

Thanks

Fitzy

Getting To Sydney Game- Bus Anyone? (post 22)