Gillon stepping down 2022 - Press Conference at 11:30am EST

Clubs wont support anyone outside the AFL system.

No league body is going to be full transparent.

yes in some places clubs are going down - this isnt entirely the AFls fauly - they arent a jobs program for rural Australia either. However the club data nationally is up every year, whether sourced from the AFL, SANFL or WAFC.

The AFL wants to run all Aussie Rules leagues in the country from kids up. They should take responsibility.

Eddie would be a good choice even though I hate the Pies!

He understands grass roots football and what clubs need in the terms of rebuilding as well as finance wise.

Probably most interstate supporters won’t like it but then again what do they like these days. 🤣

Eddie gets my vote. 👍

Eddie has lived at the top end of town for half of his life, he couldn't give a s..t about grass roots footy.

Just look at the state of grassroots football, clubs are on their knees throughout even Victoria, Tasmanian football hasn't been thought of, Sa footy has dropped off, NSW and Qld are still the same, all we have is a private school system which leads to AFL growing, why aren't people continuing to participate after they're a certain age junior, once they get told there no further pathways to AFL. It seems this admin is keen to have players drafted via the private school system to AFL, with a second tier comp and they don't care about the rest, as more people will watch afl and attend games, Australian rules footy is not built on a college football system, it's built on grassroots comp, where it's an avenue for communities to socialise, demitrou and Gil are ruining the social fabric of our game
Spot on

Everyone can you please direct you're post to the true original Gil stepping down thread on the main board. This thread is a fraud only started just today. The real one on the main board was started April 1st. This isn't breaking news as it has been broken for weeks now. Have a look for yourself.

Sent from my CPH2025 using Tapatalk

Top 3 picks in no particular order

Corey Worthington: History of events coordination, experienced at dealing with the media, refuses to apologise for wrongs, both actual and perceived (low risk of liability), brings attention to the suns effects on ocular health (fulfils social responsibilities).

Cecil Edwards: More succulent Chinese meals at the footy (no brainer here), LGBTQI+ friendly, understands the importance of judo (CTE reduction), manifests democracy within the decision making chain, history of calling out inappropriate touching (safer changeroom environments).

Clive Palmer: Will litigate for literally any reason (custodianship), rein in spending on workers wages (financial sense), players gain hyperresistance to malaria, children de-wormed for free upon entrance to a game (compassion), already has your number so no need to sign up to any websites (expert data management).

I was really impressed with PMBangers pitch to run the SFA league, I see no reason why he couldn't run both at the same time.
I've already got my ten year plan;
  • No Academy restrictions, you can sign players as young as 12 and have them automatically join your list at 18
  • In the event of having 15 players unavailable due to injury, suspension or H/S protocols, you can temporarily sign any Australian over the age of 35 that hasn't played football for 5 years
  • Each team gets a special power up card to use once per season (can't be used during finals), these can include but are not limited to; Mascot plays as a 19th on field, replace an umpire with a listed player not involved in the game, multi-ball, torps worth 20 points, both sides shortest players to play exclusively in the ruck, spike the opponents teams water supply with laxatives.
  • No Umpire abuse charges or free kicks
  • A Tasmanian side, with the State Premier deciding the 20th team (must be an international location)
  • To avoid jumper clashes, away sides will play in the nude
  • Players to receive Brownlow votes if they make an opposition player laugh with a sledge

I have others, but don't want them stolen for my upcoming campaign

How many ex players have the business experience to be the CEO of a billion dollar industry?

It needs to go to a competent business person that hopefully has a fan first approach to the game.
The first 2 AFL CEO's, were ex state league players who were CEO's of publicly listed companies.

Ross Oakley played about 60 games for St Kilda, was on the Hawthorn board, was Oz MD of UK publicly listed Royal Insurance for many years, which later merged with Sun Alliance, become Royal Sun Alliance Insurance Group then RSA Insurance Group and there were mergers and acquisitions left right and centre in Oz and overseas during his time.

Wayne Jackson played about 70 games for West Torrens, became Chairman and President of the club, after the crows got the AFL licence, the AFL told the SANFL they had to set up, an independent of the clubs, South Australian Football Commission, and he was an inaugural appointee, was appointed to the AFL Commission in 1995 a year before he got the CEO's job, and was CEO of publicly listed BRL Hardy Ltd and also MD of South Australian Brewing Company.

Andrew Demetriou was a teacher whilst playing just over 100 games for North Melbourne and Hawthorn, then ran a dental equipment importing business, became CEO of the AFLPA and the commissioners said it was better to have him inside the tent pissing out than the other way, after negotiating hard for the players in the first CBA in 1998, and then had 3 years as footy ops manager before he got the job in 2003.

Gil did a combined law-commerce degree, then worked for management consulting firm Accenture for 4 or 5 years, then in 2000 Wayne Jackson employed him as his strategy consultant and he then worked his way thru the AFL to the top job. Not sure if there was a bit of the Adelaide old school tie / establishment involved in that appointment.

Edit he played in the Adelaide Hills comp and then 200+ games for Melbourne Uni Blues in VAFA and was a state representative and on the Carlton supplementary list for a year or two in the mid 90s.

Gil's career is similar to Roger Goodell's at the NFL, although Goodell's first job after uni was an intern at NFL and rose thru the ranks and 24 years later got voted in by the owners as NFL Commissioner.

There are 7 names mentioned in the Fox Sports article, including Brendon Gale and Travis Auld and Andrew Dillon, I discussed them in my earlier post and they come from a long time inside the game.

The AFL will look at someone who is CEO or maybe COO of a decent sized public company or Oz subsidiary of an international company, but like Oakley and Jackson, they will need to have a decent background in Aussie footy and understand the culture of the game and the culture of the clubs. The other 4 names are;

It's why I doubt they will go with Christine Holgate or Jayne Hrdlicka who have a strong CEO of public company background, but very little or no experience inside the game experience.

Sure Holgate has been on Collingwood's board for 5 or 6 years, but I doubt that will give her any edge. Hrdlicka as president of Tennis Oz understands the sports business and Melbourne business and sports establishment but as far as I know has no connection to the game.

Kylie Rogers has been at the AFL for 3 or 4 years and comes from a media executive background, has never been a CEO and I doubt she would get the gig over Auld or Dillon.

I don't know much about Bulldogs president Kylie Watson-Wheeler who is the Australia and New Zealand managing director of the Walt Disney Company, and meets that CEO of an international company's Oz subsidy criteria, and 7 years on their board, then a couple as president, would have a lot deeper understanding of the games needs being president of a club rather than just a board member.

Worst we have had since the guy that killed Fitzroy.
Probably the worst CEO in my lifetime.

Who cares who comes next, properly celebrate the end of Gill's time first.

We are getting our game back hopefully, byebye STAND!

Demetriou was the worst by a mile, a flat out crook as shown by his Acquire Learning & Crown shenanigans.

Did Gil stand down, or was he pushed?
The afl commisioners know the true story of how gold coast and GWS are performing.
Even membership numbers are wrong.
My family of 3 counts as 6 members for example.
I think AFL stuffed up GWS by giving too many high draft picks, alienating ex SA/WA/VIC people from encouraging their kids growing up in Sydney to support GWS.

The afl commisioners know the true story of how gold coast and GWS are performing.
I think AFL stuffed up GWS by giving too many high draft picks, alienating ex SA/WA/VIC people from encouraging their kids growing up in Sydney to support GWS.
I think that Gillon is worried that some players are having heart issues and it's likely no coincidence he resigns after the Brownlow medallist is now out of the game for a period of time. Each week there seems to be a player ill with heart problems or fainting. I think he knows that they stuffed up with its mandatory jab policy and there is potential lawsuits coming his way. Just my take.

Please put this in the tin foil hat section where it belongs.

**** columbo is out of retirement, with this detective work

No other sport has a go home factor, it's been it biggest during the demitrou, McLachlan reign, there needs to be a new person not involved at AFL or clubland, we see what is happening with how clubs treat issues and hope they go away rather then getting on the front foot, McLachlans response to the Goodes and rioli sagas were terrible

It’s not why he’s leaving. Bob Murphy told us 9 months ago that Gil was leaving to take up a job in Brisbane leading the Olympics committee up there. That’s what is happening

Is Benny Gale's weird half-position on gambling going to be an obstacle?

Remember a while back he was raging against online gambling ads, but happy that pokies were different and OK.

The first 2 AFL CEO's, were ex state league players who were CEO's of publicly listed companies.

Ross Oakley played about 60 games for St Kilda, was on the Hawthorn board, was Oz MD of UK publicly listed Royal Insurance for many years, which later merged with Sun Alliance, become Royal Sun Alliance Insurance Group then RSA Insurance Group and there were mergers and acquisitions left right and centre in Oz and overseas during his time.

Wayne Jackson played about 70 games for West Torrens, became Chairman and President of the club, after the crows got the AFL licence, the AFL told the SANFL they had to set up, an independent of the clubs, South Australian Football Commission, and he was an inaugural appointee, was appointed to the AFL Commission in 1995 a year before he got the CEO's job, and was CEO of publicly listed BRL Hardy Ltd and also MD of South Australian Brewing Company.

Andrew Demetriou was a teacher whilst playing just over 100 games for North Melbourne and Hawthorn, then ran a dental equipment importing business, became CEO of the AFLPA and the commissioners said it was better to have him inside the tent pissing out than the other way, after negotiating hard for the players in the first CBA in 1998, and then had 3 years as footy ops manager before he got the job in 2003.

Gil did a combined law-commerce degree, then worked for management consulting firm Accenture for 4 or 5 years, then in 2000 Wayne Jackson employed him as his strategy consultant and he then worked his way thru the AFL to the top job. Not sure if there was a bit of the Adelaide old school tie / establishment involved in that appointment.

Gil's career is similar to Roger Goodell's at the NFL, although Goodell's first job after uni was an intern at NFL and rose thru the ranks and 24 years later got voted in by the owners as NFL Commissioner.

There are 7 names mentioned in the Fox Sports article, including Brendon Gale and Travis Auld and Andrew Dillon, I discussed them in my earlier post and they come from a long time inside the game.

The AFL will look at someone who is CEO or maybe COO of a decent sized public company or Oz subsidiary of an international company, but like Oakley and Jackson, they will need to have a decent background in Aussie footy and understand the culture of the game and the culture of the clubs. The other 4 names are;

It's why I doubt they will go with Christine Holgate or Jayne Hrdlicka who have a strong CEO of public company background, but very little or no experience inside the game experience.

Sure Holgate has been on Collingwood's board for 5 or 6 years, but I doubt that will give her any edge. Hrdlicka as president of Tennis Oz understands the sports business and Melbourne business and sports establishment but as far as I know has no connection to the game.

Kylie Rogers has been at the AFL for 3 or 4 years and comes from a media executive background, has never been a CEO and I doubt she would get the gig over Auld or Dillon.

I don't know much about Bulldogs president Kylie Watson-Wheeler who is the Australia and New Zealand managing director of the Walt Disney Company, and meets that CEO of an international company's Oz subsidy criteria, and 7 years on their board, then a couple as president, would have a lot deeper understanding of the games needs being president of a club rather than just a board member.
So you need business acumen and knowledge of the game, you can't go past grant Thomas then, we might actually get a decent product and transparency and someone who says what they think