Review Good night season 2022

Alright the numbers don’t lie, you don’t play finals after 0-3, and certainly not after 0-5.

Our list has holes but is actually very good. Put Aliir and Dixon back in that side and I suspect we are 2-1 at worst. We have some calls to make around Gray, Mayes, Motlop and Dumont. We have some holes, ie need another midfielder and quality back, but right now it looks worse than it is. And most sides have holes unless you’re the Dees or Geelong.

My concerns are that this looks a lot like the bad decisions and period after 2007. We failed to convert on field and didn’t build off field finances. Then we looked inwards rather than out and made decisions based on costs rather than what was best for the club.

• Richardson is CEO, was he the best for the job? The right man? Or was he available and cheap? (I like Richo and maybe I’m being unfair but who knows?)
  • replaced Burgo with his 2IC. Maybe this has been ok but this year we looked as banged up as any team against the hawks and haven’t been able to run out games. Do we have the right and best people in our fitness department?
  • coaches: we lost voss and Schoey, teams lose coaches, how many replace them with a runner? Who failed at GWS and SANFL level?

I hope I’m wrong but this feels like it’s about it get worse and real bad and then a club clean out will occur.
And I fully believe that this list could have competed this year for a flag and at least should be pushing top 4 all the way. It’s also a time to capitalise on how shit the crows are and make in roads in the market.

I hope I’m wrong and Ken turns it round. But the players look shot and don’t appear to be in his camp anymore. I don’t know how they’ll respond if Ken just keeps asking them for 100% in a hopeless and in vain effort.

If the club is serious (and listening) it needs to make tough calls. Review everyone, clear house of anyone not at the grade. Find a new coach and system to take us forward. Adhere to the creed. I have no doubt money and time well spent now will have us top four again next year and pushing for a flag. I just don’t think that this administration has the fortitude, determination and self awareness to get it done.

• replaced Burgo with his 2IC. Maybe this has been ok but this year we looked as banged up as any team against the hawks and haven’t been able to run out games. Do we have the right and best people in our fitness department?
And then when the 2IC that became head of high performance left we then replaced him with his 2IC.

Ports list will become one of the worst in the AFL. Its very easy to become infatuated with players and somehow delude yourself into thinking we are killing it in this area.
I would suggest we are a bottom eight list at best and the rot that has set in with this idea of holding onto hinkley while the club rots around will be seen for what it is.
You talk so much shit mate

The three wonders, Rozee, Duursma and Butters are starting to look very ordinary now that they have been exposed to the rigors of AFL.
Dixon has to be on his last legs.
R Grey imminent retirement.
Skinner looks very ordinary.
Jonas a hard worker but very ordinary.
SPP what can you say about him overall ordinary.
Motlop dosent cut it 95% of time.
Boak is on his way out.
Lycett ordinary.
Marshall you cant rely on.
Finalayson what cn you say.
Mckenzie ordinary at best.
Fantasia what can you say about him.
Wines out of form.
Bonner ordinary.
Mayes ordinary.
Mcentee ordinary.
Sinn appears ordinary.
We have a lot of very ordinary players many of which are viewed through rose colored glasses.

It takes very little to expose players at AFL level and we have a lot of players who are currently exposed.
What makes it worse we dont have a coaching panel that is capable of creating the environment to turn things around.
And i maintain this club is being coached into a brick wall that will see this club spiral south.

The three wonders, Rozee, Duursma and Butters are starting to look very ordinary now that they have been exposed to the rigors of AFL.
Dixon has to be on his last legs.
R Grey imminent retirement.
Skinner looks very ordinary.
Jonas a hard worker but very ordinary.
SPP what can you say about him overall ordinary.
Motlop dosent cut it 95% of time.
Boak is on his way out.
Lycett ordinary.
Marshall you cant rely on.
Finalayson what cn you say.
Mckenzie ordinary at best.
Fantasia what can you say about him.
Wines out of form.
Bonner ordinary.
Mayes ordinary.
Mcentee ordinary.
Sinn appears ordinary.
We have a lot of very ordinary players many of which are viewed through rose colored glasses.

It takes very little to expose players at AFL level and we have a lot of players who are currently exposed.
What makes it worse we dont have a coaching panel that is capable of creating the environment to turn things around.
And i maintain this club is being coached into a brick wall that will see this club spiral south.
Rozee, Butters & Duursma are going backwards under Hinkley, in their first year they were playing more so on instict but thats being coached out of them.

Dixon, probably. But he was a better player at the suns. Couldn't get on the park, but was better not being under Dixons BS game plan despite all the extra delivery he's getting here. Put him under a half competent game plan he kicks between 10-20% more goals during his time here.

Gray, sadly yes. One of our gratest ever AFL players and only the second PAFC player to play 200games and not win a premiership (The other also played the majority of his career under Stinkley)

Skinner - Fair

Jonas, age has maybe caught up with i'm. At his best was one of the best defenders in the game.

SPP, poorly used by Stinkley. One of our few players to turn up every week this year, brings great intensity every week and has so much potential. Really hope that Stinkley & this administration don't push him out at years end.

Boak isn't slowing down, that can happen quickly at his age, but until that happens walk up start and would be at every club in the comp. His foot skills let him down on occasion but still one of the better mids going around.

Lycett, disappointing this year but when in form he's a valuable ruck.

Marshall, fair. Hopefully we get more of what we saw Friday night. So much potential not coming on. Could do with a new coach.

Finlayson, being used completely wrong by Stinkley and Bass.

Fantasia, disappointing that he cant get on the park for more than a couple of games.

McKenzie has been incredible the last 2 years.

Wines, fair. Hopefully the brownlow hasn't gone to his head. That said had 39 touches a week ago.

Mayes, Depth player at best.

McEntee sub standard SANFL player.

Sinn. You cant be serious ? Teenager who's played limited footy the last few years. Give the kid a chance FFS.

The club is absolutely being coached into a brick wall, we have King of the no hopers leading the club, a person who couldn't out-coach an opposition side with 18 players on the field and no coach. Bring in a new coach, with some new assistants who in an offseason can instill belief in this group and with a free agent and/or trade in a player or two we are easily in the premiership hunt next year.

Rozee, Duursma and Butters are tracking fine in my opinion. Most draftees in their first couple years don't get much respect by opposition teams so the better ones tend to play well. Years 3 to 5 become a real slog as they're still young and inexperienced but now copping heaps of attention so they look like they're regressing.

Another season or two and I'd expect duursma, butters and rozee to really become premier players in the comp.

I'll stand corrected but I don't think Oliver and Petracca really hit their straps until they were around 23\24 years of age?

I come in peace

Dawson grew up following the Crows. Riccuito was his favourite player. I think he was always going to pick us without us having to pay way overs

Hindsight’s the worst form of cricket, but we’d probably go back and draft him instead of Aidyn Johnson if we could.

An excellent player.

Will almost certainly be 0-5 but we do have a very interesting fixture, especially if we get Dixon, Clurey, Gray, Fantasia and Alir back after round 10

If we can just get our crap together in the next six games and get a structure going we might be still be in it. Getting Dixon back is important

We need 4 out of the next 6 which relies on winning all the "winnable" games and one of the three "tougher" teams

10/13 on the run home with a full strength side.

Not impossible but missing key players in critical positions does not help

We're tracking to be 2-7 before the bye
Melb - LOSS
Carlton - LOSS
Eagles - 50/50
Saints - 50/50
Bulldogs - LOSS
North - WIN

We likely pinch one out of those Eagles/Saints games.

After that it's
Geelong in Geelong - LOSS
Essendon - WIN
Richmond at the 'G - 50/50
Swans - LOSS
Suns - WIN
Freo in Perth - 50/50
Saints -50/50
Melb - LOSS
Geelong at home - LOSS
Pies at the 'G - LOSS
Richmond at home - WIN
Essendon in Melb - 50/50
Showdown - 50/50

Best case - 10-12 miss finals
Worst case - 4-18 and bottom 2.

I think we go 8-14 and gain momentum in the back half.
i'm looking at every game as an L right now when i look at the fixture. genuinely have no confidence in beating anyone.

the round 15 suns game at home may be the game (hopefully), if it happens at all - Ken Hinkley goneskis

The AFL have confirmed the times for and venues for round 10 & 11 so I thought I would bump this thread.

This, from the Club website, does not exactly fill me with hope...

The trips to Bellerive Oval in Hobart in Round 9 to face North Melbourne and GHMBA Stadium in Geelong in consecutive weeks will present an opportunity for Port Adelaide to improve its record at those venues.
It is at those two venues where the club has its worst winning percentages. It has played just once for one loss at Bellerive (a 10-point loss to the Kangaroos in 2013) while it has recorded just two wins in 14 outings in Geelong – the most recent coming in Round 21, 2007.

On that score unless we can beat West Coast at Adelaide Oval in Round 6 I can see us being 0-10 after facing Geelong at GHMBA Stadium.

I have some sympathy for the people who manage the Club website and have to put a positive spin on season 2022. It cannot be easy.

The AFL have confirmed the times for and venues for round 10 & 11 so I thought I would bump this thread.

The trips to Bellerive Oval in Hobart in Round 9 to face North Melbourne and GHMBA Stadium in Geelong in consecutive weeks will present an opportunity for Port Adelaide to improve its record at those venues.
It is at those two venues where the club has its worst winning percentages. It has played just once for one loss at Bellerive (a 10-point loss to the Kangaroos in 2013) while it has recorded just two wins in 14 outings in Geelong – the most recent coming in Round 21, 2007.

On that score unless we can beat West Coast at Adelaide Oval in Round 6 I can see us being 0-10 after facing Geelong at GHMBA Stadium.

I have some sympathy for the people who manage the Club website and have to put a positive spin on season 2022. It cannot be easy.
We're not winning either of those.

Your last sentence brings back memories of Monty Python's Oscar Wilde sketch:

"Your majesty is like a stream of bat's p***"
"WHAT??"
"What I meant, your majesty, was that you shine out like a shaft of gold when all around is dark"

See, it's not that hard :p

The club doesn't make 2 prelims in a row if its list is rubbish. It's a good list with good young talent. They're just playing like a group that is fatigued from two prelim failures and a 10yr coach that's run out of ideas.

Nothing is guaranteed of course but I'd expect a quick rise again next year (not top 4 but certainly finals) if we can replace Ken at the end of this season with a promising young new senior coach such as Kingsley or Yze plus the new assistants they'd bring.

Finish bottom 4 this year as its cooked now anyway and hopefully we can draft a promising young KPF for the future.

I think Port will beat North Melbourne. 1-9 would still be an appalling record though. If West Coast plays like they did against Collingwood last week and Carlton play well this week, Port will be at 0-6.

Review Good night season 2022