Grand Final 2008 - Geelong vs Hawthorn

Re: Grand final- geelong vs hawthorn

We shut down Bulldog's brilliant midfield & humiliated them on the scoreboard.
We shut down Saints brilliant midfield & humiliated them on the scoreboard.

What makes you think Geelong wont go down the same route?
Geelongs mids arent untouchable gods. Sydney brought down the brilliant Eagles mids of 05 and almost in 06. Kerr should have easily been the 3rd to receive a brownlow.

Id say we have every chance of creating an upset.

Yeah I spose, but I mean if they are firing on all pumps mate, then I just don think it can be done!

But I mean seriously, when the cats midfield are on fire I mean they are ON FIRe, they are all class, not saying they CANT be beaten, all teams can, but I just think it will be really hard to do so!

Geelong vs Hawthorn - The two best teams of 2008 playing off for the flag is great to see. Hawks have been playing well recently and will like their chances while the Cats have been doing as they please. Expecting a tight first half with the Cats to come out in the Third Qtr and set up a match winning lead, Cats to make it back-to-back flags - Cats by 22pts

Crowd Prediction - 97,800

I would love to see a brawl.

Haven't really seen any biff in a grand final since 2004.

I wanna know what the hawks and cats fans would think if their teams went at it. As a neutral viewer, I would absolutely love it.

I hope this match features a lot of tough bastard moments.

Hell the kid just won a brownlow. This means we humiliated the team with the best player of the year?

I stand by what I said. He did sweet FA in the lead up to the finals. And if you honestly believe your logic then you would gladly trade Franklin to get him.

Your bloody team struggled against the Dogs on friday night! Wasnt a very impressive win, even by Geelongs high standards..lol :p

Yeah and your side lost to Richmond so don't start with that. And since when did a 5 goal win equate to a struggle?

Yeah, and your team lost to Collingwood by 80+ and almost lost to freo by 1 lol
I think anyone watching the game would agree it was a struggle until that free kick wasnt given.

Im just saying, we defeated Bulldogs, who throughout the season were considered the 2nd best mids in the land. So i think we can keep up with geelongs midfield. Our mids arent talked up a lot on these forums.

The Tassie Hawks were beaten by last years wooden spooners, they will be beaten EASILY by last years Premiers.

They are in for a rude awakening when the Cats unleash their game plan and keep their foot on the pedal for the entire game.

I reckon Geelong will win but it depends on the weather. I've got this feeling however that this will reverse the 1989 grand final....and not just the scoreline. I reckon the Hawks will rough up the Geelong stars like Ling, Ablett, Bartel, Mooney, Scarlett and try to put them off their game, which is the opposite of what happened in 1989, where Geelong targeted Hawthorn's playmakers such as Brereton, DiPierdomenico, Kennedy...and ended up losing the game.

The Tassie Hawks were beaten by last years wooden spooners, they will be beaten EASILY by last years Premiers.

They are in for a rude awakening when the Cats unleash their game plan and keep their foot on the pedal for the entire game.

So where will you be on Gran final day? Obviously not at the gran final supporting your beloved carltank.... Waiting for your blues to blow the salary cap and sign another afl clubs contracted player again ........ ect

Im tipping a close hard at it skillful game, i reckon it'll the best GF since the swans and the eagles played where leo barry took the saving mark in defence with 60 seconds to go.

Here's to an all victorian final, between the two best teams for season 2008. I truly believe this is anyones game and it just depend on which team want it most....

GO HAWKAS!

Get your hand off it!! Saints have a BRILLIANT midfield?? Harvey past it, Dl Santo has done nothing for years, Montagna is a trier, Gram is a trier. Brilliant???

And the dogs?? Cooney has done nothing for weeks, Griffin is good, not a star yet though. Cross is ok but then is falls away. Hardly brilliant.
Mate stick the round ball game you un Australian muppet

You could be right. The cats may win by 99 points and the crowd may be 99 thousand. We do know that if Hawthorn only kicks 99 points they will lose because 99 is not good enough.

Mate, so lame.

Tassie Hawks? You're cool!

Geelong's main problem is they don't match up too well on 2 sides in the AFL:

1. Collingwood
2. Hawthorn

Thompson knows it and the last thing he wanted to see was Franklin kick 1 goal and for the team to kick 18. If they all evenly contribute, then with the added class of Rioli and Crawf, I think we will win by 1/2 point.:p

Don't take it so personally you flog. Go play with your blocks.
What's with the Italia trash? Run along you have some diving to do. I think Big Soccer is another site champ. How can you call yourself Australian when you can't even support the country in sport. Just means everything you say is irrelevant.

So where will you be on Gran final day? Obviously not at the gran final supporting your beloved carltank.... Waiting for your blues to blow the salary cap and sign another afl clubs contracted player again ........ ect

Im tipping a close hard at it skillful game, i reckon it'll the best GF since the swans and the eagles played where leo barry took the saving mark in defence with 60 seconds to go.

Here's to an all victorian final, between the two best teams for season 2008. I truly believe this is anyones game and it just depend on which team want it most....

GO CATTAS!

FAIL

Tassie Hawks V Geelong Cats = VIC Vs TASMANIA

Go the Cats

Hawks will win, it's fate... I'll explain why. Firstly in 2008 Metallica releases their best album since the black album (17 years apart), Secondly Hawthorn makes the Grand Final for the first time in 17 years. If they are half as brutal as death magnetic then the hawks will win. GO HAWKS!

Geelong by 14 points

Norm Smith Medal: Joel Selwood

Sure will be interesting to see what tactics Bomber employs against the 16-18 man rolling zone/cluster or whatever you wanna call it. Last time if i remember correctly the geelong players were confident of running the ball out but struggled a few times to get it past center half back. I just hope that it's a close game...

My tip cats by 20-39 .