Review Grand Final, 2023 - Collingwood vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Collingwood?

And they changed the system after that happened to avoid it ever happening again
Anything that embarrasses the AFL never happens again does it.

When Bucks took off the NS as soon as it was hung around his neck it was a huge scandal at the time with NS's family saying it was a blight on the memory of the great man yadda yadda.

Bucks simply didn't want to walk back to his team with a medal when none of them were getting one.

But yeah, that will never happen again.

But it is an advantage that 14 other teams in the AFL will never get, no matter how well they perform. This includes the Melbourne teams that play at Marvel. One of those 14 can win every game in the home and away season, finish top of the ladder and yet have the disadvantage of playing on another team's home ground in the Grand Final.
Take it to the Vicbias thread.

But it is an advantage that 14 other teams in the AFL will never get, no matter how well they perform. This includes the Melbourne teams that play at Marvel. One of those 14 can win every game in the home and away season, finish top of the ladder and yet have the disadvantage of playing on another team's home ground in the Grand Final.
The advantage that the Victorian teams resident elsewhere have is effectively locking support from the AFL Members and a decent chunk of the MCC because people from other states aren't exactly lining up to pay to get free games at the MCG or Marvel via either.

The boos that Maynard copped, it felt like the Melbourne supporters and their cheeseboards occupied some of the MCC.

Devastated for the result. The boys were incredible and that will go down as one of the great Grand finals. Few players didn't have their best days and will have the off season to reflect on that. Hoping they all come back even more determined for 2024.

No guarantees for next year. I think we still need to add one more midfielder - losing Ashcroft really hurt us. Oscar could do with so help and I much prefer Joey just playing forward and not pinch hitting in the ruck.

My best today were Kiddy, Joey and Harris. Dunkley and Neale had good moments and Charlie bobbed up with three good goals. Thought Froggy tried his guts out and he definitely plays round 1 next year for me.

The Lions support at the ground today was simply amazing. Out sang the Collingwood supporters at times.

A good year but an unfulfilled one. Onwards and Upwards for the Mighty Lions.

Feel for you guys. Great effort. You guys have the team to challenge for the next 3 years. I reckon you guys are in a similar position as the hawks were in 2012.

As a hawks supporter i remember the feeling in 2012 loss to Swans. We lost a heartbeat prelim in 2011 to the Pies. Then lost the 2012 GF in a close one too! With a super talented list, and our constant losing to the Cats, people were writing us off as chockers, wasted talent, wasted opportunity. Then we get back to back to back.

Tye Lions are in the same spot i reckon. Haven't quick totally clicked to take the final step. Hopefully this year is what helps to bring it all together.

Very proud of the team this season. The best 2 teams all year played one of the best games of the year. There was some wonderful goals, some magical play by some very good players on both sides. Some players were beaten, some got on top from both sides. On any other day that could've been reversed. Gee's that's football, that's sport. I've found a lot of the player ragging a bit unfair to be honest. Sack this bloke, trade that bloke, a lot of it quite harsh. We lost by 4 points, we weren't embarrassed, we fought the whole game, and were dam close to winning.

I appreciate constructive criticism and strategic analysis as much as the next bloke. I think Rayner behind the ball at times was an error for the reasons I said earlier here. Berry had a cpl of brainfarts, and some were outplayed. That will happen in a Grand Final but even with all that we were still so dam close.

We're set up very well to take the next step in 2024. I think the list just needs a bit of tweaking. Doedee, a 3rd tall Fwd, maybe a mid if we can't hold on to Dev. No way I'd be leaving if I was Dev after coming so close. I'd want to crack in with this squad and complete some unfinished business.

Things aren't so bad people, certainly no need to pick people apart. No need to be so negative about this or next season. Players and coaches will take a lot out of this and I reckon we'll come back next season harder, smarter and more determined.

I feel for Brisbane. 8 out of the last 11 grand finals have been won by teams whose home ground is the MCG.I wonder how the game would have gone if it was played at the Gabba. When Collingwood play at the MCG it is anything but a neutral venue.

You counting Richmond in 2020 at the Gabba also?

Hawks x3, Tigers x2, Dees + Pies x1 each.

7/11 is 63.6% but admittedly you've got two dynasties in there which we may not see again for a while.

The department will review not only today but the back end on the season. Teams getting early jumps on us like today, last week & even the Adelaide match will be addressed & hopefully rectified. Everyone in the side today earned their spot, some fell short of their best and others exceeded expectations at times. A hard earned break is what's next, lets hope we all come back fresh, revitalized & hungry. I know I need a break from it all so I can only begin to imagine how the boys feel. Here's to better days ahead :beercheers:

I love this club so flipping much. And all of my fellow supporters. I love y’all. My flipping goodness we were loud today. We were all so amazing today and I’m so so so god damn proud to support this mighty club.

We played incredible too. Sure a few of our guys didn’t reach their best today (guys like lach, zork, cam) but that’s what happens in grand finals played at the most elite level with both teams playing incredible footy, both teams taking turns with momentum and acts of brilliance. We lost the premiership due to literally a couple of moments. Some acts of brilliance, a silly 50m penalty, and of course some horrendous umpiring hah. Still, the wobbles deserved it and they got it.

I firmly agree with Fages and Harro, we are primed now. I feel more confident after losing prob the greatest grand final ever to a more deserving team, that we are now truly ready to win the whole thing.

Oh yeah - we will have a dog hungry and buff ass Will Ashcroft returning to this side, don’t think this should be understated.
Our list is not old.
Our older stars (except for Zorko) are still in their prime

Kiddy f$&king Coleman.

Feel it, it hurts like all f$&k, but be proud and more importantly - get excited about what this side could achieve. Enjoy ya summer and before ya know it, it’ll be March and we will be ready to become the best team in the comp

Love y’all x x x

Proud and content the better team won today.

Frustrating advantage call but we have plenty of moments we could have won the game ourselves, umpiring was ok.

Shame we never really got our game going.

They played well, we played poorly (not withstanding effort) and lost by 4 points.

Played at 60% of our best, had he been just a bit better, we win that.

Huge day, incredibly overwhelming.

Proud. Rather be there and lose then be the 16 other fan bases watching on.

Theme is ‘be proud’ in my messages/inbox. I’ll take that.

I think I need a year off finals next year, 9th anyone? 😂

Weird day. Can't say that I enjoyed it at all, but pretty sure that was down to our opponent. The 4 point difference at the end was weird also. Don't think there was ever a point in the game where I thought we would win it. Our opponent was too good...on the day.

There was a young lions fan sitting in front of me, about 8 years old, sobbing at the end of the game. Leant over and said to him, no worries mate we'll be back next year. And we will. Someone said fagan said our premiership window has just opened. I wholeheartedly agree.

I'll never forget coming up to the gabba for the QF and PF with my son, on a personal level. Don't be too tough on the guys who didn't step up today. Best today? Daniher has been a revelation for me this year. Coleman will be a great replacement for Rich... Daniel, kudos. And I thought McCarthy also had a fine game, same with Harris.

Looking forward to 2024. We'll be in it up to our necks.

sorry poor wording, tough couple of years as in we will go backwards relative to other contenders (Port, Melbourne, Carlton and GWS) and we may struggle for top 4 let alone top 2 (which is what we need to have a genuine crack on GF day) - will need a mini rebuild of sorts slotting a few younger guys in
I don’t disagree; the likes of Port, Dees, Giants and Carlton will improve. I mean their midfields will improve significantly again on what we have as will Gold Coast to a lesser degree. Crows will step up again, Pies will be top four again and then there’s always that the outlier that will come from nowhere.

I’m proud of our effort in 23 but just like 19-22, it again counts for naught and the fact we also only lost by four points also means jack shite in 24.

It’s raw for me but I think we’ll have to go backwards again before we go forward and even then I think it won’t include the likes of Joe, Lachie, Linc and a few others. So many wasted opportunities that we don’t have one premiership to show for our dominance between 19-23, unlike the likes of Dees, Cats and now Pies.

I don’t disagree; the likes of Port, Dees, Giants and Carlton will improve. I mean their midfields will improve significantly again on what we have as will Gold Coast to a lesser degree. Crows will step up again, Pies will be top four again and then there’s always that the outlier that will come from nowhere.

I’m proud of our effort in 23 but just like 19-22, it again counts for naught and the fact we also only lost by four points also means jack shite in 24.

It’s raw for me but I think we’ll have to go backwards again before we go forward and even then I think it won’t include the likes of Joe, Lachie, Linc and a few others. So many wasted opportunities that we don’t have one premiership to show for our dominance between 19-23, unlike the likes of Dees, Cats and now Pies.
I agree that the 4 point margin means **** all. After that, think you're way off the mark. We're coming into our window. I'd put money on us next year.

Review Grand Final, 2023 - Collingwood vs. Brisbane Lions