Preview Grand Final Preview: Collingwood vs West Coast [DaVe86 Ultimate Preview #512]

Simmo really did look like he was lying through his teeth when talking about that "hip"
They're talking about his left hip.
Checkers if you're reading this, it's his right ribs.;)

Does it advantage or disadvantage their forward line? The Eagles play a pretty direct style of footy. They're economical with their possessions. In theory that would suit wet weather footy.

If it makes you feel better, no it won’t. We are dog shit in the wet. Our comparative advantage is our marking players, and our kicking game. Doesn’t work as well when it’s slippery. You have the better contested side and midfield, at least on paper.

**IF** Mcgovern does play we should consider sending Greenwood to him for the first 15 min give the hip and ribs a good test.

If only Greenwood could be in six places at once... this thread has him on Yeo, Jetta, Ryan and McGovern so far.
Send him to Yeo. De Goey will hit him hard enough.

Not coping very well. Trying not to say much, but friends and colleagues are giving me weird looks - like why is she being so quiet?

Its as if I'm not mentally ready for this GF. When 2010 happened, I'd spent a couple of years preparing and building towards it - just like the club. As a fan, I was ready for it, primed.:D

This year, its as if the GF has dropped out of the sky.

Anyway, this message was left by someone outside the old Vic Park players entrance on Lulie Street, in GF week 2003 (I know). I took the photo that week, and it still means a lot.

P1010038.JPG

Neither did Treloar, Goldsack or Aish.

Crocker, Scharenberg, Moore and Daicos played in round 17 replaced now with Cox, Aish, Goldsack and Treloar. No Cox impacted structure so we had trouble out of defence and forward entries as Mihocek had to do the Cox role and Crocker the Mihocek role. During the game Moore dislocated his finger, Sidey hurt his eye socket and played with one eye, Tom Langdon hurt his knee and Sier copped a corky, all impacting the 2nd half. Gaff had a great game and we kicked to McGovern 1000 times with our forward structure out of whack.

This MCG win for WCE does not worry me as much as their learning in the QF that beating us in the midfield at contested ball won them the game in the last quarter. Varcoe doesn’t fall over on their ice rink surface and kicks a goal and Will Hoskin Elliott kicks straight and we win any way.... a nervous wait but am thinking that Steele, Pendles and Goldy experienced 2011 and know how hard it is to make a GF so must win. If we bring the intensity and discipline of Friday night we will win.

People always wonder how the Gimp gets it right most of the time re.. players.. where they belong on the pitch.. team dynamics.. results.. that sort of shit re

It's intuition re..

Was born with it. Use it in every day life.

When I was looking for a joint to rent in my uni days re.. I remember calling a cob saying 'I'll move in if you've got a gym re'.. he said 'yes I do have a gym'.. and I go.. I don't like the sounds of it.. put a new one in re.. he goes f off mate.. I go.. yeah no worries re. He's lucky I didn't go over and launch into him with a half turn Lebanese heal kick re. Trying to roll me.. ade re.

I know Rance is decent but i dont think Richmonds defence is anywhere near Eagles.

Yet Richmond only conceded 1574 points for the H&A season, Weagles 1657. Go figure. Imagine what they'd do if their defence was anywhere near as good.

True.

However, everyone is quick to say that the Eagles are a possession side, whereas Collingwood is more of a contested possessions side.

The Eagles beat both us and Melbourne in contested possession, who are 2 of the best contested sides in the comp. So they can implement their style because they win the ball first and then control it.

So it is daunting to think that this side can beat us both inside and then around the ground.

But having said that, I felt as if we were right on top in this area when we last played, and then Adams got knocked out, and Treloar pretty much stopped running. Pendles was well down as well. Plus they have 60,000 fans giving them extra momentum.

If it is wet, and we keep the game contested, I would still back us in, even though the Eagles have been good in the contest over the past 2 games.

I think the difference is about where the teams win the contests. Weagles heavily reliant upon turnovers and intercepts wide of the coal face, Pies predominantly win them at the coal face. That's not to say players like Shuey, Yeo etc can't win the footy at the coal face, its just not their bread and butter.