Gumby to Freo

Hey Thommo, what's the go with Johncock anyways? Is he close to retirement? I think he's better than playing as a sub.
No one really knows what the go is with Stiffy; its all very mysterious. At his best, he'd certainly be a best 21 player.

He was dropped midway through the season for reasons unknown (supposedly a back strain) and spent some time in the SANFL for the Port Adelaide Magpies. Returned after a couple of games there but his form was very up and down. Had a couple of good moments late in the season but I think he has found this year very demanding.

He is renowned for rocking up to pre-season with a beer gut and often takes a while to get into his best form at the start of the H&A. It doesn't help that he is (EDIT: was?) a fairly heavy smoker :confused:

On the 21st of this month he'll turn 30, and there are huge question marks over whether he can physically and mentally go round one more time. It'd be a shame if he went a year long and either languished at Alberton or had only occasional cameos as a sub. I guess we'll see come the final list lodgement date, but as is often the case with Graham, there is little media discussion about his future.

Not sure on this one. He may still be a smoker, I just thought I'd read somewhere that he'd given up.
Yeah I guess the club doesn't endeavour to publicise this sort of stuff too much. Would surely be a critical factor (if he has quit, and if he has how recently) as to whether he continues on. His retirement could potentially be the 'polarising Crows news' that we'll hear about tomorrow, though I hope it isn't.

Because of all the 17 year olds taken the year before by the starter clubs, that draft was depleted...
Its not quite 19 pick downgrade though. Assuming they were all ranked better than Sheridan (which I doubt), at most 11 players could be said be ahead of him in draft order (not counting Tunbridge).

Gumby has almost no trade value left. Sorry Dons fans.

Agree. However, has a lot of potential being 198cm and finally getting his body right. Showed in flashes during 2012 what he could be if he can finally get a preseason under the belt. Personally I think the sticking point is the second year of a contract. The club should give that to him with salary that is small enough to pay out at the end of next year if he was to get a serious back injury.

Can't be too many available players who've stood up against both the Geelong & Hawthorn backlines this year.
Gumby's one.
Sheridan would be overs, IMHO; unless Rosco can't see where he fits in. And there were rumours to that effect, early this year.

"What would you rather?
$150k for 1 season?
$450k for 3 seasons?" - I would rather 150k for 1 season and 750k or more for the following three seasons. It's about backing yourself, which is what any true champion would do.

"Now this is not Jerry Maguire and Gumby is not Rod Tidwell" - correct. Brilliant observation.

"Any injury next year and he could cost himself $300k" - I would question the moral fibre of any player that has this mindset. It is basically an admission that you would be comfortable taking a large sum of money from a club for doing nothing. If he has any doubts about his body, then the right thing to do would be to sign for 1 season and use that year to put any such doubts to rest. If he was to have a career ending injury (touch wood of course), then he enters the real world work-force with the rest of us a few years earlier than he otherwise would have. Who knows, he may not be that much more financially worse-off if this was to occur (especially if this was supplemented by a weekly stint in the goal square for the Karratha Kats).

Then if he comes good next year it will be sweet vindication.

1) Gumby is not a champion.
2) A bird in the hand is worth 2 in the bush.

Cloke got 5 years, Goodard will get 4 even an average Monfries will be offered 4. Players want secuirty and your romatic notion about backing your self is rubbish and belongs in movies like Jerry Maguire.

He has a 1 year offer and is yet to sign. Is that telling you something?? Well it is me:

show-me-the-money.jpg

Agree. However, has a lot of potential being 198cm and finally getting his body right. Showed in flashes during 2012 what he could be if he can finally get a preseason under the belt. Personally I think the sticking point is the second year of a contract. The club should give that to him with salary that is small enough to pay out at the end of next year if he was to get a serious back injury.
We've heard that before. You don't have 7 years of chronic injuries that just magically right themselves. Agree that he has a lot of potential though, and a club will pick him up.

You guys have an abundance of forward talent. Hurley, Crameri, Ryder and Daniher coming in this season. If every bloke (including Gumby) was fit, this could let you throw Hurley in defense, but currently is he really a better idea than playing Hurley/Crameri/resting ruck? He's a back-up at this stage and like I said, should be looked at as not a six year player but a player restarting his career. Thus I think this leaves him down the pecking order at the Dons.

Keep in mind he came in Round 16 after not exactly setting the VFL on fire and kept his spot because he did his job with Hurley, Crameri and Ryder out. He played well against the Hawks and was alright for his other few games.

Just going by what I've seen, I think for an opposition supporter I know your list okay (obviously not as good as a Dons supporter).
See mate you're thinking does Gumby/Crameri and Resting ruck is worse then Hurley/Crameri and Resting Ruck.

Which is true.

However Hooker/Pears/Carlisle is worse then Hooker/Hurley/Carlisle by a long way.

Gumby/Crameri and Ruck>> Hooker/Pears/Carlisle.

All about the balance.

1) Gumby is not a champion.
2) A bird in the hand is worth 2 in the bush.

Cloke got 5 years, Goodard will get 4 even an average Monfries will be offered 4. Players want secuirty and your romatic notion about backing your self is rubbish and belongs in movies like Jerry Maguire.

He has a 1 year offer and is yet to sign. Is that telling you something?? Well it is me:

To be fair, the players you mentioned are somewhere near the peak of their respective abilities and will be locking in their respective maximum $$ for multiple seasons. Gumby would be locking in peanuts for multiple seasons.

I'd like to think his hesitation to sign has more to do with whether or not he will be given the chance he needs to prove himself next season. Romantic? Possibly but here's hoping..

To be fair, the players you mentioned are somewhere near the peak of their respective abilities and will be locking in their respective maximum $$ for multiple seasons. Gumby would be locking in peanuts for multiple seasons.

I'd like to think his hesitation to sign has more to do with whether or not he will be given the chance he needs to prove himself next season. Romantic? Possibly but here's hoping..

When do mids and forwards peak? Goodard is 28, Monfries, Cloke 25 and Gumby 24. You would think 3 of the 4 have their best footy in front of them and are yet to peak.

$450k is peanuts?

When do mids and forwards peak? Goodard is 28, Monfries, Cloke 25 and Gumby 24. You would think 3 of the 4 have their best footy in front of them and are yet to peak.

$450k is peanuts?

I didn't say any of them had peaked. My point is they are a heck of a lot closer to their peaks (whether they be approaching or past it) than Gumby is, and therefore close their maximum value, which is why they benefit from long term contracts.

The pressure he would be under not to break down would be enormous with a 1 year contract. I woould happy for the Roos to roll the dice and offer more. Massive upside if he gets going and if he does not you have not burnt much of your salary cap.

The Roos have a heap of forward options though at the moment... Tarrant, Petrie, Hanson, Edwards, McKinley, black...

On a semi-relevant note, Broughton is one player from Freo that I think we will go after particularly if he remains out of contract. We really need an experienced back pocket with Doughty's retirement and Johncock's inability to remain down back - Reilly and Rutten are about it for experienced defenders. He probably wouldn't be super keen on leaving WA though, and probably feels that he owes Freo for the rookie chance he was given.

We don't have any WA players on our list apart from Van Berlo, and I'm not sure who Freo would be interested in.

Yeah, a little off topic.

I wouldn't mind parting ways with Broughton for the right price, we have the depth down back to cover his loss. Reckon Freo would be pretty interested in a guy like Otten, has he re-signed yet?

*Insert something witty about Gumbleton and a snide comment about the Dons overvaluing him to keep the thread on track!*

The Roos have a heap of forward options though at the moment... Tarrant, Petrie, Hanson, Edwards, McKinley, black...

Edwards and McKinley will be lucky to be on their list next year and Petrie probably has around two years left in him.

Tarrant and Hansen are their long-term options going forward, Black has yet to make much of an impression (not sure on his form in the reserves?)

Edwards and McKinley will be gone shortly. Plus a bargin is a bargin and if he plays two' no harm done.

Johncock stuff

Cheers mate (and headache1). All very interesting, never knew he was a smoker. I remember he was one of my favourite Crows players in past years chopping it off in the backline, when you guys weren't going too well he always seemed to stand up. So when you were up and about this year I was surprised to see him almost as a non-factor.

No point in him going to North to wait for 2 years for petrie to retire he needs to be proving himself at AFL level now not playing for North Ballarat.