Fixture Hawks after Tasmania? Sponsorship extended to 2025!

What to do with Tas games?

• MCG

Votes: 206 83.1%
  • Darwin

Votes: 13 5.2%
  • Albury

Votes: 12 4.8%
  • Newcastle

Votes: 5 2.0%
  • Auckland

Votes: 9 3.6%
  • Canberra

Votes: 12 4.8%
  • Marvel

Votes: 18 7.3%
  • Elsewhere

Votes: 11 4.4%
  • Cairns

Votes: 6 2.4%

Hope you take this the right way but, it's not just about you

I understand the significance of the sponsorship, but I won't be the only one looking forward to the end of the partnership. Everybody will have their own reasons.

Aside from my own selfishness, primarily, Tasmania deserves their own side.

I understand the significance of the sponsorship, but I won't be the only one looking forward to the end of the partnership. Everybody will have their own reasons.

Aside from my own selfishness, primarily, Tasmania deserves their own side.
Agree Tassie should get a team but options will remain for Hawthorn.....to me simply retreating to Melbourne is counter-intuitive when the philosophical trajectory of the AFL is expansion.

The club has conceded that they won’t be playing any home games there once the Devils are in. Those four games will be played at MCG, Marvel or a new secondary market (Albury is the best current option for a game or two).

My next comments referenced the fact this was from a personal perspective. I live 4 hours North of Melbourne. Due to weekend commitments during the footy season I only have the ability to get down to games during rare free time, and usually that involves a round trip all on the same day.

4 games in Tassie means 4 games I have zero chance of getting to.
The hawks have been in Qld 6 times since 2008 (not counting a crowdless game due to covid. 6 games in 14 years. When there are two teams up here. They could play all their games in Tasmania for all the good it'd do us.

Hawthorn deal extended

As plans were unveiled, the government also announced that Hawthorn will play AFL fixtures in Launceston for the next three seasons as part of a $13.5 million contract extension with the Tasmanian government.

The new deal, however, is contingent on Tasmania being granted an AFL and AFLW licence.

The Tasmanian government had already secured Hawthorn games for the coming season, but the extension would see the club remain in Tasmania until the end of 2025.

The Hawks will play four regular season matches and one pre-season match in Launceston per year.

"We've had a great relationship with Hawthorn," Premier Rockliff said.

"This is more than just footy, this is about ensuring that both Tasmania and indeed the Hawthorn Football Club benefit mutually."

The new deal, however, is contingent on Tasmania being granted an AFL and AFLW licence.
This part is interesting. In a way they've effectively bought our vote. Even if we'd already committed to supporting their license bid there's pretty much no chance we'd flip on it now if it costs us $13.5M over 2 years.

The timing/duration of the deal works perfectly.

Get a guaranteed 13.5mil, regardless of how many attend games in Launny, for 2 years whilst the squad is developing.

There's no way we make that if those 4 games are played in Melbourne.

Given we're likely to have a multitude of fixtures on Sunday arvos in the next two years, we'd be lucky to get 20k to a game at the G against Gold Coast, for example.

North Melbourne will overtake St Kilda as the AFL’s most heavily funded Victorian club this year in the AFL’s latest distribution of variable funding to the 18 clubs.

And the same four power clubs - Collingwood, Richmond, West Coast and Hawthorn - again will not receive any additional dollars this year, besides the base distribution of between $10.5 million to $11m.

Hawthorn remains in the gang of four clubs - as it has been since 2020 - that gain no additional funding, despite a lean period on the field and long-term rebuild with a very young list and the prospect of losing their millions from a second base in Tasmania if/when a Tassie team gains entry to the AFL (from 2027 most likely). The Hawks have an outstanding balance sheet, however, having sold their pokies assets for more than $40m, with freeholds at Waverley and their next home at Dingley.

The timing/duration of the deal works perfectly.

Get a guaranteed 13.5mil, regardless of how many attend games in Launny, for 2 years whilst the squad is developing.

There's no way we make that if those 4 games are played in Melbourne.

Given we're likely to have a multitude of fixtures on Sunday arvos in the next two years, we'd be lucky to get 20k to a game at the G against Gold Coast, for example.

We wouldn’t be 13.5mil worse off either

How do you know that?

The club would be losing money getting that little amount of people to games and sponsors are hardly going to be lining up for us right now.

That's the harsh reality of being a developing team.

North Melbourne will overtake St Kilda as the AFL’s most heavily funded Victorian club this year in the AFL’s latest distribution of variable funding to the 18 clubs.

And the same four power clubs - Collingwood, Richmond, West Coast and Hawthorn - again will not receive any additional dollars this year, besides the base distribution of between $10.5 million to $11m.

Hawthorn remains in the gang of four clubs - as it has been since 2020 - that gain no additional funding, despite a lean period on the field and long-term rebuild with a very young list and the prospect of losing their millions from a second base in Tasmania if/when a Tassie team gains entry to the AFL (from 2027 most likely). The Hawks have an outstanding balance sheet, however, having sold their pokies assets for more than $40m, with freeholds at Waverley and their next home at Dingley.

North continue to be a charity case off the field and a basket case on it.

When did the club concede this ?
JK said it multiple times during his pre-election media rounds. I think there was an article on Fox Sports with a large extract from his Whately interview on SEN.
He said ‘we will still have a presence in Tasmania after Tasmania comes in. It won’t be home games, but we have asked the AFL to be fixtured there each year as the away team, be it Launceston or Hobart’.
I could be wrong but reckon those were his exact words.

The big four.
It is where, we belong.

How do you know that?

The club would be losing money getting that little amount of people to games and sponsors are hardly going to be lining up for us right now.

That's the harsh reality of being a developing team.
He knows that because even a mid range new major sponsor will pay around $1.5m a year. Then, you deduct the cost of paying opposition clubs $20 for each member that attends a designated away game (call that $1m a year). Then add in revenue from more reserved seating in Melbourne (our memberships will go up if we get nine MCG games instead of six).

The gap each year would be $2m at most. And the AFL might even kick in, so it may well be less.

He knows that because even a mid range new major sponsor will pay around $1.5m a year. Then, you deduct the cost of paying opposition clubs $20 for each member that attends a designated away game (call that $1m a year). Then add in revenue from more reserved seating in Melbourne (our memberships will go up if we get nine MCG games instead of six).

The gap each year would be $2m at most. And the AFL might even kick in, so it may well be less.

$2mil is hardly pocket change? :sweatsmile:

It is also not $13.5m. What is will do, once we are back in Melbourne, is allow us to compete on equal footing with other MCG clubs. We can grow our Melbourne membership, corporate and reserved seat revenue quite considerably. Tas stopped us from being a poor club, but it also stopped the 'Big 4' from becoming a 'Big 5'.

Right now reserved seat Hawthorn members pay about $100 less than Collingwood ones, but Collingwood fans get use of those seats for all games at the MCG which is probably 13 or 14. Hawthorn only get 6 home games at the G. You'd hope when we become a fully fledged Victorian side again, we can offer a better value deal for premium members which will result in getting more of them.

JK said it multiple times during his pre-election media rounds. I think there was an article on Fox Sports with a large extract from his Whately interview on SEN.
He said ‘we will still have a presence in Tasmania after Tasmania comes in. It won’t be home games, but we have asked the AFL to be fixtured there each year as the away team, be it Launceston or Hobart’.
I could be wrong but reckon those were his exact words.
Gowers said in his interview the other day that he’d be keen for a home game against Tas in Launceston

The mcg and marvel deals are now much better than when hawks went to Tassie,

Gold Coast and gws no average 24k and 28k away gems so I don’t know how we’d be predicting a lot of 20k crowds

Outside lockdowns sub 25k hawthorn games in Melbourne have been very rare

Gowers said in his interview the other day that he’d be keen for a home game against Tas in Launceston
Gowers would not have been to any AFL presidents meetings yet. Doubt Jeff would have briefed him, so he may not be up to speed on this. Or he may just be taking crap to appease the sponsor like Jeff used to do by suggesting we should play Collingwood or finals there. No one was more pro-Tas than Jeff, he would know.

And we would be stupid to give up hole ground advantage to the Devils. Also against AFL policy. Ain’t going to happen. No benefit for us.

Gowers would not have been to any AFL presidents meetings yet. Doubt Jeff would have briefed him, so he may not be up to speed on this. Or he may just be taking crap to appease the sponsor like Jeff used to do by suggesting we should play Collingwood or finals there. No one was more pro-Tas than Jeff, he would know.

And we would be stupid to give up hole ground advantage to the Devils. Also against AFL policy. Ain’t going to happen. No benefit for us.
Chances are that they’ll be easy beats for the first 5 or so years though.

Fixture Hawks after Tasmania? Sponsorship extended to 2025!