Fixture Hawks after Tasmania? Sponsorship extended to 2025!

What to do with Tas games?

• MCG

Votes: 206 83.1%
  • Darwin

Votes: 13 5.2%
  • Albury

Votes: 12 4.8%
  • Newcastle

Votes: 5 2.0%
  • Auckland

Votes: 9 3.6%
  • Canberra

Votes: 12 4.8%
  • Marvel

Votes: 18 7.3%
  • Elsewhere

Votes: 11 4.4%
  • Cairns

Votes: 6 2.4%

Yeah our fixture sucks compared to most Vic clubs for Victorian based members, but it is what it is.
We actually will have the opportunity to fix that and get to a level playing field with the bigger clubs. Geelong and MelBourne have gone well past us in terms of pulling power. Better form and more MCG games will fix that.

So who we want as our next big sponsor?

With Tasmania coming in, it is highly doubtful they will be sponsoring us after 2025.

Would really love an 'icon' sponsorship. One that we can have for many years like Collingwood has had with Emirates for 20 plus years.

So who we want as our next big sponsor?

With Tasmania coming in, it is highly doubtful they will be sponsoring us after 2025.

Would really love an 'icon' sponsorship. One that we can have for many years like Collingwood has had with Emirates for 20 plus years.
Get Samsung back

Pretty sure that part of the deal with Tas is that they continue sponsoring us until their team comes in. Certainly it will be for North. Not sure if the their own team on the horizon will cause crowds to drop even further, or give them a boost. Either way, I hope we have a plan for life after Tas.

Interesting that the ABC article states that we have committed to an annual game hosting the Devils. Not sure that is correct, or will be allowed by the AFL, but would be ok for a couple of years. Do we really want to be giving up our home game advantage and playing in front of a Tas mad crowd?

We host other teams at their own home ground often enough already. Hosting the Saints at Marvel in round 20.

Reports that we will play one or even two games in Launceston from 2028. Reckon this is very risky. Our crowds there are terrible and will likely drop further with the Devils playing four games there and seven in Hobart.

I can accept that, as long as we get nine or 10 MCG home games like the other MCG tenants, but I still hope we don’t sign on a long term deal in case our support really drops off.

The marriage is over. The love has gone. We are now like a couple waiting for the kids to finish school before getting a divorce.

Tassie has been great for us, giving us the financial stability we needed after the AFL's attempt to force us into a marriage with Melbourne. And we have been great for Tassie. I very much doubt they would have their own team without Hawthorn's commitment to Tassie over the last 20 or so years.

I sincerely hope we don't play any more home games there. The wife has moved in with another man. It's over.

I hope we put a stake in the ground and commit to playing all of our home games in Melbourne. It should coincide with our rise back into a football power on the field. Perfect timing.

The marriage is over. The love has gone. We are now like a couple waiting for the kids to finish school before getting a divorce.

Tassie has been great for us, giving us the financial stability we needed after the AFL's attempt to force us into a marriage with Melbourne. And we have been great for Tassie. I very much doubt they would have their own team without Hawthorn's commitment to Tassie over the last 20 or so years.

I sincerely hope we don't play any more home games there. The wife has moved in with another man. It's over.

I hope we put a stake in the ground and commit to playing all of our home games in Melbourne. It should coincide with our rise back into a football power on the field. Perfect timing.
You didn't read the statement, did you? 😆

Well, if I read it correctly they haven't said anything about playing there. Just some mumbo jumbo about continuing community involvement.

I'm quite ok with the club continuing some community involvement, although I don't really see why we should.

Reports that we will play one or even two games in Launceston from 2028. Reckon this is very risky. Our crowds there are terrible and will likely drop further with the Devils playing four games there and seven in Hobart.

I can accept that, as long as we get nine or 10 MCG home games like the other MCG tenants, but I still hope we don’t sign on a long term deal in case our support really drops off.
Almost certainly will be Devils v Hawks and Hawks V Devils.....will be packed with Tassie fans of both persuasions. Who knows we may even play another home game there. The VFL is finished. This is the AFL. Hawthorn Footy Club doesn't represent Victoria or Tasmania it represents Hawthorn Footy Club. Players come from anywhere, supporters come from anywhere. We play anywhere.

He did. It mentions every aspect of our partnership with Tassie other than playing games there in the future. It would be financially irresponsible to play games there without being paid by the Tas govt. We would give up home ground/crowd advantage if we play the Devils and lose money on a sub 10k crowd if we play anyone else.

Time to come home.

Do we know what is planned with the money for UTAS?
If you look at the renders, the replacement of all temporary stands other than the Carlton Draught stand, seating in front of the corporate building, new entrances, food and beverage areas. Think capacity will be around 23k. It is not as comprehensive an upgrade as proposed pre-COVID, but costs have skyrocketed.

Attachments

• 1682747471993.png
    1682747471993.png
    6.2 MB · Views: 52
  • 1682747612178.png
    1682747612178.png
    6.3 MB · Views: 42
15 years on the Great waste of space and McDonalds suns are failures

we have 2 basket case clubs in the Egles and North for years now

bringing in an additional 19th clearly team a good idea

Fixture Hawks after Tasmania? Sponsorship extended to 2025!