List Mgmt. Hawk's List Management 2023

You agree with something that is wrong. Good to know bro!
Nick Holland won the Rising Star, was the SA state CHF for many years, won a B & F and was a solid second ruck and excellent contested mark around the ground. Lewis ain’t at that level yet. Could be better but not yet as good. Are you old enough to have seen both?

I agree with that post. Lewis is not elite. Good, but not Nick Holland level or close to Roughie. Our forward line is poor. We need another forward just as good or better than Lewis.
With all due respect Lewis is a much better kick than Dutchy. Dutch was woeful in his early years but worked on it and from memory was tutored by the great Huddo. Eventually he was reasonably effective but never as pure as Lewis.

Better kick, sure.

Dutchie was a great leader and one of the best handful of CHFs in the game from 1995 - 2000. Did both shoulders in 2001. Most underrated Hawk of the past 50 years. Was a gun.

Very difficult to judge just how good Lewis is/could be as currently he is playing in the weakest forward line in the comp.

I think if we could get an even half way decent second key forward (say Mihoceck type player) he would be a star.

Every week at the moment he is getting double teamed in the air as our next best marking forward is Fergus Greene!!??

For me our forward line has been the biggest disappointment this year, I'm struggling to see what we are trying to build down there.

Better kick, sure.

Dutchie was a great leader and one of the best handful of CHFs in the game from 1995 - 2000. Did both shoulders in 2001. Most underrated Hawk of the past 50 years. Was a gun.
I certainly didn’t underrate Nick. I watched him a lot and he was a great contested mark and it is to his great credit that he worked on his weakness to become one of the best CHFs of his era.
I would love to have someone like Nick playing alongside Lewis together with a McEvoy clone resting forward. Put the Wizard at their feet and we could bomb it in long as much as we do now to great effect.
Unfortunately we are not there yet.

Nick Holland won the Rising Star, was the SA state CHF for many years, won a B & F and was a solid second ruck and excellent contested mark around the ground. Lewis ain’t at that level yet. Could be better but not yet as good. Are you old enough to have seen both?
Please just stop.

Better kick, sure.

The title for most underrated Hawk for the last 50 years surely has to be Michael Moncrieff. 3rd of 4th on the club all time goal kicking and he never gets mentioned.

I remember him well. He probably was unfortunate to follow the great Huddo
and be overshadowed by Barney. He was still a goal kicking machine.

Rising Star just means he had a great debut season, which he did. He had one excellent season (was it 2000?) but then chronic shoulder injuries stagnated him and he was one of many frustrating Schwab-era underperformers in the early 2000s. If Lewis gets his body right to play full seasons I expect he will have the better career.

Kicked 629 goals including 90 in ‘76 and 97 in ‘78 - played full back in 1977 whilst Huddo kicked 110. Star.

He was no Mitch Lewis though.

I’ve said before that our forward line is simultaneously small, slow, old and lacking in natural goal kickers.

Did you see some of the lineups we went with when Lewis was injured?

If Mitch goes down again we are right back to square one unfortunately.

We need heaps of work on that part of the ground. Not just another tall forward who can take a grab but some small forwards with genuine speed who can apply forward line pressure ala Cyril and Poppy.

If we had off had an even half decent forward line we would almost be pushing for the eight right now.

One headache we're going to have is that while our mids have performed beyond expectations this year they all lack the foot skills when delivering into the 50.
Nash is reliable enough but doesn't have the skill to pinpoint targets.
Worpel just bombs it, often without looking.
Day is a fantastic field kick but for some reason will bomb it long 9/10 times into the 50.
Newcombe can hit 60 meter lasers but in attempting to do so can completely fluff it.
Ward & Mackenzie have the required foot skills but how many mids can you fit? Wardy is being pushed to a wing and Mackenzie can't crack the side. CMac is starting to hit those kicks but is relegated to the HFF.
No clue what the solution is. Perhaps with greater belief + just playing together improvement will occur.
This is just wrong on almost every single point.
  • Nash has one of the highest goals per inside 50 ratios in the league.
  • Day and Ward are both skilful players.
    MacKenzie is one of the best at picking out targets i have ever seen play this game.
  • MacDonald is extremely effective, especially under pressure.
Worpel can hit a target when he has time, but yeah, a lot of his kicks are rushed bc they are under pressure.
He's probably the one to single out, but it's not really his job to be the finisher.

One headache we're going to have is that while our mids have performed beyond expectations this year they all lack the foot skills when delivering into the 50.
Nash is reliable enough but doesn't have the skill to pinpoint targets.
Worpel just bombs it, often without looking.
Day is a fantastic field kick but for some reason will bomb it long 9/10 times into the 50.
Newcombe can hit 60 meter lasers but in attempting to do so can completely fluff it.
Ward & Mackenzie have the required foot skills but how many mids can you fit? Wardy is being pushed to a wing and Mackenzie can't crack the side. CMac is starting to hit those kicks but is relegated to the HFF.
No clue what the solution is. Perhaps with greater belief + just playing together improvement will occur.
Most of those are good kicks of the ball. Youve said it yourself. And when you include Amon in that group, there is plenty of foot skill in the mids.

I think youll find they bomb it because Lewis isn't leading out, rather wrestling with his opponent just outside the goal square.

This is where i think Greene is quite decent. He constantly gives a leading option.

I'm not sure why Lewis doesnt get on strong leads more often, because hes hard to stop when he does. I think our forward line gets a little clogged at times so there are not as many leading lanes for him to run into.

Fwd line structure and function are certainly an issue, reckon once we get that sorted you'll see these guys hitting more chests inside 50.

I’ve said before that our forward line is simultaneously small, slow, old and lacking in natural goal kickers.

Did you see some of the lineups we went with when Lewis was injured?

If Mitch goes down again we are right back to square one unfortunately.

We need heaps of work on that part of the ground. Not just another tall forward who can take a grab but some small forwards with genuine speed who can apply forward line pressure ala Cyril and Poppy.

If we had off had an even half decent forward line we would almost be pushing for the eight right now.

It is a shame Butler hasn't made a spot for himself.

Chad was unbelievable on Saturday.
There were some hawks “supporters” in the mcc actively booing Wings on the weekend and abusing him all game. Couldn’t believe my ears. Fortunately he played a ripper to eventually shut them up.

It is a shame Butler hasn't made a spot for himself.
There have been spots aplenty for the taking in our forward line this year but I can't really think of any young players who have put their hands up (Butler included).

Still relying on a combo of Lewis /Bruest / Wingard / Greene to kick our goals which won't be a premiership winning combo.

Brockman and CMac have had their moments but I think they are more high half forward/mids like Moore than genuine goalkickers.

We don't need a KP forward who can play second fiddle to Lewis.
We need a KPF who is better than Lewis.

Roughead-level ability is what we need.
Lewis is somewhere between Tim Boyle and Nick Holland for ability.
Disagree. We need someone equally capable of providing a good target who can take marks and kick goals. That's why Bud/Rough combo was so good. 2 genuine stars playing alongside 1 another. Bit like Naughton and JUH.