Hawks v Cats prelim coming up....

i'm confident it will be a close contest for these reasons:
momentum.
ross lyon coaching.
most of the team played against the cats in the 2010 semi and will know what to expect and will want to exact revenge.
unlike other seasons, we've finished the season fit except for mcpharlin. sandilands is fit this time around
our midfield is in form.
we've got one of the best taggers.
we're the second best defensive team. the swans are the best and they're currently giving the crows a bath.
we're the best at keeping the ball in our forward half.
yes, it's finals football, but we've been drilled and organised for finals type footy. anywhere, anytime.

i have tremendous respect for the cats, but we're chronically underrated due to our flaky history and the tyranny of distance. that's fine, as we'll surprise some supporters. we won't surprise chris scott, though. he'll know exactly the potential the freo squad has and he'll know that with lyon he's up against a coach who will bring the best out of them. it's going to be a slog.

Fair enough. All valid points. And you can be assured I'll be one to stand up and congratulate your team should they perform as you all expect them to. Your fans have talked the talk, let's hope your side can walk to walk and prove the doubters wrong. All I would say, based on our experiences in finals against Ross Lyon coached sides, his 'perfect' structures that hold up so well in regualr season football have a tendency to get opened up under the pressure of finals and ultimately can only get a team so far. But, if you are confident then all power to you.

If it happens, shoenmakers is gonna be embarrassed to the point his family may actually start disowning him. Cloke pulled his pants down last night, in a game where delivery was horrible... I can't wait to see it. Whatever progress he's supposedly made this year will be gone by quarter time, and by the end of the night he's gonna need a full time shrink.

Bullshit on all counts.

If you think Cloke had a blinder last night, you don't understand the game. Take out the lucky Joe the Goose goals, and the umpire assisted and junk time ones, and his impact wasn't high at all.

He doesn't have Taylor's physique (Harry being athletic and not strong), so needs longer to develop. Much like Tom Hawkins needing so long to become imposing enough to make up for his patent lack of agility, skill and intelligence.

Fair enough. All valid points. Your fans have talked the talk, let's hope your side can walk to walk and prove the doubters wrong. All I would say, based on our experiences in finals against Ross Lyon coached sides, his 'perfect' structures that hold up so well in regualr season football have a tendency to get opened up under the pressure of finals and ultimately can only get a team so far. But, if you are confident then all power to you.

we'll be OK as long as we keep our heads under the pressure of the occasion. it's a different, more attacking game plan than that exhibited by the saints under lyon. and if i was ross, one thing i'd do is tag mackie to cut the rebounding/forward 50 entries that he's leading at the cats. that'll go a long way to getting the job done.

Bullshit on all counts.

If you think Cloke had a blinder last night, you don't understand the game. Take out the lucky Joe the Goose goals, and the umpire assisted and junk time ones, and his impact wasn't high at all.

He doesn't have Taylor's physique (Harry being athletic and not strong), so needs longer to develop. Much like Tom Hawkins needing so long to become imposing enough to make up for his patent lack of agility, skill and intelligence.
Absolutely rubbish. Take our Buddy's free's and junk time goals and he was murdered by the Collingwood's defence.

Were it to come to pass; certainly I think Geelong would be better equipped to handle the immense pressure..... can't think of a bigger pressure game for the Hawks than that. Pretty intense stuff.

Bullshit on all counts.

6a012876c6c7fb970c0168ebe6be51970c-320wi

... yeah, and if you take away all Tony Lockett's goals he was a pretty shit footballer too :D:p

Possibly the dumbest thing I've read on BigFooty.

Difference between Shoey and Hawkins, other than the fact one is good footballer and the other is a bee's diaphragm away from being classified mentally disabled, is the fact Shoenmakers is a defender... he doesn't have to create play for himself and rely on winning the ball to have an impact. All Shoenmakers has to do stand next to someone and stop them from geting the ball, and he does it with about as much coordination as a deaf, dumb and blind paraplegic on So You Think You Can Dance. :D

6a012876c6c7fb970c0168ebe6be51970c-320wi

... yeah, and if you take away all Tony Lockett's goals he was a pretty shit footballer too :D:p

Possibly the dumbest thing I've read on BigFooty.

Difference between Shoey and Hawkins, other than the fact one is good footballer and the other is a bee's diaphragm away from being classified mentally disabled, is the fact Shoenmakers is a defender... he doesn't have to create play for himself and rely on winning the ball to have an impact. All Shoenmakers has to do stand next to someone and stop them from geting the ball, and he does it with about as much coordination as a deaf, dumb and blind paraplegic on So You Think You Can Dance. :D
I'm a cats supporter, but I reckon you're wrong about schoey. He's only 22, a well set up boy, and there's faith being shown in him by people who have lived through public scrutiny and embarrassment. As a young bloke, he's got the young blokes habit of chucking his head around and looking pissed off when highly skilled and monstrous forwards make him look like a dick, which they do often, completely predictably, but he's going to get a lot out of this finals stretch. I hope for the sake of my team that Hawkins makes him look like a goose in a few weeks, assuming we win in a few hours, but dead set I wouldn't mind schoey in my team in a few years.

It won't be a fun week for hawk supporters if Geelong make it.

Believe me mate, most Hawk supporters aren't as concerned as some of you people make out.

Sure, Geelong could beat the Hawks, but then so could any side that gets through on any given day. Given current form and the weeks break it would seem unlikely however.

It really is just a sad ego trip on Geelong's behalf.

This morning on SEN Dermott Bereton said "the pressure is on Geelong if they make the preliminary final vs Hawthorn". What load of nonsense :eek:

Fair enough. All valid points. And you can be assured I'll be one to stand up and congratulate your team should they perform as you all expect them to.Your fans have talked the talk, let's hope your side can walk to walk and prove the doubters wrong. All I would say, based on our experiences in finals against Ross Lyon coached sides, his 'perfect' structures that hold up so well in regualr season football have a tendency to get opened up under the pressure of finals and ultimately can only get a team so far. But, if you are confident then all power to you.

You're mob have to be the most arrogant bunch of supporters for a 6th placed club in the history of football.

And you have the nerve to line up Freo supporters who have some confidence. Wow.

They have every right to have confidence going into tonight. Thier side is playing great football and your mob are not the side that they used to be. Furthermore, Ross Lyon has coached a side to within a bee's diaphragm of a premiership so they have no issues on that count either.

Fremantle have a very real chance tonight and only a complete and utter moron would think otherwise.:eek:

I'm a cats supporter, but I reckon you're wrong about schoey. He's only 22, a well set up boy, and there's faith being shown in him by people who have lived through public scrutiny and embarrassment. As a young bloke, he's got the young blokes habit of chucking his head around and looking pissed off when highly skilled and monstrous forwards make him look like a dick, which they do often, completely predictably, but he's going to get a lot out of this finals stretch. I hope for the sake of my team that Hawkins makes him look like a goose in a few weeks, assuming we win in a few hours, but dead set I wouldn't mind schoey in my team in a few years.

I think they said he'd take a lot of last year's final stretch as well. :p

Fundamentally, he is the worst defender I have ever seen. His positioning, his game sense, his body work, his disposal is just tragically bad, and he is failing dismally to improve. Hawks fans have spruiked his apparent development when winning by 10-15 goals and controlling matches without realising that any occassion the Hawks are even half tested and defense forced to compete one out Shoenmakers completely goes to water, almost comically.

He was recruited as a tall, running half backman and the Hawks coaching staff have elected to pile the weight on him and turn him into a key defender, however that lack of natural ability and matchday nous as a big bodied player makes him look stupid.

You're mob have to be the most arrogant bunch of supporters for a 6th placed club in the history of football.

And you have the nerve to line up Freo supporters who have some confidence. Wow.

They have every right to have confidence going into tonight. Thier side is playing great football and your mob are not the side that they used to be. Furthermore, Ross Lyon has coached a side to within a bee's diaphragm of a premiership so they have no issues on that count either.

Fremantle have a very real chance tonight and only a complete and utter moron would think otherwise.:eek:

You idiot

Maybe you should learn to read champ :rolleyes:

Fundamentally, he is the worst defender I have ever seen. His positioning, his game sense, his body work, his disposal is just tragically bad, and he is failing dismally to improve.

I hope you're trying to be facitous and while you do have some points I'm loathe to believe he is the worst defender you've ever seen.
The bolded part is just flat out wrong

Haven't read the thread but it would be a tough ask to expect the cats to get to a premil, confidence we can do well but have to beat Freo first.

Hawks played very well last night they look like a strong team this year.