Autopsy Hawks v Shockers

Hey remember that game of footy last night when we beat the dockers?
Can we talk about that?
How about Billy's goat? I must say I wasn't expecting it

Not nice to call him a billy goat!

I'm with you on that, it was just the versatility part I was hung up on.....

I guess the part that worries me with Stratts is the lack of rebound, but even more importantly being a part of rebound.
With the high press most clubs use when they've got you pinned in the back half, if you have a player that doesn't find space, doesn't offer run, can't use his disposal to break up the defense, then you're playing one down.

Game has changed to a bunch of ruck rovers running around the fields, and Stratts is pure throwback.
I'm sure he can work in, but like others - I don't want to mess with the running mojo we currently have in that half.
For all your Chip-picking, he DOES always offer an overlap for handball, sideways kick, etc... AND I don't think his disposal is nearly as bad as is made out. His 15m - 30m passes are usually pretty good.
JMO.

I suppose if you can defend tall or/and fast you are sort of versatile

No hair rules at Hawthorn; just a desire amongst the players to not look like they are auditioning for gay pr0n movie roles. But apparently there may be a shortage of barbers (and mirrors) in WA.
How do you know what gay pr0n stars look like?

Agree with many others that the game won't make it into the AFL Highlight Reel but given it's the one game I know I can get to I was happy we got the win. Loved the "Hodgey" chants that broke out.

My only criticism would be around our players slipping over. Did no one take a good look at the oval during Friday training?

How quickly we forget his 2015 GF performance on Kennedy, nobody else on our list remotely close to being able to replicate that effort. Has also performed as well as anyone on Franklin in the past.
I thought Kennedy played well that game, I mentioed it in the autopsy thread. Held Frawley goalless.

I can't believe this talk of trading Frawley. We have a problem with the monster forwards without Frawley, who has in the past handled the best 'bigs' in the game very well. People also seem to forget his toe injury, which has been a long term chronic problem which he has been playing with. He'll be better now he has had it treated.

With Gibson & Hodge leaving and the potential of mid/forward rotations for our current backs then I don't think there will be to much trouble fitting them, especially as you usually have a few long term injuries affecting players through the year. We look like we will have a very strong squad for 2018, perhaps we could challenge again that soon.

Exactly. Oh the talk initially started around Stratton and frawley being possible bait lolll, and birchall not being a certainty lol.

Then it shifted to, "who do you replace them with"... when my reaction was purely based on the stupidity of not having these guys in our squad. (Note I agree Gibson is gone)

I'll say it again, squads win premierships. Frawley, Stratton and birchall are required.

The fast track development has been great, however it is just part of the process for the next push into contention.

KOLOKOTRONIS

Hi All, for some reason cannot post in the introductions thread so first post will be here.
Hello from a Sydney hawk, long time hawk man living in the emerald city (yeah I laugh too at that).
Born in the West, now in Sydney as I say.
Great game last night, the future is bright, let's roll the canape kings next friday night!

...4 more wins and we have a chance to get into the 8, win the last 5 and we're certain to get into the finals.
Finals for these kids will give them confidence and hunger for the years to come, so hopefully we can have a good remaining 5 games
No arguments with most of your thoughts BUT
I don't feel 5 wins guarantee finals.
Hawks would need more than a bit of very good fortune to make the 8
*Hawks cannot catch Crows & Cats if either lose 5 in a row
*Don't see Tigers or Giants losing 4 of 5
*Don't see Power, Swans or Dees losing 3
*That puts 3rd thru 7th out of reach
So - Hawks are 6 points behind 4 other clubs for 8th Place. If we win out we would need all 4 to lose twice. Because our percentage is poor, the draw didn't actually hurt our chances.
*Bombers only have one game left against another top 8 side (Crows)
*Eagles have two (Giants & Crows)
*Saints play Power, Dees & Tigers
*Bulldogs play three (Power, Bombers & Giants - plus the Hawks)
If Hawks beat the Swans & Tigers it could get interesting. Lose one of those & Hawks are done! Regardless, a better result than most of us expected 12 weeks ago!

The Hawks are coming back no mistake.

Sis looks like so composed when he has the ball like Keith Greig style for North. A natural. Just moves with grace and kicking to position sublime and great reader of the play and intercept mark.

Burton future captain perhaps, a star.

O'Brien looks good and at least contests and tackles.

Rough? He cant seem to mark anymore is a concern but perhaps put him out him in the action more as has the quick reflexes in the middle?

Vickery was a mistake sadly is appears, but I thought at the time good pick up but was wrong.

Glass? Wow! Champion in the making there I reckon.

Frawley and Birchall adds heaps to the back half I believe and Stratton also. So, Rioli, Pup, Birchall etc to come is and what about Ceglar and a guy called O'Meara if the Hawks medicos are surely being cautious; perhaps he can play?

Schoenmakers, like Sis are great kicks of the footy and can take a mark. Remember Richo from Tigers was played on a wing and nearly won a Brownlow a few years back? Wing high forward flank? What about Sis there?

Henderson has been very good I think also and surprised me how good he is with run and carry with a thumping kick with good skills.

What do we need? May? I said this before but with Sis perhaps not? Howe and Brand now playing well, Hardwick etc.

Do we need another mid?

Not sure? perhaps full forward Lynch?

Who knows but i think the future, personally is looking pretty good with some of these young guys coming through.

I know precisely what flagellation means. What an odd comment.
The comment isn't odd. It means to be whipped. Struck with a rope. How is delusional self-congratulation self flagellation?

In Port Moresby waiting for a flight to cairns and then a connect to brisbane. I will have 10 hours at cairns airport to watch the replay. Should I watch it at 1/5th speed so it takes ten hours, or watch it 5 times?

You might see Tommy's hands at 5th speed.

Might
I'll also see Ballantynes falcon at 1/5th speed. Totally worth it.

Seeing sic's one though, not so much, being able to lip read sicily's convo with doc - priceless.

Autopsy Hawks v Shockers