Autopsy Hawks v Swans

Schoey needs to come in. He can at least crssh packs. Tonight showed that sis and tob arent there yet and playing both doesnt work again good teams.

Especially when we have two rucks who cant play forward like Hale did.

I have said it all season our forward entries are horrible no structure. Just looks random and the players have no idea where or who they are meant to kick it to.

Painful game to watch. Like watching two washed up punch-drunk fighters go 12 rounds. Burnt the ball going forward and allowed too many intercept marks by Swans defenders. Thought Burgoyne was good all night, Gunston was effective, Gibbo and Frawley solid citizens and Hill tried hard. I was set to give Ceglar a pass mark until that ****** awful handball which led to a Swans goal and sealed the game.

Langford looks like he needs a rest or a reduced workload. Great as a tackling machine in close but seems to have no zip off the mark when in space and what's with all the kicks off his non-preferred left foot when not under immediate pressure.

Might sound harsh but I would play a fit Spangher in front of Brand assuming we care more about winning than development.
Thought brand was ok. Apart from the turnover handball to heeney but the chopped off heeney pass to buddy, I don't think he conceded anything that wasn't more the fault of a shit half forward turnover.

The biggest concern and an obvious sign of how off or game we were was the tackles in the forward 50 stat. Only 5 for the whole game! That's our lowest for the year, including our game against GWS where we literally did nothing all game.

AFL website headline: Buddy's final-quarter heroics inspire Swans over Hawks

That's taking the piss a bit isn't it? Those last two goals were superb, but he was pretty well held by Frawley for most of the night.

As others have said, I'm pretty happy with the boys. Tough week, showed a lot of fight. 14 point loss is pretty valiant.

Still shaking my head at Ceglar though. Not blaming him for the loss, but that was a complete brain dead decision under no pressure whatsoever.

While a very tough week, they are still professional people - they played bruise free footy.
They are humans with feelings FFS. Fair to say if I found out one of my close mates was battling cancer my mind would t be on work!

9ee51bafac3b3eb40f8e804df53527b8.jpg

Something else we sucked at. Cant remember last time i was this frustrated with the team maybe 2010 if not 2004.

So once every 6 years - I'd take that over being a Melb, Saints, Rich, Carl supporter

A lot are going to bag Ceglar, but he was really, really good tonight if you exclude that handpass. His ground work and second efforts were terrific for a ruck. We're so much better when he rucks. McEvoy is useless as a ruck.

No one was really on their game tonight. Hard to analyse it. Burgoyne, Lewis and Gunston willed themselves through pure grit and shows how classy they are as people and footballers in spite of what they're dealing with.

Kaiden Brand, remember that name. Oh wait, I've been telling you all that for 12+ months.

I'm generally satisfied that $ydney are not great judging by that result. Any of their supporters who are puffing out their chests over that performance are having a laugh.

September will find them seriously lacking.
A lot of us would agree with you so far this year mate. We started well but have been playing like crappola the last few weeks.

The boards are identical about the umpiring too which I find amusing. It's a perfect example of how two people can see the exact same thing so very differently. None-the-less, some shocking calls both ways tonight.

I thought both teams looked flat early but the game really lifted after we'd pulled away but your boys lifted and fought your way back into it. It showed tremendous character IMO & if it was my boys I'd be bloody proud of them. Such a hard week, they really fought back & if not for accuracy they'd have the 4 points.

Great to see Roughy in the rooms/box too.

Good luck for the rest of the season till we meet up again. Looking fwd to it.

I'm concerned... we would of been flogged last week as well If we were playing any other team than Freo.

Slow, shit decisions, shocking skills...

It feels like we are headed in one direction... and its not up. :(
Every game is like this and people think we'll flog Brisbane by 100, that's arrogance... It only takes leppa sacked and it's on.to me with a Rough out we're in a mini re build we have to find a gun forward that ain't gonna be easy.Theres some young boys in the team , it's going to be tough blooding them it sucks ... I wish hodge hadn't got injured though he would if helped a bit these last few weeks:(

Seriously can you just shut up for a moment and give them some encouragement?

Not when you talk about the game in isolation, are you telling me what I'm saying is wrong? If it's good I'll call it, if it's rubbish I'll call it, what do you want me to do? Lie and say the game was brilliant, well done, fantastic to get close?

It's been a tough week, it's been hard on all those boys but why does that excuse stupid turnovers or an unwillingness to stick tackles.

It is what it is, so how about discussing the game rather than wearing rainbow coloured glasses and expect everyone to stroke the testicles of every Hawthorn employee. I am isolating the game, that is it and that's that.

One big positive for me was Jack Gunston tonight.

Was the best player on the ground for a good portion of tonight - he looks to be making the mythical step up from really good player to superstar.

Disappointed we lost but with the circumstances I'm not surprised. Some posters probably need to take a bigger picture look. Hawthorn is missing a hell of a lot of quality and dealing with the transition of some older players to lesser roles. And after the era this club has given us it's pretty pissweak to start sinking the boot in after a hard fought loss.

You could see the boys wanting to perform tonight. Started the 1st and 3rd qtrs hard and desperate for the ball. They just couldn't get the flow going.
Can't measure the toll this week has taken. Great effort to do as well as they did and I'm so proud to call myself a hawthorn supporter!

The club rates running ability and aerobic capacity over size and strength , you won't find many strong powerfully built players playing for the Hawks.
Even players that used to be solid have shed muscle load - partly to reduce stress on their legs as they age, and partly because the new interchange rewards aerobic skills over strength.

One big positive for me was Jack Gunston tonight.

Was the best player on the ground for a good portion of tonight - he looks to be making the mythical step up from really good player to superstar.

Disappointed we lost but with the circumstances I'm not surprised. Some posters probably need to take a bigger picture look. Hawthorn is missing a hell of a lot of quality and dealing with the transition of some older players to lesser roles. And after the era this club has given us it's pretty pissweak to start sinking the boot in after a hard fought loss.

Gunno was immense, seriously this bloke is elevating himself to the very best in the game.

Wish some of you could consider the human side to what happened this week and what is ahead at our footy club.
Yes, they are professional athletes and paid extremely well for what they do.
Yes, they should've won tonight bar some poor execution.
But FFS, didn't this week teach some of you that there is more to life than slating blokes on a forum that are doing it tough atm?
And it's more pathetic to do it when tonight was the beyond blue game too.
They turned up like professionals, did the best they could and who really gives a shit about the result of a football match.
Grow up and think about someone else for 10 seconds and the emotions and feelings they are going through!
Some of you don't turn up to work with a sniffle, these blokes turned up under terrible circumstances and deserve your praise and support!
Don't say you support this club, Rough and his Hawthorn family then kick them when they are down. That's bullshit!

Autopsy Hawks v Swans