Autopsy Hawks v Swans

Hawthorn were soft tonight - SOFT. Played like they didn't want to get hurt, stupid handballs, going to ground and running themselves into trouble. Their decision making was ridiculously bad. I saw both rucks try and grab the ball off the ground, stand up and then kick directly into a Hawthorn or Sydney player's body at least 5 times. People can complain about the umpires all they want, but they don't affect the effort of the players....
Yeah I'm sure the player were completley switched on tonight.
Shit post

Most people here are fanatics.

Their ability to step back and look at what the players were dealing with probably wasn't where it should've been.

This was always going to effect players differently, and be super tough for everyone to get up for.

Just a shame that the one player who looked inspired out of the whole ordeal played for the other side :(

Given the week the club has had we were always up against it. A huge part of footy is between the ears and we were always going in with a disadvantage in this game. Gunston stood up again, he's firming as our next captain with every game we play. O'Brien and Sicily showed glimpses but failed to convert their opportunities. A real case of so close yet so far for our boys.

Tonight I really think showed more about Sydney than it did us. Whenever they tried 6 v 6 in our forward line we got a run on, they always threw an extra back to so this. I wish Clarko gave us a 7 man forward line just to see how we went. We got the ball forward more but just didn't look for a target when going forward. Sucks to say it but with Roughie out there we'd have won.

Biggest complaint i have is our ruck duo were god damn awful. Slow, gave us nothing and got beaten by a shit kicker named Tippett. Ceglar's handball to Langford who was amongst 3 Swans players and not posting attention for obvious reasons was one of the worst clangers I've witnessed.

In summary, shit week with much more important things to worry about. The return of Paul Roos style play was unexpected and disappointing from a spectator point of view but i shouldn't expect anything less from the AFL Swans.

Most people here are fanatics.

Their ability to step back and look at what the players were dealing with probably wasn't where it should've been.

This was always going to effect players differently, and be super tough for everyone to get up for.
Absolutely.
As I said to one person, would finding out your best mate is possibly terminally ill going to make your work performance better or worse? Then multiply that out to 21 others, if just 1 or. 2 are sub par, then your gonna struggle against a good Team.
People watch too many movies

Tonight is the lowest I've felt after a footy match since Adelaide's first AFL game, even including 2012. Been sick with a cold. Bad day at work. Roughead got cancer. Relative got cancer. Beaten by Sydney. Franklin in a Sydney top. Hodge in the rooms looking sombre.

Sometimes footy is uplifting but that has just killed me watching that. Shows how transient it all is, doesn't matter how well we've gone for years, it's still painful to watch your team struggling. Especially after this week.

Upside tonight for me:

Sicily and Windows are both going to be really good I think. Recall people potted Sicily in Round 1; check him out tonight diving headfirst into a marking opportunity. Gun.

Gunston is just fantastic.

Things I found hard to watch:

Hartung disposal. If he was 10% slower but 10% more accurate he'd be just about Pritchard level.

Rohan seagulling against the run. Shiels picking out a Sydney defender on the chest miles from any Hawk. Both kind of summed up a night where we could and should have won, but you could tell from a few minutes in it was going to be four quarters of frustration.

Missing targets, missing goals, missing Hodgey, missing Rough. Missing what Hill used to be. Missing a dominant inside mid.

Just GAGF tonight, seriously.

It's hard to see that this team is going to be flag quality this year, but I was wrong about them last year, and tonight just seemed like nothing bounced our way.

Must say that soccer chip from Shiels to Gunston was a brilliant bit of play.

Cyril was creative in the 2nd half but we just played to their team defence. One on one they are ordinary defenders. Rampe r*ped Gunston again.
Watched on replay - turns his foot to hit it like a soccer ball and control it. A moment of brilliance.

Ceglar had a few shockers (like quite a few others) but also did far more positive things. Thought it was one of his best games overall, so surprised to see so many negative posts on him.

In previous years I'd be pissed off, upset and spewing buckets. I've never seen this great side shoot itself in the foot so badly before. SO many golden opportunities going forward fluffed.

But this year, being reigning 3-peat premiers, winning 4 in the last 8 years and seeing 12 in my lifetime, I feel 50 feet tall, like I'm wearing impenetrable body armour and generally immensely philosophical. Not concerned in the slightest.

I think we have structural issues through the midfield. Mitchell should get tagged each week and if he is quiet the other team relies on a better class of midfield to influence the contest. Our midfielders aren't kicking goals and neither is the half backline. With Hodge out and Roughy at times we are two midfielders down.

We'll have the cheque book out aat the end of the year for a quality midfielder for sure.

Agree totally, an experienced mid would be hugely beneficial, doesn't have to even be an out and out star, just a touch of class and clearance ability. Shiels and Langford as the grunt. Shiels as a stopper and tackling, Langford as the blunt axe berserker when required.

One experienced guy to top up while we build some midfield depth to me makes sense. I've long agreed with the common theme that midfielders are easier to find. Time to test that theory. To me the back line and forward line are in pretty good shape and the rucks are serviceable at worst. 3 wingers in smith hill and hartung who can all play. Time to get the centre square sorted.

Im sure all the issues this week had an impact, but i also saw all the same on field problems ive seen all year.
Birch has gone from one of the most solid half backs to a turnover ridden, non comitted player.
The only thing slower than Mcevoy moving across the ground is his brain telling his body what to do. Ive never quite seen anything like it, slow motion. Stegglar is what he always will be.
Too many guys out there who have no brain for the game.
So many other senior players out of form.
Most troublng was the lack of protection for Mitchell, our best midfielder.

Our ruck stocks are deplorable. Made Tiprat look a class above ... and that's saying something. Decision making was disgraceful ... but only matched by our skills. Our young kids fell over as opposed to standing up. Turnovers cost us but most came from the aforementioned ... & in saying that ... we could have won. Wtf?
Tippett is a gun. Make no mistake about it.

We're kicking to Sicily and O'Brien not Roughead and Hale. The connection was always going to suffer. It's no coincidence that when we hit up Gunston it seems so natural. That said Sic and O'Brien have looked good, it'll just take time. Some people seem to be panicking but i reckon we have a great base to build from while still having a crack this year. We're by no means favourites but i reckon we have enough to at least keep sides honest, much like tonight.
Going forward if the club are going to use TOB and Sicilly as forward targets they are just going have to put about 10 kg on their frames . Boys playing against men.

Tough night had to be there to supprt the club. This is just a little beef but if fans are going to do that 2 and 2 stuff which is borrowed from overseeas, might want to stay behind and applaud the guys off

Supporters from 1995 to 2005 would have. Todays crowd are completely spoled by the three premiership

Pay the price

Are our ruckman dumber than others? Just curious, they look like they think half an hour slower than others. Mcevoy is utterly useless with his ruck work and Cegs doesn't do anything other than make mistakes, DE 43%, give me a bloody spell.

Our forward entries where diabolical, that's been the case all season.

We have issues with quite a few senior players.

Brad Hill - 16 touches and no impact, he has been struggling all season.

Gran Birchall - what's happened to this bloke ? Used to be calm and make great decisions, he used to attack, now he is the opposite.

Jordan Lewis - you can't have 2 good games then dish up what he did tonight. 55% DE and only 7 contested possessions, that's not a leaders game.

TOB - I know there's love for this guy and he'll stay in because we have nothing else but 2 kicks and missing some sitters isn't good enough.

Tackling was pathetic.

Hard week for everyone at the club, the boys battled but we just couldn't do enough. Hopefully nail the next 3 and get some % and head into the Roos game at 9-3 and 120-130%

Seriously can you just shut up for a moment and give them some encouragement?

Tough night had to be there to supprt the club. This is just a little beef but if fans are going to do that 2 and 2 stuff which is borrowed from overseeas, might want to stay behind and applaud the guys off

Supporters from 1995 to 2005 would have. Todays crowd are completely spoled by the three premiership

Pay the price
Tonight had nothing in the mid 90s

Wouldn't matter if it was Rough and Hale up there tonight, we would have still been delivering it poorly going forward. As I said, same as we used to do with the cats, with Rough and Hale in the side.

yes and no. It looked like we bombed it when we shouldn't have and other times kicked it short for the cut back towards the ball carrier that didn't happen. Ball use wasn't great by any stretch but to me it seems that that predictability and connection just isn't quite there yet with the current personnel up forward.

Umpire also clearly explained that the (I think it was Rohan) mishap at the end was deliberately out of bounds.

And the umpire clearly explained the 'play on' call in the dying minutes when you played St Kilda.

Doesn't mean it's right. Tasting your own medicine isn't nice, is it?

Apples oranges

Autopsy Hawks v Swans