Autopsy Hawks vs Port featuring the Great Escape

Not only Spangher , I saw some crappy handballs miss targets, and some crappy kicks. And some indecision , won't happen next week.

This is what drives me crazy. We had a week off. But like in 2012 vs Adelaide we came out and looked like we had run a marathon 3 days earlier and hadn't touched a footy for 6 months, skills wise. If we make the finals again ;) I don't want to have the week off, if this is the trend.
And when you think port would be stuffed at the end of the game, we were the one looking tired.
Help, I don't get it!

Watched the replay last night it was hard for me to watch again :cry:, Fair dinkum how good was Roughie that bloke is as good as any forward in the game.

Kill those campaigners next week

Bloody hell, you're a better man than I. No way I would have re-watched a losing prelim again so soon after it happened so well done.

Strange feeling at the end of the game. It honestly felt like we lost and you guys won. Really weird feeling have been so in control and then to just hold on.

Really enjoyed you blokes this year, and I have a feeling you are building to something very special.

Bloody hell, you're a better man than I. No way I would have re-watched a losing prelim again so soon after it happened so well done.

Strange feeling at the end of the game. It honestly felt like we lost and you guys won. Really weird feeling have been so in control and then to just hold on.

Really enjoyed you blokes this year, and I have a feeling you are building to something very special.

This is so true. The section we were sitting in was in disbelief that it was even happening and then when the siren went, even though excited, it left a really empty feeling in the gut. Yes we are in a GF, but what the hell happened and bloody hell, if we do that again next week, we hand the AFL $hitney Swines another flag.

Im not sure how to feel about it all?? Should I be confident?? At this point in time, Im sh..ing bricks!

But give credit where credit is due, Port were great and they are going to be bloody awesome in the next couple.

That was an appalling last 10 min by our football club.....completely stopped, refused to run, bombed it to contests where port won the ball and ran in waves.

Yep every single one of them (apart from the Captain who was brilliant) went into bruise free football mode which was very disappointing. I lost count of the times players fell over, lost their footing etc.

Watched the replay last night it was hard for me to watch again :cry:, Fair dinkum how good was Roughie that bloke is as good as any forward in the game.

Kill those campaigners next week

Much better man than I, also. I can't watch highlights of losing regular season games, let alone a replay of a losing prelim. Tip of the hat to you, sir.

Am only starting to feel pumped now (Monday morning). 3rd GF in a bloody row...........wow!!! That prelim left me feeling like we can not win it. Now I am not so sure. We have some handy players who can come in. Sydney travelling to the G. Find out were the campaigners are sleeping and make their nights in Melbourne hell. Every Hawk needs to pull together and do their bit to win this one.

(By the way love the opinions in this Autopsy thread it has been a great read. If the game had not been so poorly umpired this thread would have been one of great celebration imo.)

Spangher will be extremely fortunate to play next week. Was clearly our worst player.

Highest amount of clangers on the ground, highest frees against on the ground.

I know he's not suited to the port small forwards. But he was moved forward in the second half and was clearly beaten by Carlisle. Including that contest in the final minute in our forward pocket and he just had to spoil and was easily out marked by Carlisle.

Unfortunately the only alternative is schoenmakers.

Mate, if you thought the Spang was bad, you should have seen Shoe in the VFL GF yesterday.

The guy is a car wreck.

Good luck to you guys, the best team won on the weekend, will like to put in a message I've done a complete 180 on Burgoyne (again), alot of respect for his comments post game.

If it's not Buddy pulling goals outta his arse when we played in Sydney, it's Roughie having a day out lol.

And for the love of god, don't let your coach go to the Crows!

Mate, if you thought the Spang was bad, you should have seen Shoe in the VFL GF yesterday.

The guy is a car wreck.

It's a crap decision either way.

Spangher will get the nod IMO and we just have to help like hell he has a good day.

Haven't read the whole thread but one thing that annoyed me was players getting into a position where they can take a shot on goal, but instead they try to give it off and the team ends up fluffing it.
We kicked 15.7 because we lowered our eyes and looked for people in the best position rather than bomb away or take snaps from anywhere inside 50. You could argue that it cost us some goals, but in the end we won the game because our conversion rate was better than Port. Listen to Hinkley's post game presser.... Makes an interesting point along the lines of where they took their misses from.

Ports run and field kicking and their marks sticking on the end of very long and sharp kicks was amazing....However Kicking straight through the big sticks is also part of the game. Time and time again teams lose finals games through innacuracy. (Fremantle the week before..the irony) Hawks deserved the win because we took our chances and kicked straight with our opportunities. Let's see of Sydney can kick straight this weekend?

Like these words from Mark Robinson. Some nice perspective folks:

"Said many times you’d be proud of this team if you barracked for them and this was no different. They have an ability to hang in games. Yes, Port missed goals, but the Hawks still had to wrestle back momentum and then kick clear with their own. They are an amazing club. They don’t know how to surrender. There were significant players everywhere, but the team got Hawthorn over the line."

On the money or what!!

Kudos to the Hawks who I am hoping get up this week. So, first of all good luck fellas. I really hope you get over the Swans and I think you will.

As for Saturday, I thought Port played super in the first quarter but burned chances to be further up. I think much of this was pressure and composure which I hope comes from more experience in big finals such as prelims. You guys kicked straight and hit targets in the middle 2 quarters and played really good effective and skillfull finals footy.

We got so close in that last term but it was not to be. I think both fans have rights to be upset with some decisions by the umpires, but on balance and through the eyes of a neutral I think they evened themselves out.

How good is Roughie... Hodge is just a gun and I loved Langfords game as well. Obviously, there were many other good players, but these were the three that stood out for me from your side as a Port fan.

I really loved my seats in the Olympic stand and the Crowd was awesome. There was a Port fan behind me who, if he didnt get kicked out i was going to deck him myself. I was in section M53, I wonder if any of you saw it ...

Good luck next week, and I really see Hawthorn as a team whom Port should aspire to be like.

As for Saturday, I thought Port played super in the first quarter but burned chances to be further up. I think much of this was pressure and composure which I hope comes from more experience in big finals such as prelims.

See our 2012 GF result as another example but we have improved a lot since then.
Even some of our usually reliable guys like Hill torched the ball early on Saturday so pressure can do funny things to people.

Interesting,
He didn't get off the leash at any time and he fumbles around very slowly.

I don't rate him for big games but he's depth. Id rather Cheney
I was thinking that in future years we really will need to develop two types of defence. A tall one for Sydney and the like, much like what we played on Saturday, and a shorter quicker backline group with Cheney and Litherland for Port.

Problem is Port rotate some of the tall defenders, especially Trengove, up forward if the shorts are not working.

Yep every single one of them (apart from the Captain who was brilliant) went into bruise free football mode which was very disappointing. I lost count of the times players fell over, lost their footing etc.

Listened to this on the radio and Whateley said exactly that with about 8 minutes to go and I said to myself "NOOOOOOOO!!!!"

Spangher will be extremely fortunate to play next week. Was clearly our worst player.

Highest amount of clangers on the ground, highest frees against on the ground.

I know he's not suited to the port small forwards. But he was moved forward in the second half and was clearly beaten by Carlisle. Including that contest in the final minute in our forward pocket and he just had to spoil and was easily out marked by Carlisle.

Unfortunately the only alternative is schoenmakers.

Turn it up sunshine!!! If you think Shoenmakers is coming in then you need your head read. He could not even get a kick at VFL level.

And there were plenty more in front of Spang that had terrible games, Pop, Bruest, Gunston, Hill, Silk just to name a few. If it was not for Rough, Langers and Hodgey, we would have been in a world of hurt!!

Autopsy Hawks vs Port featuring the Great Escape