News Hawthorn in the media 2023

Please don’t bring Barrett’s sliding doors rubbish here. That’s not the Hawthorn footy club in the media.

That’s a desperate article, trying to get clicks every week.

Jars has been good though. Glad he is getting some external recognition, albeit from Damo.
I am happy to put my hand up and say he has been very good because if you had of asked me a few times in the last season or so, I would have said he was cooked.

Was injury related. Hoping Chad is the same. We need him firing.

Yup - not sure how many people had to be told and re-told last season that he had loose screws in his foot and was playing hurt most of last year. Not at all surprising that with a full pre-season and no niggling injury he is back to his best.

Was injury related. Hoping Chad is the same. We need him firing.
I've been hard on Chad like most of us have (probably rightfully so) but could you just imagine if he showed 3/4 of the potential we thought he could. Anything we get from him here on out is a bonus as far as I'm concerned. His body has obviously let him down but I wouldn't be surprised if there's more going on with him. Absolutely electric when he's up and running but we've only ever seen that 1 out of every 10 games in Hawks colours.

Yup - not sure how many people had to be told and re-told last season that he had loose screws in his foot and was playing hurt most of last year. Not at all surprising that with a full pre-season and no niggling injury he is back to his best.
Been great to see. Impey at his best is superb, adds so much to our team.

The questions is, did Moorey play on outside the boundary line? :sweatsmile:
secret smell GIF

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought a player, having marked the ball, can go over the boundary line to take his kick. He is allowed to play on and run back onto the field of play. Hence no out of bounds called.
I think that’s correct. Moorey went over the mark, though, is that the same rule in that instance?

My thinking is that he can't play on until he comes back around to be on the mark. So, if he was out his initial movement took him back into play and behind the mark and then he played on from there. Also, they allow that movement when you are coming back into play from a free kick/mark regardless.

I think that’s correct. Moorey went over the mark, though, is that the same rule in that instance?
just depends on who is adjudicating but HQ would tell you it was correct regardless
Vary rarely does a player get pulled up for playing on over the boundary. Maybe if there are two attempts in different directions? Who knows.

So, the question is in this rule:
1685677830858.png

Moore both brought the ball back into play before his next disposal and he came into play moving in one direction. He didn't run straight over the mark, but was only one step off the line when he crossed the boundary and was moving in the one direction when 'play on' was called. We've seen umpires call situations like that back and force a player to take a kick again but we've also seen them let it go. I say fair call as 20.3.2(a) clearly says a player can be moving off the line.

So, the question is in this rule:
View attachment 1702483

Moore both brought the ball back into play before his next disposal and he came into play moving in one direction. He didn't run straight over the mark, but was only one step off the line when he crossed the boundary and was moving in the one direction when 'play on' was called. We've seen umpires call situations like that back and force a player to take a kick again but we've also seen them let it go. I say fair call as 20.3.2(a) clearly says a player can be moving off the line.
It’s the AFL the rules may as well be written like choose your own adventure books for the umpires…

I've been hard on Chad like most of us have (probably rightfully so) but could you just imagine if he showed 3/4 of the potential we thought he could. Anything we get from him here on out is a bonus as far as I'm concerned. His body has obviously let him down but I wouldn't be surprised if there's more going on with him. Absolutely electric when he's up and running but we've only ever seen that 1 out of every 10 games in Hawks colours.
Impey at his best, free from injury, is more than OK. Witness his vein of form for the hawks two years ago.

Jars has been good though. Glad he is getting some external recognition, albeit from Damo.
He's up there as a personal favourite of mine when he is in full flight.

Having probably a career year in 2023 which is a great effort given his injury history and age.

Reckon he is a ripper of a guy as well, I think every single Hawks supporter wanted to see him succeed this year.

The comment about how we're not training to handball is interesting, Sicily said the same post game. Seems to be something we've developed organically, undoubtedly due to playing a hard running game and starting to gel with/trust each other's running patterns.

Having an element to our game that is instinctive rather than drilled in is a huge positive!