News Hawthorn in the media 2024

Just like last years thread, whatever Barrett has to say is not Hawthorn in the media.

Couldn’t care less for his shit takes, they don’t belong here.

I'm watching a replay of Sam Mitchell's segment on AFL360. Robbo is slurring his words so badly that he's almost drooling. It's like he had a shot of Novacaine in his lower lip just before the show. He can't pronounce the letter 'f'. It comes out 'fffffp' when he tries to say it. And 'th' comes out as 'thhhhhp' every time.

I don't reckon we'll be making fun of him much longer. He needs treatment. Or he's got some deteriorating condition.
It's made worse because of how articulate Sam is ( even Gerard ). It was really bad tonight though.

Adam Kingsly is good to listen too as well . Sam and he are a good pairing and make a bad show worth a look for 15 mins

I think he is to this side what Hodge was to the side when Mitchell was captain, the spiritual leader, when the players came off at Half time it was Moore who spoke to the players in the huddle.
And they all knew to shush up and listen. The guy is a natural born leader.

Nothing better on a Friday night than rolling from work to the G for a big hawks game or at least the pub.

Haven’t really done it since the threepete years and have since had more kids, moved and had plenty of life changes, but I can’t wait to kick off this ritual again.
The bandwagon was back in force last Sunday. You can smell the people coming back to pubs. For years they were dead and now it's starting to ramp up. We're coming.

Whateley has us as the 'No.1 seed' heading into finals.

Crazy that we are here after starting the season 0-5.

Interesting to hear Kingy's comment that he had messed up on his thoughts on the hawks. Surprised no one else has picked it up given the amount of criticism he has copped.
I'm watching a replay of Sam Mitchell's segment on AFL360. Robbo is slurring his words so badly that he's almost drooling. It's like he had a shot of Novacaine in his lower lip just before the show. He can't pronounce the letter 'f'. It comes out 'fffffp' when he tries to say it. And 'th' comes out as 'thhhhhp' every time.

I don't reckon we'll be making fun of him much longer. He needs treatment. Or he's got some deteriorating condition.
Apparently his dad died last week. Would have been a tough week.

Sam is of the belief that you can work hard, harder than anyone else, be tough, be ruthless for success due to having elite standards, but have blast while doing it. Players buy in, and you have that relationship which means if Sam does 'drop the hammer', players are likely to respond positively. There is also a certain aura around a side that is as dangerous as us, that seems to be playing with no fear with a smile on their face, while others are under intense pressure. It reminds me of Geelong around 07-09, and Ling and Co, used to say to the media 'We don't really get nervous bout games of Footy" etc. Our version is, "We have enjoy ourselves and get joy from playing". It takes a great leader to strike that balance, and is very much like teachers who have excellent behaviour management skills, as their classrooms are fun, engaging, humourous etc, but there are also very clear, strong boundaries of expectations and the teacher also is very strict when needing to be, and students listen because of the respect they have for their teacher. Sam doesn't have the formal education qualifications of some of our previous coaches, but seems to have a natural talent for striking that balance of culture, work ethic, standards, with having fun and enjoying the ride.

Often described as ‘work hard, play hard’

Yet Eagles and North have had one....

After finishing 13th in 2014.

Carlton had 6 Friday nights and 1 Thursday night the most of any team in the H&A in 2015. Finishing bottom of the ladder. Where their membership for that year a touch over 47,000. Also finishing last. They had 3 Sunday games.

In 2016 they had a touch over 50,000 members, 1 Thursday night game. 0 Friday nights and 10 Sunday games finishing 13th on the ladder.

In 2017 they had 1 Thursday and 1 Friday with 9 Sunday games finishing 16th. With 50,000 members.

In 2018, they finished last again with only 2 wins for the season, with 56,000 members. Being rewarded with 1 Thursday, 4 Friday and 6 Sunday’s.

In 2019 they had 67,000 members. Finished 16th. Had 1 Thursday night and 11 Sunday matches.

So in that 5 year period, of being mediocre, Their highest finishing posistion was 13th, with the lowest being 18th on 2 occasions. With an average membership of 54,000 members. Receiving a total of 5 Thursday nights, 11 Friday nights and 39 Sunday games.

Let us compare them to us. After 2018 where we finished 4th. In 2019 we had 81,000 members. We finished the season in 9th. We had 5 Friday nights, 1 Easter Monday, and 8 Sunday games.

In 2020. Was affected by Covid so a shortened season, with only 2 games at G and 0 in Tassie. We finished 15th with 2 Thursday games, 1 Tuesday game, 1 Monday game, 3 Friday games and 8 Sunday games. Our membership was 76,000.

In 2021, still feeling the effects of Covid. We had 77,000 members. Finished the season at 14th. Had the Easter Monday clash. 1 Friday night and 9 Sunday’s.

In 2022 our membership rose to 81,000. Finished the season in 13th. We had the Easter Monday clash, Along with an ANZAC day clash with Sydney on the Monday. 1 Friday night and 10 Sunday.

In 2023, we finished 16th. Our membership was 80,000. We had the Easter Monday clash. 0 Friday nights and 11 Sunday’s.

In 2024 we are making finals, we have a current membership of 80,000+ We have played this season 1 Easter Monday, 0 Friday’s and 11 Sunday’s.

So in our time of being “mediocre” between 2019 to 2023. Our highest finishing position was 9th with our lowest being 16th.
Our average membership between those years was around 79,000. We have had 6 Monday clashes, 10 Friday nights, 2 Thursday nights compared to 1 Tuesday and 46 Sunday games.

Carlton. Hawthorn
So lowest finishing position. 18th x2. 16th
Highest finishing position 13th. 9th
Average membership. 54,000. 79,000
Thursday night games. 5. 2
Friday night games. 11. 10
Monday Games. 0. 6
Sunday games. 39. 46
Tuesday night games*. 0. 1

* Covid affected game.

Seriously yes we get the Easter Monday clashes, which I do consider a prime time slot. However compared to Carlton, we have been totally screwed with our fixtures based on membership, and our superior finishing positions. For 2 years running we have not had a Friday night game. Our last Friday night game was 24/6/2022.

So Carlton had 16 Thursday / Friday / Monday Games vs our 18? That doesnt seem unfair to me and as a whole we have been pretty garbage the last 2-3 years.

Where we have been scr&wed was the excessive graveyard shifts of twilight Sunday as it seems we have been stuck there a lot the last cpl of years....better mix of saturday afternoon or sunday 1pm games would have been appreciated.

Also, membership may have nothing to do with Ratings. Channel 7 have a huge say in line-ups for Thursday / Friday night games. Their data may suggest that Carlton (and others) just generally get more TV eyeballs than hawks

After finishing 13th in 2014.

Carlton had 6 Friday nights and 1 Thursday night the most of any team in the H&A in 2015. Finishing bottom of the ladder. Where their membership for that year a touch over 47,000. Also finishing last. They had 3 Sunday games.

In 2016 they had a touch over 50,000 members, 1 Thursday night game. 0 Friday nights and 10 Sunday games finishing 13th on the ladder.

In 2017 they had 1 Thursday and 1 Friday with 9 Sunday games finishing 16th. With 50,000 members.

In 2018, they finished last again with only 2 wins for the season, with 56,000 members. Being rewarded with 1 Thursday, 4 Friday and 6 Sunday’s.

In 2019 they had 67,000 members. Finished 16th. Had 1 Thursday night and 11 Sunday matches.

So in that 5 year period, of being mediocre, Their highest finishing posistion was 13th, with the lowest being 18th on 2 occasions. With an average membership of 54,000 members. Receiving a total of 5 Thursday nights, 11 Friday nights and 39 Sunday games.

Let us compare them to us. After 2018 where we finished 4th. In 2019 we had 81,000 members. We finished the season in 9th. We had 5 Friday nights, 1 Easter Monday, and 8 Sunday games.

In 2020. Was affected by Covid so a shortened season, with only 2 games at G and 0 in Tassie. We finished 15th with 2 Thursday games, 1 Tuesday game, 1 Monday game, 3 Friday games and 8 Sunday games. Our membership was 76,000.

In 2021, still feeling the effects of Covid. We had 77,000 members. Finished the season at 14th. Had the Easter Monday clash. 1 Friday night and 9 Sunday’s.

In 2022 our membership rose to 81,000. Finished the season in 13th. We had the Easter Monday clash, Along with an ANZAC day clash with Sydney on the Monday. 1 Friday night and 10 Sunday.

In 2023, we finished 16th. Our membership was 80,000. We had the Easter Monday clash. 0 Friday nights and 11 Sunday’s.

In 2024 we are making finals, we have a current membership of 80,000+ We have played this season 1 Easter Monday, 0 Friday’s and 11 Sunday’s.

So in our time of being “mediocre” between 2019 to 2023. Our highest finishing position was 9th with our lowest being 16th.
Our average membership between those years was around 79,000. We have had 6 Monday clashes, 10 Friday nights, 2 Thursday nights compared to 1 Tuesday and 46 Sunday games.

Carlton. Hawthorn
So lowest finishing position. 18th x2. 16th
Highest finishing position 13th. 9th
Average membership. 54,000. 79,000
Thursday night games. 5. 2
Friday night games. 11. 10
Monday Games. 0. 6
Sunday games. 39. 46
Tuesday night games*. 0. 1

* Covid affected game.

Seriously yes we get the Easter Monday clashes, which I do consider a prime time slot. However compared to Carlton, we have been totally screwed with our fixtures based on membership, and our superior finishing positions. For 2 years running we have not had a Friday night game. Our last Friday night game was 24/6/2022.
Not to dismiss all the hard work you’ve done here but this is closer than I thought it would be.

Also, membership may have nothing to do with Ratings. Channel 7 have a huge say in line-ups for Thursday / Friday night games. Their data may suggest that Carlton (and others) just generally get more TV eyeballs than hawks
Absolutely,

Carlton is the 3rd biggest Vic club and probably the 5th biggest club in the AFL. Hawthorn is the 5th biggest in Victoria and probably the 8th biggest in the AFL.

Carlton also play 5 home games at the night friendly Marvel Stadium (plus 6 at the MCG), we play 4 at the absolutely toxic (for FTA coverage) small stadium in Launceston which means that games before and after are invariably day games.

Given this, plus Carlton’s rivalries against Coll, Ess and Rich (compared to ours vs Ess and Geel) means they will always get a better lock at prime time.

In order to change that we need to come home and play 11 home games in Melbourne and lock in marquee games against Ess, Geel and one of Coll or Carlton.

Absolutely,

Carlton is the 3rd biggest Vic club and probably the 5th biggest club in the AFL. Hawthorn is the 5th biggest in Victoria and probably the 8th biggest in the AFL.

Carlton also play 5 home games at the night friendly Marvel Stadium (plus 6 at the MCG), we play 4 at the absolutely toxic (for FTA coverage) small stadium in Launceston which means that games before and after are invariably day games.

Given this, plus Carlton’s rivalries against Coll, Ess and Rich (compared to ours vs Ess and Geel) means they will always get a better lock at prime time.

In order to change that we need to come home and play 11 home games in Melbourne and lock in marquee games against Ess, Geel and one of Coll or Carlton.

Carlton is more a rival than Collingwood.

Watch AFL360 tonight Leigh Montagna break us down what we are doing.

Interesting though given our current brash personality the celebrations the rat pack etc don’t think this would’ve gone down well with the likes of Hodgey if he was still playing he used to run a tight conservative ship . I vividly remember him ticking off Ryan Burton for getting too enthusiastic with his celebration during a game .

Because, and I say this with all due respect and reverence to Hodgey, he was enforcing the club standards of the time which were coming down from an oddly controlling coach who was bizarre in his dislike of individuality. Mitchell clearly runs a different show, so if Hodge was captain under Sam as coach he would probably not be enforcing things the same way.

Yet Eagles and North have had one....

No…they really haven’t.

The Shinbeggars have played on Friday, yes. They played the Good Friday game that nobody cares about and isn’t on FTA because nobody cares about it. It’s not a prime time game because it’s not going to get the viewership of the Friday night game on 7. They also played on Friday during gather round but it was at 5PM and on Fox Footy so once again wasn’t a prime time Friday game.

West Coast had a Friday night game a few weeks back because the NRL also had a game on in Perth that night and I’m sure the AFL was playing spoiler. It wasn’t the prime time game on the east coast where all the eyeballs were.

So, no, West Coast and Norf have not had prime time Friday slots this year.

News Hawthorn in the media 2024