News Hawthorn in the media 2024

Just like last years thread, whatever Barrett has to say is not Hawthorn in the media.

Couldn’t care less for his shit takes, they don’t belong here.

Sam wouldn't give a toss what is brought up in the media . Surely everyone knows they're so desperately vying for clicks and the easiest way to do that is to talk about the most relevant club in the comp right now. There has been so much said about us I wouldn't have even known there were 2 prelimins on this week.

The club won't say a thing and roll out round 1 and flog the bombers by 60 . The same media people happy to bag us will no doubt start sucking us off again.

Keen for Ginni to be at the game Fri with a Swans jumper under his jacket.

Should Swans get up, Ginni takes the jacket off in the crowd and takes a selfie and posts "have a safe flight back Ken"

Would be liquid gold.
I'm expecting he'll be there and that there will be some type of social media post following if Swans win, but I really doubt he makes any overt reference to Ken or Port Adelaide. While it would be funny on some level I think it would completely undercut his apology to his coach and teammates for the far, far less direct comment he made the other week.

Ginnivan has been branded a villain of the game by the media and many neutrals but I think he has a good sense of his personal brand and it's more larrikin than anything. He'll be as cheeky as he can get away with but don't expect anything antagonistic.

The best post he could make would be so very subtle that people in the Port Adelaide camp know it's for them but there's enough plausible deniability that if they crack the shits about it then to a casual observer it would just make them look crazy and precious.

Not a podcast episode Eddie would want to watch back. Awful. Absolute garbage from start to end. And remembering that I was one of the first few that recommended this ' usually ' solid podcast. Politics, Collingwood, name dropping Ginni with the cocaine fiasco ( needlessly) , Collingwood, Ken's been robbed, Collingwood, Hawks deserve what they got and that apparently all of us were trying to sack everyone after Rd 5 which is utter garbage , then back to Ken's been robbed, back to ****ing Collingwood....on and on. What a self righteous dick weed. Oh btw, did anyone know his sons study in the USA, like that's a relief .. **** me. May have to give his podcast the wide berth for a while. Again, usually, I don't mind his views , have a soft spot for him, as a Broady boy from way back ( like me) but that was hard to get through.

My amateur lip reading skills have him saying something like:

"Hey Jack, you're not flying!
You're not flying!
Not flying Jack!
You're not flying you f***heeeaad"

Of course this is just my honestly held opinion and I could be wrong. But if correct or thereabouts, I can't understand why people think it's OK for senior coaches to be smugly goading and insulting oppo players like that immediately upon a game finishing under the pretext of "BUT iT AdDS CoLoUR!!!".
He said at one point "You're not flying anywhere..."

If it wasn’t obvious by now, Barrett doesn’t like us. I suspect the constant reminder of his shit takes has only made things worse.

Celebrated as usual in the dusty 300 game.

Behaved impeccably when Dusty was chaired off.

If barratt wants equivalence. Look directly at that night

Edit. Kens episode may have taken the focus off the player who was fined for staging. Hint it wasn’t a hawks player

It's a age disonnect thing. Shared by the bulk of the older media. People didn't celebrate goals in this manner back in their day. So they see the celebrating as disrespectful to the opposition which it is most certainly not. They don't get it because it is foreign to them and what you don't understand you criticize.

The Hawks boys are only guilty of playing with enthusiasm and copying the celebrations of their idols in other sports.

What the media also fail to understand is that the number of young kids getting Hawks jumpers as their new favourite team, and the number of first time footy followers choosing the Hawks, will have gone through the roof. We are relevant.

The Hawks are the best thing that has happened to the AFL's precious footy brand in ages.

Yep, they don't understand, you're right.

My 9 year old was pissed that Wiz only got 2 coaches votes on the weekend. Thought that the Port manager after the game was weird.

How did he get back to Melbourne then?
Moon Walk Dance GIF

My amateur lip reading skills have him saying something like:

"Hey Jack, you're not flying!
You're not flying!
Not flying Jack!
You're not flying you f***heeeaad"

Of course this is just my honestly held opinion and I could be wrong. But if correct or thereabouts, I can't understand why people think it's OK for senior coaches to be smugly goading and insulting oppo players like that immediately upon a game finishing under the pretext of "BUT iT AdDS CoLoUR!!!".
For me, if he wants to act like a massive tool like that after the game then fine. It says way more about him than anyone he's directing it at. Just don't come over to where Hawthorn are trying to honour a 300 game player to do it.

Opposition clubs aren't obligated to participate in honouring milestones after the game. They choose to do so out of mutual respect. You don't elect to participate in that ceremony and then use it as an opportunity to goad the opposition. It's not like Ginnivan or Sicily can remove themselves from that situation.

Celebrated as usual in the dusty 300 game.

Behaved impeccably when Dusty was chaired off.

If barratt wants equivalence. Look directly at that night

Edit. Kens episode may have taken the focus off the player who was fined for staging. Hint it wasn’t a hawks player

I didn’t know about the staging fine, but now I recall the incident from the game. Interesting.

For me, if he wants to act like a massive tool like that after the game then fine. It says way more about him than anyone he's directing it at. Just don't come over to where Hawthorn are trying to honour a 300 game player to do it.

Opposition clubs aren't obligated to participate in honouring milestones after the game. They choose to do so out of mutual respect. You don't elect to participate in that ceremony and then use it as an opportunity to goad the opposition. It's not like Ginnivan or Sicily can remove themselves from that situation.
I’m of similar view but the Afl cannot tolerate any inciteful behaviour from officials after the game has ended. It sets a terrible precedent as custodians of the game, they are the role models for footy at every level. We still have too many unsavoury incidents happening at junior and local leagues, could you imagine the carnage that would happen at times if this was commonplace at local games of footy? For them to accept a head coach taunting the opposition like that would set a terrible example of what they would like to promote.

If Ken were to get fired, should the Hawks offer him a job and then not pick him up from the airport?
I think there's a fair few in here that just need to let all this Ken BS go as I'm sure Sam and all the players already have. Time to move on.

Should we not have these threads to remove oxygen from the cesspool that is AFL media? Isn’t BF media in itself? Imagine if we all just disengaged and only looked here for news but stopped linking to legacy media. One person anointed to review afl and X and post content daily and they all crumble. Then there is no media and we just watch the games and see what happens. Like the old days.

This is my initial perspective on the whole Ginni-Hinkley situation. I don't get the narrative that many in the media and some irrelevant figures like Eddie are pushing—that the Hawks can dish it out but can't take it. What exactly have the Hawks dished out? We started playing an exciting brand of football—is that not allowed? The younger players added some flair with their goal celebrations—are they not allowed to? The team started taking selfies after games—were we supposed to invite the opposition to join in? Ginni went out for dinner before a game—how is that disrespectful to the opposition? Ginni made a cheeky social media post aimed at Grundy, which should be between Ginni and Grundy, and has nothing to do with Hinkley or the self-righteous media types. I don't see us dishing out anything to anyone in these examples, so what exactly is the media justifying here, supporting an old man for verbally abusing a player? The amusing part is that there are still two preliminary finals to be played, yet the media is more focused on the Hawks. It seems any news about the Hawks sells better than discussing a Port-Sydney prelim.
The media has controlled the narrative from start to end - they've essentially farmed their own fodder and all the nuffies waiting for us to fail have happily fed from the same trough - been hilarious to watch. David King is one of them.

Not a podcast episode Eddie would want to watch back. Awful. Absolute garbage from start to end. And remembering that I was one of the first few that recommended this ' usually ' solid podcast. Politics, Collingwood, name dropping Ginni with the cocaine fiasco ( needlessly) , Collingwood, Ken's been robbed, Collingwood, Hawks deserve what they got and that apparently all of us were trying to sack everyone after Rd 5 which is utter garbage , then back to Ken's been robbed, back to *ing Collingwood....on and on. What a self righteous dick weed. Oh btw, did anyone know his sons study in the USA, like that's a relief .. * me. May have to give his podcast the wide berth for a while. Again, usually, I don't mind his views , have a soft spot for him, as a Broady boy from way back ( like me) but that was hard to get through.
Eddie self promotes and denigrates others at every opportunity, been doing that since footy show days. Offers very little in terms of substance, just a glorified muck raker....oh...from Broady too if you weren't aware.

Keen for Ginni to be at the game Fri with a Swans jumper under his jacket.

Should Swans get up, Ginni takes the jacket off in the crowd and takes a selfie and posts "have a safe flight back Ken"

Would be liquid gold.
I think Ginni should go to Sydney and wear a red and white scarf, not a jumper with their sponsors logo etc. and not post a thing beyond him being there to watch a mate, the media will tie themselves in knots.

How did he get back to Melbourne then?
That's the funny bit. The stupid slimy, grubby flog has no clue. He doesn't know what country New Zealand is in, and when they built him and poured the stupidity in, he forgot to say 'when'.

If Ken were to get fired, should the Hawks offer him a job and then not pick him up from the airport?
IF it were to happen. Big IF...(because Port Adelaide FC is more demented keeping him on than any other club in the league barring Essendon). Hawks should send him a complimentary flight and accommodation to the next Hawks v Port game that he's not coaching. Media team puts out an insta saying were juuuust repairing relationships.

The media has controlled the narrative from start to end - they've essentially farmed their own fodder and all the nuffies waiting for us to fail have happily fed from the same trough - been hilarious to watch. David King is one of them.
I think King and Barrett are envious that Hawthorn have been turned around from near the bottom of the ladder to competing so quickly. Whilst their beloved North Melbourne has had a rebuild twice as long with still no blue sky ahead.

Other than the Ginnivan comment on instagram we’ve not even remotely done anything to piss anyone off.

News Hawthorn in the media 2024