Autopsy Hawthorn v Geelong - Preseason hit and giggle, Feb 17, Tassie

Looking forward to seeing Roughead returning back to footy and how our forward-line goes with two genuine marking key position forwards. Something that we didn't have last season.

We've got much better depth up forward then last season which means more time on the wing/half back position for Gunston, more time in the midfield for Rioli and Breust and Sicily could be used in defense during some games this year giving us greater flexibility around the ground.

O'Meara, T.Mitchell, Vickery and Henderson are all likely to play on Friday Night.

Burton, Howe, Sicily, Brand and Stewart are the young players to keep an eye on during the pre-season.

Looking forward to seeing Roughead returning back to footy and how our forward-line goes with two genuine marking key position forwards. Something that we didn't have last season.

We've got much better depth up forward then last season which means more time on the wing/half back position for Gunston, more time in the midfield for Rioli and Breust and Sicily could be used in defense during some games this year giving us greater flexibility around the ground.

O'Meara, T.Mitchell, Vickery and Henderson are all likely to play on Friday Night.

Burton, Howe, Sicily, Brand and Stewart are the young players to keep an eye on during the pre-season.
I'd add Kiwi Kurt, Lovell, TOB, Langford and JOR to the list young blokes to keep an eye on in preseason.

I'd be playing Roughie but saving JOM and TOM for game 2.

Same. With two new core midfielders I would think there is a bit of gelling to go on in the middle. I'll be interested to see how much stability we play with in the midfield during the JLT.

His a good guy mate. You shut up or i will verse you out in the parking lot. I should of ignored you for all intensive purposes!!!!!!!
gee, way to make him an escape goat.

Anyway, time for lunch. Bone Apple Tea!

Squad named....

JLT Community Series Rnd 1 Squad

Hawthorn vs Geelong
UTAS Stadium
Friday 17 February, 7.40pm

2 Jarryd Roughead
4 Billy Hartung
5 Ryan Burton
6 Josh Gibson
7 Ben McEvoy
8 Taylor Duryea
9 Shaun Burgoyne
10 Jaeger O’Meara
12 James Frawley
14 Grant Birchall
16 Isaac Smith
20 Dallas Willsmore
21 James Sicily
23 Tim O’Brien
24 Ben Stratton
25 Ryan Schoenmakers
26 Liam Shiels
27 Tyrone Vickery
28 Paul Puopolo
29 Will Langford
32 Jack Fitzpatrick
33 Cyril Rioli
34 Kurt Heatherley
36 Kieran Lovell
37 Blake Hardwick
40 Kade Stewart
42 Teia Miles
43 Marc Pittonet
46 James Cousins

Missing from squad

Regular Seniors: Tom Mitchell, WhiteX, Hodge, Gunston, Bruest,
Fringe: JOR, Howe, Brand, Henderson
Newbies: Morrison, Surman, Lewis, Hanrahan, Conor #1 and #2
Inj: Cegs

Didn't Tom Mitchell also miss the intra-club match? Don't want to sound alarmist but anything to infer from his absence here?

Wonder if it's related to him being the one player that played the Grand Final. So his program is a few weeks behind most on our list.

Jaeger probably play week 1 and 3. Give him a rest in week 2 to see how the knee pulls up.

He's been in full training, but it has been reported that he's been experiencing some soreness from a hip (I believe?) problem that he experienced in the latter half of the 2016 season. I wouldn't be too worried, I asked a few reliable sources and they told me if it was a regular season match he'd be playing. Think of it as being cautious: he's not playing for the same reason that Howe and JOR aren't playing despite overcoming their injuries recently and participating in training. He should be right for the second JLT game.

FB. Burgoyne Frawley Sicily
HB. Burton Heatherly Duryea

Ce. Smith O'Meara Hartung
RR. Pittonet Shiels Stewart

HF. Schoenmakers Roughead Rioli
FF. Puopolo Vickery Lovell

Int. Langford O'Brien Willsmore Cousins Birchall Fitzpatrick Miles Hardwick

Note. Edited post to add extra 4 interchange players.

Something like that then? Bit of experience on each line. Plenty of kids. Burton and/or Sicily to play Gibbo's role.

I'm unsure why many of you think we would take a full side to the first preseason game in tassie? I would be staggered if this was the case.

More likely, is that we both take young sides and let them duke it out, but I guess we will find out soon.

Anywho, very glad footy is nearly back and happy that the first game is against a team where even a preseason victory will give the winner a warm fuzzy feeling.

Good luck with the year and the new recruits. It wouldn't be same if the hawks/cats games became crap so may we both continue to piss Bigfooty members off by remaining around the top of the ladder.

Appreciate the post, and no matter how hard we supporters go at each other, our clubs have both been great for some time, and have the greatest respect for one another. Our rivalry is good for the game, and produces some of the best games of each season.

What I find most galling is his rampant use of 'of' in place of 'have'. The grammar nazi within me trembles with anger.

His grammar is on a par with his football knowledge. He said Porkins would have a far better career, and was a better player than Franklin. All due respect he is a one eyed cat fan, so we have to make excuses.

FB. Burgoyne Frawley Sicily
HB. Burton Heatherly Duryea

Ce. Smith O'Meara Hartung
RR. Pittonet Shiels Stewart

HF. Schoenmakers Roughead Rioli
FF. Puopolo Vickery Lovell

Int. Langford O'Brien Willsmore Cousins

Something like that then? Bit of experience on each line. Plenty of kids. Burton and/or Sicily to play Gibbo's role.
Not bad. There's usually an extended bench though isn't there?

I think there is three to drop out from that 29. So 8 on the bench?
Just found out that you're correct about there being 8 on the bench. Going to be a fairly senior squad that run out on Friday then as I didnt really leave out many of the kids.

Something else I didn't know is that when/if there is a deliberate rushed behind, a behind will be added to the score but instead of a free kick in front of goal being paid, play will resume with a ball up 14 meters out from goal. Weird...

Autopsy Hawthorn v Geelong - Preseason hit and giggle, Feb 17, Tassie