Toast How can this Melbourne side be stopped?

Flagmantle.

I think structurally we’ll cause problems for them. I think we have a better chance than any to beat them at the G. On the other hand I can’t see us beating Brisbane at the Gabba or Sydney at SCG.

Just feel like those wide open spaces at the G and head to head personnel v Dees..we’ll go alright.

Flagmantle.

I think structurally we’ll cause problems for them. I think we have a better chance than any to beat them at the G. On the other hand I can’t see us beating Brisbane at the Gabba or Sydney at SCG.

Just feel like those wide open spaces at the G and head to head personnel v Dees..we’ll go alright.
The gabba is virtually the same size as the mcg.

As I have said, Melbourne are currently a better side and are on their way. I cannot see how they are stopped this year but the season is long. What I will stand by very strongly is this, Richmond has been the dominant AFL side of the competition between 2017 - 2020 and until Melbourne can sustain a similar period of dominance that yields three premierships in their current era Richmond is the better and more successful side. Coulda woulda shoulda is all arbitrary talking up my team vs talking up their opponents etc. The Era is Richmond literally was spearheaded by the best finals player of all time in Martin. I have strong evidence from these results to suggest Hawthorn is the best dynasty with 4 flags, Richmond the next best with 3 from an 18 team comp, and then Geelong after that. Melbourne most definitely have the opportunity to surpass this. Simply just saying you had a dominant year and are better than the dynasty's past is laughable when you played the bulldogs to win your GF and faced possibly the weakest opposition to a flag year since Geelong 2007.

Results are results, facts are facts. For those knocking Prestia, seriously... the bloke dominated our finals matches and kicked match winners in parts. Just because his last two years are full of injuries doesn't take away from the facts and dominance he has had. Anyone who can logically just say Melbourne instantly surpass Richmonds dynasty after one year are completely biased and have an inferiority complex. To shame our 2018 campaign is also disrespectful because the teams we played travelling were quite strong (i.e. West Coast and Adelaide), and is superseded by a 2019 finals campaign overcoming a strong Brisbane QF (away final), and literally winning on the road in 2020.
Who is saying that? You Tigers supporters just can't let go. Literally no one is saying Dees are a better side than Tigers dynasty(yet). It's all banter. You guys have a massive chip on your shoulder for a fanbase that won 3 out of 4 flags. I'd be kicking back loving life and enjoying footy, but the Tigers fans just have to one up everyone and bring up how dominant they were. We get it, but the shows over. The time is done.

Was just about to say this. Weird comment by that Freo supporter. Isn't it cute how Freo supporters think they are a chance of doing anything spectacular at the MCG. It's cute..
Why be a like that for?

They’re the one of the better teams this year, let them enjoy it - refer you to Richmond 2018.

Why be a like that for?

They’re the one of the better teams this year, let them enjoy it - refer you to Richmond 2018.
Haven't you lot got something to go sook about? Meh, I'd hardly set a benchmark with games against Bombers and Carlton. Two sides who bring very little to no pressure. Saints brought pressure and Freo crumbled. They're a nice team but hardly going to trouble Dees at the G come September. Let them enjoy their moment. Remember the Carlton Dynasty only last 3 rounds. Time will tell..

I think a little bit of “finals experience” is what fremantle may be missing at the moment.
Just a little bit young maybe?
Still a little scary are freo rn!

They also have one Brayshaw, very important!!

How can Melbourne be stopped? Honestly; self sabotage or poor luck. Otherwise they walk in with back to back flags.

If they fail to capitalise with multiple flags with their talent it’s an indictable on their footy club.

How can Melbourne be stopped? Honestly; self sabotage or poor luck. Otherwise they walk in with back to back flags.

If they fail to capitalise with multiple flags with their talent it’s an indictable on their footy club.
that's a dumb thing to say. like mind boggling. You realise that even the favourite to win the flag is more unlikely than likely to win the flag? like you do realise this or not? Melbourne is $2.80 to win the flag. You realise this means that we're more likely to not win than win. Otherwise, if we're a sure thing go and put your life savings on these odds.

Also, with umpires able to swing games with as many 5-8 goals in any given match due to poor decisions, I've got no idea what game you're watching these days.

that's a dumb thing to say. like mind boggling. You realise that even the favourite to win the flag is more unlikely than likely to win the flag? like you do realise this or not? Melbourne is $2.80 to win the flag. You realise this means that we're more likely to not win than win. Otherwise, if we're a sure thing go and put your life savings on these odds.

Also, with umpires able to swing games with as many 5-8 goals in any given match due to poor decisions, I've got no idea what game you're watching these days.
Those odds only support my statement. Has there ever been odds that low at this point in a season? Maybe Geelong in 2008?

Wow - some fellow Freo fans going early.

I’d like to think we’re about to gate crash the Top 4 and over the next five years will be up there alongside the Demons, Lions and Swans. Four exciting sides where their core is still young (Dockers the youngest).

But this year, the only side that will get close to the Demons will be the Lions and to beat them at the pointy end will require the Demons to off by 5%.

For Saints fans reading - yes you beat us, yes you will make finals this year, you’ll probably win a final this year - but you haven’t built a list that will play finals for the next five years like the four mentioned above.

It's great for the competition for Freo to be up and about. I hope they can maintain it. Same with the Saints. One side who's never won a flag and another who's only won once in their long history. Just need the Suns next year (maybe with Clarko and King) to click and GWS with a new coach hopefully to rebound.

Freo have been very impressive. Looking forward to playing them.
Agreed Fremantle and St Kilda are impressive structurally but I'm not sure on their personnel (Fremantle KPPs and Saints around the ball).

We've got Saints in a couple of weeks and play Freo twice during the middle of the season so will be interesting to see how those games roll.

Those odds only support my statement. Has there ever been odds that low at this point in a season? Maybe Geelong in 2008?
huh? do you know how odds work? those odds completely contradict your statement.

Yes the odds are short but the odds also say Melbourne are more likely to lose the premiership than win.

Then you say it's an indictment even though we're most likely not going to win. Odd comments by you.

For Saints fans reading - yes you beat us, yes you will make finals this year, you’ll probably win a final this year - but you haven’t built a list that will play finals for the next five years like the four mentioned above.
Seems a bizarre thing to say when for the majority of this season we haven’t had ANYONE over the age of 28 in our team, while Brisbane have the following over 28:

Zorko 33yo
Robinson 33yo in June
Rich 32yo in June
Lyons 30yo in July

With 3 of them top 5 in Brisbane’s B&F last year. All will be gone within 5 years.

Then you have:

Neale 29yo in May
Adams 29yo in June
McCarthy 29yo in October
Daniher 28yo
Cameron 28yo in July
McInerney 28yo in July

That’s 10 of their best 22 who are 28yo or older by July and then you’ve possibly got McStay out the door through FA.

But somehow their team is better suited to a sustained run at finals, while our younger one isn’t?

Okey-dokey.

Even Freo:

Mundy 103yo
Walters 31yo
Fyfe 31yo in September
Lobb 29yo
Taberner 29yo in June

Only Mundy from that lot likely to be playing in 5 years.

Seems a bizarre thing to say when for the majority of this season we haven’t had anyone over the age of 28 in our team, while Brisbane have the following over 28:

Zorko 33yo
Robinson 33yo in June
Rich 32yo in June
Lyons 30yo in July

With 3 of them top 5 in Brisbane’s B&F last year. All will be gone within 5 years.

Then you have:

Neale 29yo in May
Adams 29yo in June
McCarthy 29yo in October
Daniher 28yo
Cameron 28yo in July
McInerney 28yo in July

That’s 10 of their best 22 who are 28yo or older by July and then you’ve possibly got McStay out the door through FA.

But somehow their team is better suited to a sustained run at finals while our younger one isn’t?

Okey-dokey.
sounds like a Rossy Lyon your policy LoL

The Geelong team who last week lost to Hawthorn, who we beat by 70 points the previous week, on their home ground?

Away from Docklands is also not much of an issue for us these days.

So far this year we’re 2-0 interstate and 3-0 away from Marvel, and last year we were 4-7 there and 6-5 away.

So in the last two seasons we’re 9-5 away from Marvel and 5-8 there.
Mate the demons can't be stopped. This is big footy logic.

In 2-4 years time, someone will start a thread and say North Melbourne can't be stopped LoL

Toast How can this Melbourne side be stopped?