How good was Garry Lyon?

Garry Lyon's petulant performance on Footy Classified last night when questioned over Neeld and Mark McLure's comments regarding Garry's once again half arsed and ultimately terrible "guidance and recommendations" again confirms what shocking bloke he is. Now I know most don't like Caro, but when she dared to question him, aside from calling McLure an idiot, you could see the almost pyschotic anger rise in him, whereby he was almost intimidating towards her and talked over anything she tried to legitimately ask him. He pretty much does that any time he is legitemately questioned over Melbourne and his involvement or non involvement. He's a w***er.

Could play a bit though....

Id use the word champion.
Comparisons to Pav are pretty fair.
Bombers fans do make me laugh though, if lucas was better than lyon then ezard was better than platten....

I think he was a bit over-rated because he was Melbourne's best player when they were rubbish a lot. The Star in a Dud Team always gets a few sympathy votes.

Also, those in the media tend to get positive career re-evaluations because of the perception that 'only the best champs get into the media'.

That said he would have been a very good player in any team.

Just like Matty Richardson right?

Scott played 64 more games, polled 21 more Brownlow votes, averaged 1 disposal per game less, kicked 5 or more goals 18 times to Lyons 19, averaged more marks and tackles, 1.7 to 1.9 goals per game (considering he had Lloyd in front of him his entire career). Basically their stats are almost identical. Put Scott in front based mainly on his Brownlow votes, but as I said, not much in it.

lol!

I have heard it all now

He was Matthew Pavlich in the 80s/90s.

An undeniably talented player, captaining a team of 'almosts'. Could win games off his own boot, but couldn't always get the job done on his own.

Was in the top 10 players in the VFL/AFL at points in his career but was never top 5.

Agree with this

also have to say as a non-essendon person, some here are really downplaying Lucas' value. If he didn't have Lloyd in front of him, I reckon people would be a lot more generous in their appraisal of him. Great CHF, and would have loved to have had him at the Tigers

This thread is what happens when a whole heap of 20-year-olds venture opinions about someone they never saw play.

Garry Lyon was a champion of the MFC and a star of the game in the early '90s. He was certainly a rung down from the champions of the game, but fitted comfortably into the league's top 10 when he was fit from 1990 to 1995.

Garry Lyon's petulant performance on Footy Classified last night when questioned over Neeld and Mark McLure's comments regarding Garry's once again half arsed and ultimately terrible "guidance and recommendations" again confirms what shocking bloke he is. Now I know most don't like Caro, but when she dared to question him, aside from calling McLure an idiot, you could see the almost pyschotic anger rise in him, whereby he was almost intimidating towards her and talked over anything she tried to legitimately ask him. He pretty much does that any time he is legitemately questioned over Melbourne and his involvement or non involvement. He's a w***er.

Could play a bit though....

I think it's pretty shortsighted of Carrow to be questioning Neeld's career after seven games considering how much she talks up Damien Hardwick.

I'm really struggling to believe what I'm reading here.

Firstly, Garry played the bulk of his career, not injury affected, from 1986 to 1995. In that time, Melbourne made 6 finals series, including 3 prelims and a grand final. We won 10 finals. How does that rank against Richmonds last 30 years?

He kicked 10 goals in a final against the Bulldogs in '94 in the first three quarters.

To that first ridiculous comment: Febey x2, Lovett, Neitz, Pike, Yze, Viney, Tingay, Stynes, Wight, Lovell amongst many others.

The "self-appointed expert" syndrome strikes again mate. As typified by this bizarre comment, for instance:

Better footballer than human being, that I am assured of.

The less they know, the more copiously their bizarre generalistic assertions flow. And the greater the misplaced confidence with which they make them.

Dunning-Kruger writ large :mad:

Would be a top 10 player even now. That is all.

Seconded :thumbsu:

I think he was a bit over-rated because he was Melbourne's best player when they were rubbish a lot. The Star in a Dud Team always gets a few sympathy votes.

MFC made the finals (top 5 out of 14) each year from 1987-1991 including a PF & GF. Made the PF in '94 & '98 also. Don't know how you could say he played in a dud side, this wasnt like Richo who only played in 3 finals matches his whole career.

Lyon was a champion player in any team, he had regular Big V appearances including captain. He was cruelled by injuries from his mid 20's on but was also cruelled by being thrown all around the park. He would regularly be shifted from CHB to CHF to onball during the course of a game to plug holes as the Demons teams of that era did lack genuine KPP's.

MFC made the finals (top 5 out of 14) each year from 1987-1991 including a PF & GF. Made the PF in '94 & '98 also. Don't know how you could say he played in a dud side, this wasnt like Richo who only played in 3 finals matches his whole career.

Lyon was a champion player in any team, he had regular Big V appearances including captain. He was cruelled by injuries from his mid 20's on but was also cruelled by being thrown all around the park. He would regularly be shifted from CHB to CHF to onball during the course of a game to plug holes as the Demons teams of that era did lack genuine KPP's.

No need to drag our "champions" or appalling record over the last 30 years into it because of the opinions of one poster who supports our club. Plenty in here (like me) have agreed that Garry was a wonderful player.

As a side note (and not a shot at you) any use of statistics (e.g. Player X took 4.6 marks per game, whereas Player Y takes 9.5) is patently absurd as today's game barely resembles the game we watched 20 years ago.

He was a Melbourne great and a marquee player in his day. When Robbie Flower retired, he was the go-to guy at Melbourne and did a fantastic job leading the team. His on-field captaincy was an absolute highlight, even when he was just a walking injury, he was leading the team on the field.

If we had him on the team at the moment, we wouldn't be shit. There's your rating.

Edit: Why is his personal demeanor and likability come into question here - it's about how good he was.

No need to drag our "champions" or appalling record over the last 30 years into it because of the opinions of one poster who supports our club. Plenty in here (like me) have agreed that Garry was a wonderful player.

Very well said BB. Hope the Tiges can make it three against Essendon this weekend too :thumbsu:

I predicted four in a row for you guys back before the Port game, and the chances are getting better all the time...

As a side note (and not a shot at you) any use of statistics (e.g. Player X took 4.6 marks per game, whereas Player Y takes 9.5) is patently absurd as today's game barely resembles the game we watched 20 years ago.

Yeah probably sounded a bit harsh there - I loved Richo and like the Tigers wasn't trying to have a crack was just using a comparison to show that Lyon was hardly in dud sides for the majority of his career.

I agree with the stats - saw someone used them to say they weren't much chop for a KPF but Lyone really only played KPF in the latter stages of his career. From 1986-1993 he played more of a midfield/utility role rather than a KPF role. He would be sent play across half back or half forward at times but he wasn't a spearhead FF his whole career like Dunstall & Lockett.

Yeah probably sounded a bit harsh there - I loved Richo and like the Tigers wasn't trying to have a crack was just using a comparison to show that Lyon was hardly in dud sides for the majority of his career.

I agree with the stats - saw someone used them to say they weren't much chop for a KPF but Lyone really only played KPF in the latter stages of his career. From 1986-1993 he played more of a midfield/utility role rather than a KPF role. He would be sent play across half back or half forward at times but he wasn't a spearhead FF his whole career like Dunstall & Lockett.

It's cool. Anyone who remembers Garry playing also knows that the Demons were a very good side for most of his career. Hell, it's hard to believe watching them today how recently they were playing finals...

My recollections of Gary Lyon are limited. I don't recall anything specific about his playing days growing up - to be honest, I was utterly transfixed by Daicos and Ablett Snr. What I do remember is my dad (despite being a die-hard Collingwood member) absolutely loving Gary Lyon. It was weird actually, there were times where my dad would watch highlights of Lyon and bark a laugh and exclaim 'beautiful'. I knew, growing up, that Lyon was a silky, smooth footballer, but I don't recall anything specific except my dad's awe for him.

I've always thought of Gary Lyon in the same vain as what Peter Daicos was for Collingwood.

Good footballer but not a super star. Better footballer than human being, that I am assured of.

I know a bloke who used to hang around with his group a bit and said he wasn't a bad bloke but didn't take sh*t from anyone, especially drunk idiots who he'd quiet happily tell to F*#k off if they annoyed him.

Thinks this is where the grumpy stuff comes from, piss head gets offended cause someone they think they know because he's on TV tells them to pi$$ off because they are acting like a dick.

Get on the turps and run into Garry one night, Papa G?

Clown... :D

Interesting to see the conjecture over this guy.

I thought Garry Lyon was a great player, I regarded him as Melbourne's best player in the late 80's and early 90's. May be didn't quite reach the heights of what he could have been. I would agree with those who compared him to Tredrea, except he was not just a CHF, he was used in the back line and in the centre from what I remember. He sort of had the ability to lift the team by his presence, and I think that is what elevates him beyond just a good player. So may be a little more like Pavlich, except he wasn't the club's best ever player.

Interesting to see the conjecture over this guy.

I thought Garry Lyon was a great player, I regarded him as Melbourne's best player in the late 80's and early 90's. May be didn't quite reach the heights of what he could have been. I would agree with those who compared him to Tredrea, except he was not just a CHF, he was used in the back line and in the centre from what I remember. He sort of had the ability to lift the team by his presence, and I think that is what elevates him beyond just a good player. So may be a little more like Pavlich, except he wasn't the club's best ever player.

This is the best summation on this thread. The Pavlich comparison is spot on. Lyon could seriously play. Was cruelled by injuries, especially his dodgy back towards the end of his career, but the guy had some of the best skills in the league. Was a great captain as well.

I was the one that compared him to Tredrea, not in the way he played but more in his standing in the game during his career. When Tredrea was at his best, he was acknowledged as one of the dominant players in the competition, yet it seemed to be forgotten how good he was almost immediately.

I think the same applies to Lyon. He was a gun, then the moment he stopped playing or dropped in form everyone seems to have forgotten how good he was. Its strange how some players are like this, while others seem to carry a reputation long after their performances drop off. eg. Tredrea vs Brown. J.Brown has this incredible reputation, but in reality if you stand him against Tredrea, Tredrea was the better player for much longer periods.

I don't think the comparison of Pavlich and Lyon is fair. Pavlich is a 6 time AA and 6 time B&F winner. He's been good enough to be AA in defence, midfield and attack and is ridiculously underrated by the larger footy community. Lyon may have reached similar heights, but Pavlich is an automatic hall of famer in my view, Lyon is not. The comparison in terms of versatility might just be ok, but Lyon only really had spurts up the ground. Pavlich has been a gun as a permanent mid, forward or defender.

How good was Garry Lyon?