Vic How would you rate Daniel Andrews' performance as Victorian Premier? - Part 4

as a member of the ALP i can tell you that yes what you say is true (in that the ALP of today is different from 30 years ago), but not the why.

If the ALP was still banging the workers of the world unite drum, it would poll worse than the greens. why, because we dont have the sweat equity jobs that the alp was built on in this economy any more.

and even in the sectors still with union representation, that has changed. closed shops are mostly gone, and many people are choosing not to be a union member. add to that unions now cant even unite amongst themselves (ie nurses and cfmeu have campaigned for the libs/greens in some recent elections, and there is a split in the CFMEU between the miners and the builders).

in the past unions had political power, but thats because the power was invested in them by the people. The people have moved on, so unions now are glorified employment agents.

as to the why, its twofold. firstly in expanding economies you dont need a union to protect you, and employers/libs used this time brilliantly to create a narrative that unions hurt your hip pocket. Add to that peoples perceptions of themselves have changed. Most people no longer consider themselves working class. Most think of themselves as middle income - be they on $40k or $400k (i kid you not, we are a nation who thinks we are all the average!). Again, the perception has been created that unions are for poor jobs, so if your successful (i know...) you dont need one.

the ALP today is basically half the greens, and half the old liberal wets. and this is because the old supporters are pushing up daisies and no longer exist.
Spot on.
Add to this the ton of old school lefties who switched to far right in the 90s cause they decided they hated the different coloured family next door that speaks funny more than the boss that butt ****s them each payday.

So it's a fabulous, elaborate conspiracy and they didn't bother to get the dates right?

This has already had too much oxygen. And if anything it's probably taken away some heat over another HQ breakout (the Delta has been traced there).

Do these people think he's dead, or being made into a Robocop-style cyborg dictator.

Maybe he's in a Chinese re-education camp for not being socialist enough.

I read the definition of Just Asking Questions as (JAQing off) which is aimed at giving oxygen to lies. I just honestly, for the life of me cannot see what the LNP hopes to gain other than framing Andrews as a liar (which will be disproven) or that they're incredibly stupid which is mostly what's happening.
The whole Andrews thing reminds me of this:

Comedy gold from Tony Martin- Up there with John Clarke (RIP) in fact.

i read his post as admitting that what he thought (providing info would kill the rumors) was incorrect, but maybe just me; and then his later post seemed to indicate he no longer stands with the rumour crowd.

Thank you sir. And overall, I think I’m done even thinking about it. It makes no difference on my life and current lockdown.

bit confused as to why tier 3 - how long would he have been standing there waiting to get to front of line?
Well the exposure is listed as 3:15pm-4pm but I reckon they pad those. So he would have been wearing a mask and standing in a queue probably fairly spaced. They don't seem to have used Tier 3 designation very often from my observations.

Thank you sir. And overall, I think I’m done even thinking about it. It makes no difference on my life and current lockdown.

What they failed to realise and I think someone in the government admitted as much recently, was the silence and almost signs of a coverup is exactly what fuels these wild rumours. Andrews went from a minor fall resulting in precautionary x-rays to suddenly in intensive care and serious danger the next day. Then some people had the nerve to complain of people making light of his fall, when for most of the day the government's official line was it was a minor fall. Of course if AV had actually released this statement in March, chances are 99% of talk would have been quashed then and there.

But questioning them seems to result in you being labelled a conspiracy theorist and trump supporter. Of course if no one questioned the government last year we'd still believe the official story that the Minister for health was solely responsible for everything that happened and private security was a creeping assumption but not responsible for the outbreak.

What they failed to realise and I think someone in the government admitted as much recently, was the silence and almost signs of a coverup is exactly what fuels these wild rumours. Andrews went from a minor fall resulting in precautionary x-rays to suddenly in intensive care and serious danger the next day. Then some people had the nerve to complain of people making light of his fall, when for most of the day the government's official line was it was a minor fall. Of course if AV had actually released this statement in March, chances are 99% of talk would have been quashed then and there.

But questioning them seems to result in you being labelled a conspiracy theorist and trump supporter. Of course if no one questioned the government last year we'd still believe the official story that the Minister for health was solely responsible for everything that happened and private security was a creeping assumption but not responsible for the outbreak.

Agreed mate but not sure I can stomach another conspiracy argument lol. Some people wish to take him at face value and some want to question it. I say each to their own and we’ll find out soon enough!

Bullshit. People (Inc here) are already saying the AV report is fake.

Look at KILLARY!!! They showed no basement in the pizza shop exists, bit now she runs a pedo ring out of a metaphorical basement (sadly not joking)

People fit the details to match the conspiracy theory they want. Remember we were in lockdown last year to allow PLA troops to be smuggled into Victoria to assist the Chinese takeover of this state

History is littered with elites and pedophilia, literally littered all over the internet, we had a island where kids were being molested by the elite for there own pleasure, this is nothing new, it is a fact of this cruel world that the rich, and elite, have constantly throughout history been found guilty of and caught in.

Now I have no idea whether or not pizzagate is legit or not, and neither do you, no proof, or otherwise that Hillary Clinton is involved at all, but to act like this is something that is just so outrageous that you have to be a qanon, or some quack nut job to believe in is simply naive at best.

I am a conspiracy theorists myself of sorts, I don't dive very deeply at all, I read things on both sides, and then I make my opinions, is the thought that this Andrews conspiracy is a complete fabrication, absolutely it is more then likely possible, is it also possible that there is more to the story then the public is led to believe, I bet you 1000% there is more to the story then just a simple fall, now, that doesn't mean I'm saying he was pushed, bashed by some magical unicorns or something, simply stating, there is more to the story then we are being fed.

And as I read tonight, the libs are asking questions, simply because he's been out of work for 3 months, and being paid a salary he therefore shouldn't be getting paid, hence the questions.

Also, I almost dropped my plate of chicken skewers when I heard backbenchers make $200k a year, not including any loadings or extra incentive based work they do. No wonder we have a country full of garbage politicians (both sides) who wouldn't wanna line there pockets with a salary like that doing **** all work, promising the world and delivering absolute horse shit.

The real crime here is the salary these morons make.

Sent from my SM-N986B using Tapatalk

Also, I almost dropped my plate of chicken skewers when I heard backbenchers make $200k a year, not including any loadings or extra incentive based work they do. No wonder we have a country full of garbage politicians (both sides) who wouldn't wanna line there pockets with a salary like that doing fu** all work, promising the world and delivering absolute horse sh*t.

There’s an argument for paying more to attract more capable people. I dont have a strong opinion on it one way or the other but 200k isn’t a huge salary, maybe only to people for whom it would be a pay rise.

History is littered with elites and pedophilia, literally littered all over the internet, we had a island where kids were being molested by the elite for there own pleasure, this is nothing new, it is a fact of this cruel world that the rich, and elite, have constantly throughout history been found guilty of and caught in.

Now I have no idea whether or not pizzagate is legit or not, and neither do you, no proof, or otherwise that Hillary Clinton is involved at all, but to act like this is something that is just so outrageous that you have to be a qanon, or some quack nut job to believe in is simply naive at best.

I am a conspiracy theorists myself of sorts, I don't dive very deeply at all, I read things on both sides, and then I make my opinions, is the thought that this Andrews conspiracy is a complete fabrication, absolutely it is more then likely possible, is it also possible that there is more to the story then the public is led to believe, I bet you 1000% there is more to the story then just a simple fall, now, that doesn't mean I'm saying he was pushed, bashed by some magical unicorns or something, simply stating, there is more to the story then we are being fed.

And as I read tonight, the libs are asking questions, simply because he's been out of work for 3 months, and being paid a salary he therefore shouldn't be getting paid, hence the questions.

Also, I almost dropped my plate of chicken skewers when I heard backbenchers make $200k a year, not including any loadings or extra incentive based work they do. No wonder we have a country full of garbage politicians (both sides) who wouldn't wanna line there pockets with a salary like that doing fu** all work, promising the world and delivering absolute horse sh*t.

And people ask why the libs are pandering to QAnon style dribble, here's your answer.

Too many people today don't need proof to believe the "facts" they want to believe

You’re not going to like the afternoons updates lol... yikes... Twitter going in overdrive - conspiracies have increased after that ambo report...when I thought they’d be shut down.

Wrong date used on the ambulance report of the incident, report says he went to peninsula private but back on his Twitter he was at The Alfred, articles now not matching up with dates and times.

Ps I’m not getting into any sides. Just posting that I thought it would be done with. But it’s clearly not.

His first port of call was Peninsula Private. He then went to the Alfred.

There’s an argument for paying more to attract more capable people. I dont have a strong opinion on it one way or the other but 200k isn’t a huge salary, maybe only to people for whom it would be a pay rise.

I understand the argument but there is very little room for moderates in political parties these days. Not sure these parliamentarians are suffering a huge opportunity cost being paid $200K as a backbencher.

Ideology Is becoming increasingly important and is narrowing (so much for the broad church) so I expect we’d just end up paying a similar group of people more money.

when anyone with knowledge of hospital systems would see that "minor fall resulting in precautionary x-rays to suddenly in intensive care" is a fairly common path for those who get diagnosed with spinal and rib fractures. Multiple rib fracture = risk to breathing from pain and chest infection, spinal fracture - potential risk to spinal cord until proper radiological and clinical evaluation which is beyond resources at small private hospital.

Yes there are paedos. The stupid bit is thinking that Hilary Clinton is running it. People in the public eye like Clinton are followed around 24/7.

People just wanted to link somebody they hated (Clinton) with the worst thing in the world (paedos). But there is ZERO evidence.

Just like this issue. Bloke's broken his back and doesn't want to be in the public eye horizontal in a neck brace (we know how many times the Herald Sun would run that pic).

A bunch of idiots have made up stories they wish were true. Rumours like this will always happen. It's just that if the LNP want to be seen as potentially running a state with a budget of billions they're showing that they'll believe any idiot that comes along. Michael O'Brien's probably sent millions to Nigerian Princes in his day, if he's this gullible and stupid.

Louise Staley probably has 3 Cameroonian husbands she sends money to every week.

This is the best they've got to offer.... really??

Matthew Guy will lead the LNP to their next election loss. Surely it can't be this idiot. In two days he's managed to nail his own coffin over the stupidest issue in the history of stupid political issues. I can only assume his closest advisors are either QAnon idiots, like the PM. Or they're actively knifing him and he's too stupid to realise.

Love it all my concerts being cancelled

******* stop with the lockdowns

Get better contact tracers please and thank you

The contact tracing is world class. It wasn't but it is now. They need to trust it more though.

But yeah, I am pissed off too...have had 3 gigs postponed during this outbreak alone.

The contact tracing is world class. It wasn't but it is now. They need to trust it more though.

But yeah, I am pissed off too...have had 3 gigs postponed during this outbreak alone.

one "good" thing about the events of the last month, is we are beginning to see a pattern of a risk issue.

SA - infected late in HQ, and was too close to release date to test positive
WA - dude tested neg, and then positive
VIC - not confirmed yet, but looks like either a false negative, or another late infection within HQ which was too close to final test to be a positive

just in my ignorant opinion:

- 2 weeks is too tight. with the possibility of cross infection within HQ unavoidable to an absolute degree, 2 weeks is too tight

- post clearance testing cannot be voluntary and must be mandatory

personally I would impose today:
- 2 week hotel quarantine with double sampling/testing for HQ detainees, staff, etc (two samples taken, each tested at a separate lab)
- mandatory home detention after release. tested every 2 days. need three clean tests to be allowed out

one "good" thing about the events of the last month, is we are beginning to see a pattern of a risk issue.

VIC - not confirmed yet, but looks like either a false negative, or another late infection within HQ which was too close to final test to be a positive

- 2 weeks is too tight. with the possibility of cross infection within HQ unavoidable to an absolute degree, 2 weeks is too tight

- 2 week hotel quarantine with double sampling/testing for HQ detainees, staff, etc (two samples taken, each tested at a separate lab)
- mandatory home detention after release. tested every 2 days. need three clean tests to be allowed out

Very good idea i still stand with my idea if you wish to come back, you have to agree to be vaccinated whilst in quarantine, if that means 3 weeks in quarantine so be it, if you are desperate to come back you will accept this no questions asked, if not stay where you are.

Beyond my ranting during this particular lockdown and my belief that Sutton and Co. are cooked mentally now and not making objective decisions the single thing that pisses me off the most is this continual criticism of our contact tracing. This may have been fair 12 months ago but it is patently ignorant now.

The first case had a one week head start given the person selfishly did not get tested and spread this thing everywhere. Until contact tracers are aware of cases there is absolutely nothing they can do. Once identified however, contact tracing teams lock down 3 rings of contacts within something like 72 hours which is quite extraordinary. And they do it with very few errors. Some, but very few considering the volume of data they are working with. It's world class.

Still waiting for the ****er who failed to get tested to be held to account.

McGowan is a flog, but he didn't back off when threats against those who wanted to break the rules, people were sent to the slammer for breaking the rules over there, whilst harsh, pretty much kept people from doing the wrong thing. Given how far in we are with this, time to stop the softly softly bullshit.

Beyond my ranting during this particular lockdown and my belief that Sutton and Co. are cooked mentally now and not making objective decisions the single thing that pisses me off the most is this continual criticism of our contact tracing. This may have been fair 12 months ago but it is patently ignorant now.

The first case had a one week head start given the person selfishly did not get tested and spread this thing everywhere. Until contact tracers are aware of cases there is absolutely nothing they can do. Once identified however, contact tracing teams lock down 3 rings of contacts within something like 72 hours which is quite extraordinary. And they do it with very few errors. Some, but very few considering the volume of data they are working with. It's world class.

I think the issue is it that whilst contact tracing is now up to scratch the government don’t trust it and therefore people assume it’s still no good.

Given the contact tracing has managed to ensure all the cases bobbing up now are already isolated I can’t understand why we need such a slowly, slowly move out of restrictions, yet they will drag it out for months (assuming we don’t have another outbreak before we even get open again).

Still waiting for the f***er who failed to get tested to be held to account.

McGowan is a flog, but he didn't back off when threats against those who wanted to break the rules, people were sent to the slammer for breaking the rules over there, whilst harsh, pretty much kept people from doing the wrong thing. Given how far in we are with this, time to stop the softly softly bullshit.

I get the sentiment but wouldn't that be counter-productive? How would we get the information contact tracers need?

Newscorp article so could be exaggerated but this was the worry with lockdowns and how little thought was given to the mental health impact

news.com.au exaggerate or sensationalise? Colour me shocked. Just a glance at the language used in the headlines on the main page reveals all their "journalism" is only clickbait.

1 case today, was already in iso

agree its improved a lot, but people still blame them for this lockdown which is unfair. if you track the number of sites per day and the number of infections outside iso per day, they were tracking down (showing they were closing the loop)

even now they are blaming HQ, but per my earlier post, its operating under constraints that make 100% nearly impossible to achieve

*and FTR, even if the delta case did come from nsw, it wasnt being tagged as due to a failure of their system. the two possible theories were either a late infection in quarantine (as has happened elsewhere) or someone breaching home quarantine who was infected.