Vic How would you rate Daniel Andrews' performance as Victorian Premier? - Part 4

you may wanna steer clear of the camera at warrigal road and bateford road - 40 zone 8am-8pm, at the bottom of a hill, and the thing is friggin deadly (number one tin rattler in the state)
A colleague of mine has been caught on either Warrigal or Huntingdale rd a couple times. I drive 5km under the limit around the known spots in my area.

1/ What are the mental health stats in countries/cities with huge outbreaks?

2/ Maybe get Morrison to actually do his job and get the states to agree national standards on border closures/border openings/lockdowns/vaccinations etc.

Victoria cannot exist in a silo

the national standards for lockdown is a furphy

the states wouldnt agree to it for one reason - scomo is openly a "live with the virus" advocate, so the minute they sign on we will not have a lockdown until the shit reaches UK levels of ****ed.

unfortunately our federation works against i would have done, which is create a lockdown committee. five people, repping feds, states, health, business, and cops make the call, and all have to obey. the latter would never happen hear, as someone like "SHUT THE BORDER" in WA would go rogue.

the national standards for lockdown is a furphy

the states wouldnt agree to it for one reason - scomo is openly a "live with the virus" advocate, so the minute they sign on we will not have a lockdown until the sh*t reaches UK levels of f’ed.

unfortunately our federation works against i would have done, which is create a lockdown committee. five people, repping feds, states, health, business, and cops make the call, and all have to obey. the latter would never happen hear, as someone like "SHUT THE BORDER" in WA would go rogue.

So Morrison could not get it done?

Noone ever said the vaccine had no side effects. Heck, you can get knocked around with the flu vax.

What happens is risk is managed. If you have health issues that mean az isn't good for you, you don't get it. Thats why the gp or nurse spends several minutes asking you questions and making sure you aren't a high risk candidate.

As someone who had Pfizer I can tell you that pretty much had me on a couch for the entire weekend.

Education is supposed to be about informing, not scaremongering. The govt messaging has improved, but it did allow tabloid media to fill the gap for a couple or months (they basically stopped most media after initial launch for some baffling reason).

We can't wind back the clock, so we need to work with our combined approach. Personally I'd do the following:

1) anyone who has a vaccine will have any side effects covered 100% my Medicare - no gap or co-pay.

2) anyone who wants to get a gp consultation in advance to ensure they have no risk issues for either vaccine can have one bulk billed entirely. Combine this with a health check (which most fail to do), and you're killing two birds with one stone.
There should be greater incentive to be vaccinated, whether that be financial and/or exemption from some lockdown measures. There's no excuse to keep international borders closed to people who are fully vaccinated afaic.

Those incentives could only work IF the vaccine roll out had sufficient supply for all members of the community. At the moment we have a surplus of supply of AZ (for people 50+), but not enough Pfizer to go around for those >50.

I would've happily stood in line for 8+ hours to get a vaccine if I was eligible in this most recent outbreak, but not eligible.

Based off the information provided in the news article ( I can't seem to find the original report) the data is from December 1st 2020 to May 31st 2021. The majority of that time Victoria was open.

Based off my information the increase for these calls would include:
  • Higher awareness of Kids Help Line as a resource for youth as it was regularly shared by schools & teachers in 2020 (as an alternative for conversations that may've normally happened at school)
  • Anxiety & Stress regarding "returning" to a COVID normal world, especially during the three separate education periods in that time (Dec 2020, Feb 2021 (twice)) where face masks were required in the classroom. The rules regarding masks in class changed four days for Victorian students in the first 6 weeks of Term 1.
  • Anxiety & Stress related to the "rules" of returning to the classroom. Speak to any teenager & ask their opinions on school uniforms and the mobile phone ban in classrooms. Young people became more comfortable with learning from home last year without these rules that are now put in place.

This sharp spike is related to the post-COVID lag rather than Lockdown 4.0--- you just need to look at the whole article beyond the clickbait headline.
I know of several examples of school refusal and other mental health issues propping up in young people after the extended lockdown last year.

The 'saving lives at all costs' speel we've been fed should at least be challenged.

Hmmm hearing rumours that DD was actually bashed by Luke Sayers for groping his young daughter's friend... None of us actually believe the "fell down some stairs" story do we? Jeepers. If it walks like a total sleaze and talks like a total sleaze...

I heard he is a lizard man and he ate another lizards food. Lizard fights are brutal.

....I think you must be the last person in Victoria to hear about this. It's a conspiracy theory that's been going around since March with no evidence to support the claim and plenty of people of influence denying it or prepared to challenge it in the courts.

Those incentives could only work IF the vaccine roll out had sufficient supply for all members of the community. At the moment we have a surplus of supply of AZ (for people 50+), but not enough Pfizer to go around for those >50.

I would've happily stood in line for 8+ hours to get a vaccine if I was eligible in this most recent outbreak, but not eligible.
Fair enough. I'm booked in for my first shot next month.

Irrespective of roll out failures, I don't see why we can't further incentivize the vaccine. There's a lot of complacency from people who are happy to wait and see whether we grow third eyes before stepping up.

Fair enough. I'm booked in for my first shot next month.

Irrespective of roll out failures, I don't see why we can't further incentivize the vaccine. There's a lot of complacency from people who are happy to wait and see whether we grow third eyes before stepping up.

There's already generational tension on this issue, especially from the younger generation who believe that boomers are being selfish and f***ing it up for all of us by not doing what is expected of them.

People like myself can't currently get the jab, imagine if we're still unable to get the jab but incentives are being provided to older people who aren't lining up in droves to do the right thing. There would be massive frustrations against any government that provides an additional incentive to vaccinate until it's equitable for all generations.

....I think you must be the last person in Victoria to hear about this. It's a conspiracy theory that's been going around since March with no evidence to support the claim and plenty of people of influence denying it or prepared to challenge it in the courts.
Interestingly, the word from cops on the beat is the opposite from the cop at the top.

But that’s just gossip. I have no direct knowledge.

Interestingly, the word from cops on the beat is the opposite from the cop at the top.

But that’s just gossip. I have no direct knowledge.

Considering it’s been circulating since March, don’t you think there would be more evidence to support this wild claim by now?

Or have we resorted to spreading gossip rather than acknowledging facts like the suburb that Ambulance Victoria published that they attended to Andrew’s at differs from this Facebook propaganda?

Well listen mate, it's probably BS, but anyone who believes he "fell down some stairs" during the greatest scandal of his career (and he's had plenty of doozies) can call me a Nigerian prince and buy a bridge off me in Sydney.

I'm shocked that you would peddle such qanon nuttery FK.

Well listen mate, it's probably BS, but anyone who believes he "fell down some stairs" during the greatest scandal of his career (and he's had plenty of doozies) can call me a Nigerian prince and buy a bridge off me in Sydney.

Remind me what “scandal” was Andrew’s dealing with when it occurred?

Andrew had just successfully navigated the Australian Open, lifting restrictions with pace after a minor circuit breaker in Feb. The opinion polls were in his favour and all the political media attention was focused on the Federal government’s handling of Christian Porter’s historical rape allegations.

Maybe you need to trust the information provided that makes logical sense than thinking everything is a conspiracy theory

People are saying that you welched on the last bridge deal.

Remind me what “scandal” was Andrew’s dealing with when it occurred?

Andrew had just successfully navigated the Australian Open, lifting restrictions with pace after a minor circuit breaker in Feb. The opinion polls were in his favour and all the political media attention was focused on the Federal government’s handling of Christian Porter’s historical rape allegations.

Maybe you need to trust the information provided that makes logical sense than thinking everything is a conspiracy theory
Minor circuit breaker? He’d incarcerated a city based on an outbreak that never broke out!

Im old enough to remember when that sort of thing was frowned upon by a free populace.

There's already generational tension on this issue, especially from the younger generation who believe that boomers are being selfish and f***ing it up for all of us by not doing what is expected of them.

People like myself can't currently get the jab, imagine if we're still unable to get the jab but incentives are being provided to older people who aren't lining up in droves to do the right thing. There would be massive frustrations against any government that provides an additional incentive to vaccinate until it's equitable for all generations.
Maybe we “older people” regard with suspicion “scientists” who trot out lie after lie to justify an ever changing set of criteria and an ever extending grab of central power with no commitment to an end if we do “the right thing”.

I got the jab, but I was not one bit happy about it.

Minor circuit breaker? He’d incarcerated a city based on an outbreak that never broke out!

Im old enough to remember when that sort of thing was frowned upon by a free populace.

Nice deflection—- but still no evidence of the “biggest scandal” of Andrews career or to support this conspiracy theory that’s been around since March.

Some People need to stop trying to make fake drama for the sake of it.

Maybe we “older people” regard with suspicion “scientists” who trot out lie after lie to justify an ever changing set of criteria and an ever extending grab of central power with no commitment to an end if we do “the right thing”.

So “lie after lie” by scientists is bad, but “lie after lie” by BigFooty posters is ok?

Scientists are fine. The pollies are the problem.