I know I'm obsessed with the draft but....

junior27

Sep 16, 2004
Surely now some of the out of contract stars such as the Nick Del Santo's, Brad Green's and Brendan Fevola's will be looking at the Hawks as a side to switch to if any negotiations break down with their existing clubs as they are playing a dedicated brand of footy and are hearing only good things about Alastair Clarkeson.

How good would it be to pick up one of the first two names on that list and only losing Barker and Holland, Ries, Greene, Clarke, Dixon. Keep our early pick and hopefully get the best available player in the draft as we still lack atleast one player in the midfield and a tall backman. Franklin and Roughead are hopefully going to be the forward line stalwarts of the next ten years.

Collingwood will definatley have 2 picks in the top 3 from what we have seen so far and we can only hope they pick up a couple of goats as they always do

Any other big names out of contract bar these three and Whitnall, Camporeale (please stay away from Glenferrie as you won't be at Optus Oval next year) ????

We need to draft a young ruckman to replace Spida a Tall Full Forward and a Full back/CHB.Then Hay could take the BP and Croad the HBF and Little and Williams the FPs.

Hawk Dork said:
We need to draft a young ruckman to replace Spida a Tall Full Forward and a Full back/CHB.Then Hay could take the BP and Croad the HBF and Little and Williams the FPs.

I think that Justin Longmuire from Fremantle could be a nice replacement for Everitt. Could Jon Hay get his wish of returning to Perth for Longmuire and a draft pick. I used to be a big fan of Hay's but if he doesn't work on his skill level he needs to be moved on even though we will be short a defensive tall. If we are to trade him it has to be while he is still of value to someone.
I am now of the belief that he is very much overrated.

Essendon also have quite a few ruckmen in Laycock, Cartelidge, Hille and may be willing to part with one of them should the right kinda deal be presented.

"I know I'm obsessed with the draft but.... "

I'm obsessed with it too.

The draft that is, not trading for cast-off's, higher paid seeking merc's or blokes that are homesick.

The excitement atm is being generated by Roughead, Franklin, Lewis, Brown and a bloke called HODGE.

All of them, drafted (albeit Hodge came about by having to trade for him). Trade for draft picks? If it's a player that's eager to leave/struggling, ok. I can wear it.

Trading draft picks? Different story altogether.

They trade out of our first round selection for the likes of names being bandied about on here I'll ... I'll be gutted.

Grendel said:

The draft that is, not trading for cast-off's, higher paid seeking merc's or blokes that are homesick.

The excitement atm is being generated by Roughead, Franklin, Lewis, Brown and a bloke called HODGE.

All of them, drafted (albeit Hodge came about by having to trade for him). Trade for draft picks? If it's a player that's eager to leave/struggling, ok. I can wear it.

They trade out of our first round selection for the likes of names being bandied about on here I'll ... I'll be gutted.

Amen to that!

We've got to break clear of this trading high picks for established players notion.

A player like Dal Santo is great, but it should be noted that had St Kilda traded away that pick for him a few years ago, they'd be ruing it bigtime!

Do you think that the Bulldogs aren't feeling bruised for efffectively trading away Kepler Bradley for Jade Rawlings?

We've got to maintain faith with our (long overdue) youth direction and back ourselves as a club to get over 50% of draftees playing top flight football.

I guess the concern with trading for an established player is..... will they be past their prime when the Hawks are challenging for the flag? I have no problem with adding a few pieces to the puzzle , but to trade for a highly paid marquee type player, you would have to be pretty sure they would still be of some value come 2008 or there abouts , when it counts. If we traded for Fev or Tarrant at year's end, would they actually help us in 3-4 years time?? I'm thinking of Holland's demise over the past few years and I would tread very carefully.

I say stick with the youngsters and trade for experience (only if required)when we are a little closer to have a crack at the big one!

I'm confident the powers that be at Hawthorn are on the right track.

If you boys are seriously thinking that we'd be better off without a del santo, green or fevola then i dont know what ur smoking. Fair Dinkum those 3 are quality and the chances of us drafting one that good at pick 5 or 6 is stupendous. WE need some established players, premiership teams have balance. Every team that has won a premiership has had a few experienced players, exciting players, young players, talls, smalls and a stand out captain.

I would happily give away top 10 draft pick for Nick Dalsanto. In Dalsanto we get a gurantee gun and a player fo rthe next 12 years, while the draft pick will give us excitemnet its still a bit of a unkown.

Dal Santo is a star.

Jimmyboy9 said:
If you boys are seriously thinking that we'd be better off without a del santo, green or fevola then i dont know what ur smoking. Fair Dinkum those 3 are quality and the chances of us drafting one that good at pick 5 or 6 is stupendous. WE need some established players, premiership teams have balance. Every team that has won a premiership has had a few experienced players, exciting players, young players, talls, smalls and a stand out captain.

Mate! we're breeding our own Dal Santo's , Greens and Fevolas , no need to to pinch them from other teams. We'll have ours in a couple of years. Just you wait , then enjoy the ride!!

this year , all i expected from hawthorn was being competitive ..
instead of being beaten weekly by 8 + goals , i hoped we could hold our heads up and lower that to an average of 0 - 4 goals ..
so far we have done just that ...

i will be a bit more critical next year ...
thats when we should be pushing for a finals berth with the year after being a top 4 side and hopefully a flag between 2007 and 2010 ...

Grendel said:

here, here.

I know I'm obsessed with the draft but....