If Hawthorn dont win the Flag is it the biggest Waste of a Season ever?

Is it the biggest waste of a season ever?

• Yes

Votes: 28 26.9%
  • No

Votes: 77 74.0%

Self-proclaimed? Can you provide any quotes?

Hawthorn and Sydney are a level above IMO and would beat Adelaide fairly comfortably. Said it before the QF and even got (partially) my own thread on the Adelaide board! :) http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/the-anti-crows-thread.970393/
I believe Hawthorn are. But not Sydney. Dont get me wrong they are a quality side. But at the G Hawthorn would beat them comfortably I think. (Yet I would be hoping I was wrong)

Why doesn't anyone acknowledge how good Sydney are?

Seriously, Hawthorn only got over them in the last couple minutes 3 weeks ago... Seriously good side with guns on almost every line.

But if someone like Adelaide or Collingwood were to take it out I would be pretty underwhelmed.

I'm sure by now people acknowledge us, but our MCG struggles would rightly give people doubt. Hell, it doesn't fill me with any confidence. Not that I'm even thinking that far.

Absolutely...

Wouldn't be the biggest single season choke ever, but the Hawks have 3 seasons of self- proclaimed excellence squandered preceding them.

2008 was pegged as the start of a dynasty.

3 years of un- fulfilled promise and shallow excuses later, and the Hawks have finally started living up to the hype.

Won the minor premiership, won more games than anyone else, had a % and avg. winning margin greater than Geelong in 2007, an attack noone can contain, the best player in the competition etc.

Premiership favourites for 2012 from the moment the final siren went in last years Preliminary Final loss v. Collingwood.

Anything but a GF win is failure... again.

They only have a greater % and winning margin because of gold coast and gws, if geelong had them in 07 then it would be different.. hawks should take it easy, but depends who they play against really. swans would choke them bad

Carlton may of expected top4. But the rest of the footy world expected nothing more than what was delivered...

Umm no go check the final ladders predictions from last year. Most people predicted Carlton to finish top four or at least contest for it and many people in the media predicted us to win the flag.

Will be an epic failure to put lightly.

They are by far the most clear and certain contenders. All others with a shot have their issues. Their supporters have been pumping themselves into a frenzy which doenst help either.

785096-geelong.jpg

These guys would wave and say hi, but they're too busy wondering "how the f*** did we lose that game??"

Is that the weapon??

The 2008 was equivalent to the baby bombers of 93. They were not expected to go all the way yet delivered when it mattered. The performances to date by the HFC are about right, when considering our plight in 2004. It would be a disappointment but not the end of the world. A premiership however will sting opposition. Could be a flag in every decade for 6 decades straight! Time will tell.

KOLOKOTRONIS

No offence mate but this thread is utterly ridiculous.

Hawthorn is a side that came into this season having won 1 final in 3 years. After a handful of rounds we were not even in the 8 (having lost more than won) and about halfway through we were 6th, coming off a ten goal loss to Richmond (hell, even Essendon were 4 spots higher).

Sure, Hawthorn ended up nabbing the minor premiership, on percentage only, after taking top spot for the first time at the conclusion of round 22, following a mammoth 1 goal win (I'm pretty sure Carlton and Essendon spent as much/more time on top). In the last round, finishing 4th was still a distinct possibility in one of the most even seasons in a long long time (3 wins seperated 1st and 8th). As minor premier, Hawthorn actually won less games than they did the year before, when they didn't even make the GF.

Now you are trying to suggest we are further in front than any team ever?

Just last year, the reigning premier won 20 games (3 more than Hawthorn this year), finished wins and percentage clear of second, wrapped up the minor premiership with a round to spare and didn't win the flag.

2 years before that, St Kilda didn't lose a match until round 19, had top spot from round 3 until the end of the season, won 20 matches and were two wins and nearly 30% clear of second.

The year before was Geelong of '08.

Basically favouritism now means jack and Hawthorn are closer to the pack than nearly any other minor premier in history.

I don't know why hawk supporters keep responding to this thread - I called it a troll early and a look at the ongoing responses from the op only confirms this. The lined between the mb and b13 have becoming Increasingly blurry over the last 12 or so months.

No, it wouldn't be. Hawthorn's best is about three goals ahead of everyone else, I think. That makes Geelong (2008), Essendon (1999) and North (1998) much bigger wastes of talent than anything Hawthorn has knit together.

Please...

Essendon won one more game but had a far inferior percentage, North Melbourne finished with one less win also with a far inferior percentage.

If there is a team I think this Hawthorn team reminds me of, its the Geelong 1992 side. That side won 16 games, had a percentage of 145% and had a forward line with similar scoring power to Hawthorn.

If Hawthorn loss the flag this year, it could be eerily similar to Geelong in 1992.

Its ironic but in more ways than one, the great Hawthorn and Geelong sides of the 1980s and 1990s seemed to be reversed.

I'll pay Geelong in 08. But in 2005 Adelaide and Sydney were at least on par with West Coast and Poort had to deal with arguably the best side of all time...

Arguably the best side of all time? My god.

Did you miss the 80's and early 90's mate?

At their best Hawthorn have looked head and shoulders above anyone else in the competition this year. Realistically though it's been a very close year with 3 games separating the top 8 and the Hawks have looked vulnerable in some games. Had Essendon not won the flag in 2000 I would have said that was a waste of a season but very few, if any, teams have displayed that sort of dominance in the last 20-odd years.

I hate the implication that anyone who finishes top 2 and does not reach the GF has somehow 'choked'.

The Hawks are still the clear favourite IMO but it is quite reaonable to say any of the remaining 6 teams have a realistic chance of making the GF. Until the weekend many thought Geelong were also still a great chance.... now isn't that a great thing about our game rather than an opportunity to kick a team in the guts?

I agree that was a waste. But please dont deflect from the thread topic...:thumbsu:

Please start the thread in the right forum area next time you want to make a pitiful attempt at a troll...:thumbsu:

Mods should shift this to the bay where there are another 100 threads trying to suggest Hawthorn are in the process of a choke.

Why if Adelaide are gonna take it out they would have to travel to the G and beat the 'self proclaimed' 'invincible Hawks'!

Self proclaimed?? Where?? Take it to the bay fool. I can not wait to meet you guys in the PF, should you not CHOKE and go out in straight sets with 2 home finals. No pressure Adelaide, none at all. Don't choke now! Chokers!

The OP much like the Essendon flog's thread last week about Geelong waiting for the Hawks, is a desperate plea for someone to beat the Hawks. Let's hope the mods don't close this as quickly as they closed the thread on Saturday when Geelogn departed. It no coincidence that Geelong flogs swarmed to this thread from the outset.

For many opposition fans who can't stand the Hawks they have no more excuses or hooks to lay their hat on. They have come to the unsavoury realisation and this is all that is left.

Let's hope the mods who allow these trolling threads don't shut this one just as quick on Friday.

If Hawthorn dont win the Flag is it the biggest Waste of a Season ever?