InVisyble Judd *MB Thread*

Re: InVisyble Judd

And what did he do for Medibank? What do most sportsmen do for their additional income? What did Buckley do for his Adidas money - a company who also sponsored Collingwood?

I mean think about it FFS. Are you guys seriously that naive that you expect him to have a 38hr a week role? The guy is payed that much beause he is Chris Judd the footballer... just like every other sports star in the world he actually does very little day to day.

Those other deals would be equally dodgy if the compensation is not commensurate with the level of activity required of the player.

Earning $50K for turning up once a week for a couple of hours is a world away from earning $1M for doing 4-5 hours one week or nothing for the next few (as Judd advised to Sheahan).

Paying "overs" suggests that the extra money is paid to you in lieu of income via the club in an obvious attempt to get around the salary cap.

That's what you would expect from Carlton, by the way. They have form. If it's a balance of probabilities, they will lose.

When free agency comes in, these types of employment deals should be a thing of the past.

I'm not a fan of Mark Robinson at all, but employment/sponsorship from a club affiliate, as Robinson has mentioned, should be baned or the salary cap will become pointless.

His Joel Selwood example is a classic case in point. How can the AFL say "Nah, that role is only worth $100,000 p.a. not $500,000 p.a."? You're just opening up a can of worms.

So in the same sense all he has to do is have his mug on a few things recycling, the odd appearance and he's done his job relative to every other sportsman in the world.

Again, legitimacy is the question here. It's understandable that a footwear company would pay Bucks to wear their shoes during a football game.

When the club president's company pays Judd to . . . well, nobody's sure what he does . . . it's very suss.

I think Grant Thomas called it a load of garbage on Footy Classified last night, and there were little snickers all round as the deal was discussed. It's the joke of the AFL.

In the same sense he has to actually advertise the brand. People have to actually associate him with Visy through direct and prominent endorsement.
How is his work for Visy helping them sell their cardboard boxes or whatever the **** they even make? Do you contend he is bringing in more money to Visy than they pay him? Do you even bother contending it's Visy paying him at the end of the day?

He is environmental ambassador, so he promotes Visy environmental programs, not Visy products.

Those other deals would be equally dodgy if the compensation is not commensurate with the level of activity required of the player.

Earning $50K for turning up once a week for a couple of hours is a world away from earning $1M for doing 4-5 hours one week or nothing for the next few (as Judd advised to Sheahan).

If those deals were equally as dodgey then you would expect every club to have equally as dodgey deals with players. If you want to complain about the system then go for it... but to level everything at Carlton and Judd makes no sense.

Silly way to think about sportsmens endorsements though. Most get paid for doing SFA. Do you think Jordan's millions from Nike were commensurate with his level of activity? Of course not, not by your standards anyway. As elite articipants of their chosen sport they align their very famous face with a product/service. Happens all over the world.

Again, legitimacy is the question here. It's understandable that a footwear company would pay Bucks to wear their shoes during a football game.

When the club president's company pays Judd to . . . well, nobody's sure what he does . . . it's very suss.

I think Grant Thomas called it a load of garbage on Footy Classified last night, and there were little snickers all round as the deal was discussed. It's the joke of the AFL.

Grant Thomas ay :cool:

Judd was well known as an environmentally concious AFL player while at WCE. His role is a perfect match. What did Nathan Thompson have to do with V-Line or Joel Selwood with banking? Put it in context please.

It's about the amount they receive being equivalent to the amount they do for it.

Selwood is on an amount that is commensurate with the work he is expected to do, which is all documented in the agreement.

In keeping with North's image, the handful of tickets to Mildura that Nathan Thompson received were commensurate with the value of his work (rubbish commentator too, by the way - arguably, he should be sponsored by Sorbent now).

The extent of Judd's environmental consciousness seems to be that he drives a hybrid (supplied by his clubs sponsor).

Nothwithstanding his consciousness (which is irrelevant, really) the amount he receives is excessive for the amount of work he does (ofr more correctly, doesn't) do.

He even admits that there is no set amount of work he should do, as per his agreement with them. This is where the rorting is happening.

Not that we should be surprised that Carlton is behind it.

He was rather unequivocal on the subject. The lack of any counter argument suggested that the panel was unanimous, and I'd suggest the majority of the football public is too.

Joel Selwood won the NAB Rising Star dude . . . and Nathan Thompson does good work for the V/Line Depression program, after his own battle with the black dog.

The Judd cap dodge is highly suspect because of the provider. You know the lid has been lifted when even the media speak out over Judd's dodgy deal.

Joel Selwood won the NAB Rising Star dude . . . and Nathan Thompson does good work for the V/Line Depression program, after his own battle with the black dog.
Baahaha... Joel Selwood is qualified to represent a bank because he won an award they sponsored. Staggering!

The Judd cap dodge is highly suspect because of the provider. You know the lid has been lifted when even the media speak out over Judd's dodgy deal.
Coz the media are just the bomb aint they :rolleyes:

Baahaha... Joel Selwood is qualified to represent a bank because he won an award they sponsored. Staggering!

I understand that you haven't been to the G much lately, but there are posters of Joel Selwood up everywhere. He's used as the face of a NAB AFL Development Program or somesuch.

Coz the media are just the bomb aint they :rolleyes:

They protect Juddy to the hilt and never miss an opportunity to glamorise him. Unfortunately nobody had a word to say in defence of Juddy's dodgy deal, and you know Judd's struggling when even Garry Lyon thinks it's suss.

It's about the amount they receive being equivalent to the amount they do for it.

Once again, explain how Jordon put in all that time for his millions. Wake up princess... this is not an uncommon phenomenon in AFL or the world of proffesional sports. Many sportsmen have roles they do next to nothing in and recieve a healthy pay packet for it.

Selwood is on an amount that is commensurate with the work he is expected to do, which is all documented in the agreement.

In keeping with North's image, the handful of tickets to Mildura that Nathan Thompson received were commensurate with the value of his work.
Really? Please detail the payments and working requirements and compare them to Judd's. Thing is you can't. I guess we're talking about the suspicions you have as opposed to anything genuinely real. Wow. Go figure... another whinging about Carlton with nothing much to base it on.

The extent of Judd's environmental consciousness seems to be that he drives a hybrid (supplied by his clubs sponsor).

He always promoted environmental awareness when at the Eagles and well known for doing so too. Of all the AFL players, Judd was a perfect fit for the job. Sorry if this fact bothers you.

Not that we should be surprised that Carlton is behind it.

Bingo. Here's the issue.

I understand that you haven't been to the G much lately, but there are posters of Joel Selwood up everywhere. He's used as the face of a NAB AFL Development Program or somesuch.

Yes... he promotes the NAB Auskick program, as distinct from his ambassadorial role. I guess if Visy sponsored the AFL you'd see the same at the 'G' for Judd. I suppose some need it right under their noses such in the self-centric nature of today's world.

Interesting to see player managers quiet on this one. They'll tell you it is standard package to get their players an ambassador gig.

They protect Juddy to the hilt and never miss an opportunity to glamorise him. Unfortunately nobody had a word to say in defence of Juddy's dodgy deal, and you know Judd's struggling when even Garry Lyon thinks it's suss.

Blah blah blah! I guess it's hard to defend against the attacker when no one knows what the deal is. Attacking holes is pretty easy, as GT would know. Personally I wish Judd/Visy would come out and declare the role and payments and the AFL enforce the requirement of every player to do the same. I'm sure that would open a few eyes around these parts.

He always promoted environmental awareness when at the Eagles and well known for doing so too. Of all the AFL players, Judd was a perfect fit for the job. Sorry if this fact bothers you.

He's known for many things in WA. EA isn't one of the prominent ones.

Not our fault god put trees and dolphins etc on top of our mines before we had a chance to dig it all up and flog it to the Chinese

He is environmental ambassador, so he promotes Visy environmental programs, not Visy products.

Ergo, the analogy you drew between that and normal endorsements (such as adidas) is moronic.

An environmental ambassador needs to work harder to be of any use to the environment than does you're average sports star to be of great use to sports brands.

But you already understood that perfectly well, didn't you?
So go on, say some other disingenuous piece of pap to pretend to prolong the charade. I promise to do my bit and pretend to believe you're stupid enough to believe Judd earns the money from his Visy contract with services rendered to Visy.

Ergo, the analogy you drew between that and normal endorsements (such as adidas) is moronic.

The Adidas thing was brought up in response to a claim that players don't have sponorship deals with their club's sponsor.

An environmental ambassador needs to work harder to be of any use to the environment than does you're average sports star to be of great use to sports brands.

Why should he work harder? Because it sounds to you like it should be more demanding? How hard did he work for Medibank? How hard does Selwood work for NAB? How hard do any of the hundreds of players who have non-sports aligned sponsorship/ambassador roles work? Mostly it's a lend your face type of affair. Why suddenly is Judd meant to putting in more time than everyone else?

The Adidas thing was brought up in response to a claim that players don't have sponorship deals with their club's sponsor.
Yes it was. Completely disingenuously.

Why should he work harder?
Because it's not just a matter of renting out his image. He's not selling sport's gear with his face. He's not even appearing on advertisements for a non sports company, he's getting paid multiples of what that would bring to be some sort of fruity "ambassador" for the environment.
Where's the return?
How is what he's doing for Visy worth Visy's paycheck?
If this money they spent was actually about helping the environment, how is giving it to Judd instead of Greenpeace not a sackable offence?
If this money is about making profit for Visy how does that even work?

Not our fault god put trees and dolphins etc on top of our mines before we had a chance to dig it all up and flog it to the Chinese
Is that you Peter Garrett? :D

Yes... he promotes the NAB Auskick program, as distinct from his ambassadorial role. I guess if Visy sponsored the AFL you'd see the same at the 'G' for Judd. I suppose some need it right under their noses such in the self-centric nature of today's world.

Joel's role in promoting the NAB is a very credible one. Even Luke Power getting in a koala suit and doing ads for the Bank of Queensland looks fine. Getting money from your president's company for . . . who knows . . . looks highly suspect, and is.

Interesting to see player managers quiet on this one. They'll tell you it is standard package to get their players an ambassador gig.

Really not interested in what the player managers have to say, they have a vested interest . . .

Blah blah blah! I guess it's hard to defend against the attacker when no one knows what the deal is. Attacking holes is pretty easy, as GT would know. Personally I wish Judd/Visy would come out and declare the role and payments and the AFL enforce the requirement of every player to do the same. I'm sure that would open a few eyes around these parts.

Everybody knows that there are extra payments made to players, especially those to players at their own club.

None rate as obviously dodgy as Judd's deal with VISY.

The lid has been lifted on Judd's dodgy deal now, the only question is why the AFL allowed it?

The theory going around in the Melbourne media is that it was passed as a means to stave off free agency for a little while longer.

So it is the AFL to blame and yet you hold Visy Judd and CFC up as the scapegoats.

Scapegoats for what?

VISY, Judd and CFC are only doing what is in their best interests.

The AFL is to blame in the sense that they shouldn't allow such obvious rule-bending. Are they doing it to try and get Carlton in the finals? Is it to keep free agency away? Who knows? The Demetriou administration has always been putting the AFL dollar ahead of fair competition.

Because it's not just a matter of renting out his image. He's not selling sport's gear with his face. He's not even appearing on advertisements for a non sports company, he's getting paid multiples of what that would bring to be some sort of fruity "ambassador" for the environment.
Where's the return?

Why is it not renting his image? Of course there is a little more to it and Judd has put in appearances in his role, but simply all sportsmen get these deals due to their image, not what they can do. Judd's image was a an environmentally concious AFL player.

The return is right here in this thread I reckon. Who the hell knew Visy had an environmental program running. We all sure do now don't we ;)

How is what he's doing for Visy worth Visy's paycheck?
If this money they spent was actually about helping the environment, how is giving it to Judd instead of Greenpeace not a sackable offence?
If this money is about making profit for Visy how does that even work?
The help for the environment comes from raising awareness of Visy's environmental products/programs. Not really Greenpeace's cup of tea.

How is Joel Selwood making a profit for NAB? Or how did Thompson make money for V-Line, or Judd for Medibank? Don't play games mate, look at comparable situations and ask the same question. Seems this a complaint against what the AFL allow rather than the something specifically Judd that everyone is dripping tears over. And in that case have no doubt that the same deals would have been done for Hawthorn players.

Joel's role in promoting the NAB is a very credible one. Even Luke Power getting in a koala suit and doing ads for the Bank of Queensland looks fine. Getting money from your president's company for . . . who knows . . . looks highly suspect, and is.

So Luke Power in a Koala suit is acceptable. We should let Visy know to get Judd to do this for a 30min photoshoot and all will be fine. Sounds like the rest of your theories on Judd.

Luke Power's ad sounds like a sound financial transaction . . .

Bank of Queensland . . . he plays for Brisbane . . . and he uses his image to promote the bank.

Chris Judd . . . he plays for Carlton . . . Carlton are run by Pratt/VISY . . . Judd gets money from VISY instead of directly from the club.

Obvious.

InVisyble Judd *MB Thread*