Is anyone game enough to start a thread about Darren Millane's story in The Age ?

Down At Gillon

Aug 24, 2009
North Old Boys
Guess it will be me then.....

Come on Collingwood people, I think 20 years is long enough for this bloke to be up on the pedestal he has been. The mere questioning of anything to do with Darren Millane is akin to killing Bambi, such is the folklore that now surrounds him. Well done for locking the jumper up when you did, because he was a pretty good player, and obviously a premiership player to boot, but come on, enough is enough.

Let's compare him with one of our great champions, Peter Crimmins. A model citizen both on and off the field. A premiership player, and a heart so big it didn't belong in a body that small. He died of cancer, not in a self inflicted car crash with a blood alcohol level of .322. We retired his jumper until either of his boys took it, or until they decided to hand it on. They did that years ago, and the first recipient couldn't have been more worthy. They haven't been downright selfish like Millane's Mum and kept it in mothballs. Crazy.

By all means honour him with statues, and membership clubs and posters, but it's time to let it go.

Is this shit really necessary?

And to then turn it into a feeble "my Club's Mums are better than your Club's Mums" is actually quite sickening.

Collingwood passed 70,000 members today - and every one of them is looking for you now.....

I know where you are coming from, in terms of the rather inflated status that Millaine has achieved through his death, however you've been a bit, well harsh in your delivery.

His legend is a bit exaggerated, but really, it is Collingwood's business what they do with their own. If they wanted to mothball it for twenty years, all power to them.

Come on Collingwood people, I think 20 years is long enough for this bloke to be up on the pedestal he has been. The mere questioning of anything to do with Darren Millane is akin to killing Bambi, such is the folklore that now surrounds him. Well done for locking the jumper up when you did, because he was a pretty good player, and obviously a premiership player to boot, but come on, enough is enough.

Let's compare him with one of our great champions, Peter Crimmins. A model citizen both on and off the field. A premiership player, and a heart so big it didn't belong in a body that small. He died of cancer, not in a self inflicted car crash with a blood alcohol level of .322. We retired his jumper until either of his boys took it, or until they decided to hand it on. They did that years ago, and the first recipient couldn't have been more worthy. They haven't been downright selfish like Millane's Mum and kept it in mothballs. Crazy.

By all means honour him with statues, and membership clubs and posters, but it's time to let it go.

Are you seriously comparing one man's death to another? Just because of how they died does not mean that either man was loved more or less by their friends, family and supporters. And a club can choose how to honour one if its own how it sees fit.

If the circumstances of his death were discussed in a mature fashion I don't think people would have much of an issue.

Fact is his name is usually only brought up in the middle of a shitfight though and I reckon that's pretty poor form.

I am not in favour of any number being reserved in perpetuity for any reason.

For a period of time, sure, if the club think's it's necessary, but it's ridiculous to hold a number forever.

If this doesn't get a red carded there's something wrong, blatent trolling on the main board, very very poor taste as well, hope you're proud of yourself. :thumbsdown:

If this does't get a red carded there's something wrong, blatent trolling on the main board, very very poor taste as well, hope you're proud of yourself. :thumbsdown:

How is it trolling, could say plenty harsher things about him and let's be honest would be pretty close to the truth.

For a period of time, sure, if the club think's it's necessary, but it's ridiculous to hold a number forever.

I don't think the club wants to use the number anymore, too much baggage, Darrens family want the number to stay retired, end of....

How is it trolling, could say plenty harsher things about him and let's be honest would be pretty close to the truth.

How isn't it trolling?, do you really think the OPs after a meaningfull debate?, there are some places you just don't go, if a Collingwood fan wants to bring it up then fine, but only on our board or nicks.

If this does't get a red carded there's something wrong, blatent trolling on the main board, very very poor taste as well, hope you're proud of yourself. :thumbsdown:
Oh so everything that you don't agree with deserves a red card hey ? Grab a tissue and grow up mate.

Did I say I hated the guy ? No. Did I say he was over-rated ? No. If I did, then sure, give me whatever coloured card you want. I am talking about the fact that his legend status is not deserved any more than what Daicos, Brown or even Shaw should be.

And for all those potting me for "bringing up the topic". Grab a copy of today's Age. The story is staring you right in the face. It's not like I brought the story back from nowhere to stir the pot. It's made the news, and i am simply giving an opinion on it. That's what BigFooty is all about isn't it. Read some of the comments online too, because I'm not the only one who feels it's all a bit out of proportion.

I agree that the OP has gone about this thread the wrong way.

No need to kind of denigrate Millane or compare him to Peter Crimmins.

Meh.Its up to Eddie what happens with it. I think its time his mother moved on. It can't be healthy to bottle that up.

Clutching onto the number and not handing it back to the club (so to speak) in my mind says she still hasn't let go of her son. That number isn't gonna bring him back and she'll never make her peace with his passing until she lets go.

Other than that, this thread would probably be more at home on the collingwood board. I doubt they'd appreciate outsiders telling them how to handle the memory of a fallen star's life cut short.

It seems the club wanted to bring the number back but are simply honouring the wishes of Millane's family for it to remain retired.

I don't really see any issue with this stance.

Oh so everything that you don't agree with deserves a red card hey ? Grab a tissue and grow up mate.

Did I say I hated the guy ? No. Did I say he was over-rated ? No. If I did, then sure, give me whatever coloured card you want. I am talking about the fact that his legend status is not deserved any more than what Daicos, Brown or even Shaw should be.

And for all those potting me for "bringing up the topic". Grab a copy of today's Age. The story is staring you right in the face. It's not like I brought the story back from nowhere to stir the pot. It's made the news, and i am simply giving an opinion on it. That's what BigFooty is all about isn't it. Read some of the comments online too, because I'm not the only one who feels it's all a bit out of proportion.

But you did basicly say he was a lesser man because of the way he died, and you're telling me to grow up?

I've seen The Finger post words that have more class than this. poorest taste possible and nothing short of a bare faced troll.

MODS!

The more something makes sense the less likely it is to happen at Collingwood. :p

I don't think any jumper should be retired indefinitely, it is not fair to the many players who wore the jumper before him who should have the legacy continue.

Sure, give it a mourning period out of respect but my only comments are, "Too soon?".

I can see the point of the OP, but I think he / she just didn't articulate it quite right. Death does seem to have a knack of over-glorifying achievements and personalities.

Jentleman Geff probably said it best.

Revered out of proportion to what he actually achieved.

He was our spiritual leader, we stood taller with him in the team, at the time of his death he was the best wingman in the comp, top 20 player IMO, they don't make em like him anymore, the man was an animal, dippers the only comparable player i can think of.

HSUN "Millane was a stallion of a man who broke open packs with his knees and hurt when he hit"

I'll bite.

First off, Caroline Wilson (as much as I hate her) was a great article. She didn't stick the boots in, told facts and made it a story not an opinion.

As for Darren Millane he is a Collingwood legend. As a player he was tough, courageous and talented. He was a pivotal part of winning our first flag in donkeys years. Watching footage of him now, he could seriously play. When he died he was 25, Tony Shaw was 30 in 1990. There was a good chance he could have been the next captain. He wasn't some flash in the pan player, he was seriously good.

Off the field he was a top bloke. If you read the book about the Pies 1990 year, it talks of how Millane off field work. One story is that after seeing a wheelchaired fan stuggle to get into the club one day, he organised a ramp to be built into the club.

He wasnt a evil or bad person, the problem was that he was a lad. He was of the old school footy boys culture. He drank he partied. He toughness made him think he was invincible. There is a quote from Crakers Keenan about his death along the lines of "Boys like him, you think they'll never die".

Millane driving while obviously drunk was a mistake and he paid for it with his life. He thought he was invincible. Lets not take away from that, but it was 20 years ago where TAC ads didn't exist like they do today, there were little to no breath testing and it was culturally ok to hop in a car after a few beers.

He number was reserved at the request of his family which the club is allowing. Its not downright selfish. They have good reasons. As Eddie says, there are kids who dont know his story, it has to be remembered and told, like all good players.

To just say 'its time to let go' is the reason we get souless and boring clubs. Keep the memory, its not hard, it a bloody number. its 42 too!! Not number 2 or 5.

Last but not least, its collingwoods player, collingwoods number, collingwoods memories and it will be collingwood people making the decision. They dont need other people to tell them what to do. Just leave your opinions out of it.

Pies people know that we are hated and we dont mind giving back. Go on about our players not being stars, that we have an easy draw, that we dont play away, that our president is a moron, that we are all bogans that we are unsuccessful because we have only won two premierships in 40 years. BUT there are a couple of things which are not to be messed with, this is one.

Thanks.