Is Brisbane the worst top two side ever?

You'd think Brisbane would be favourite given they finished ahead of Richmond, playing on their home ground, in front of their fans.

Instead Richmond are almost unbackable favourites.

If Richmond were playing Geelong this week I think Richmond would be $1.80 despite it being a neutral game.

But they're $1.57 playing on Brisbane's home ground.

This is probably why OP calls them the worst top two side ever.

Gee you would almost be forgiven for thinking they’re a young unproven team playing an opponent who has won two of the last three flags.

Also worth remembering that teams aren’t judged at the end of the year by the price Sportsbet were offering, they tend to be judged on how they go in finals so maybe wait until they play one

Brisbane have certainly been gifted a ridiculous set of advantages this season.

And even taking into account their lack of travel, lack of hub disruptions to their routine and consistent home crowd advantage, their record flatters them because they got away with the points in every game they played which was decided by less than two goals, including three decided by less than a kick- you can say that shows they performed in clutch situations, but the truth is any game decided by a goal chance plays a big part and you're lucky to split them. Those results go the other way and Brisbane are about 7th. Or an equitable amount of travel and they are about 7th. Instead they've been effectively gift wrapped a double chance and three home finals including the big one for simply being a decent middle of the road side.

The fact that Geelong and Richmond both gave them a convincing beating, on the road underlines their weakness against high quality opposition even with all the dice massively weighted in their favour.

I think if placed under pressure in a prelim, they will shit the bed again- deep down their players must know they don't really deserve to be there.

And even taking into account their lack of travel, lack of hub disruptions to their routine and consistent home crowd advantage, their record flatters them because they got away with the points in every game they played which was decided by less than two goals, including three decided by less than a kick- you can say that shows they performed in clutch situations, but the truth is any game decided by a goal chance plays a big part and you're lucky to split them. Those results go the other way and Brisbane are about 7th. Or an equitable amount of travel and they are about 7th. Instead they've been effectively gift wrapped a double chance and three home finals including the big one for simply being a decent middle of the road side.

The fact that Geelong and Richmond both gave them a convincing beating, on the road underlines their weakness against high quality opposition even with all the dice massively weighted in their favour.

I think if placed under pressure in a prelim, they will sh*t the bed again- deep down their players must know they don't really deserve to be there.

Oh well in that case we may as well just start calling close wins 'losses' from here on in as they obviously don't count.

It's ok Saints fans, you actually won both the 2009 and 2010 flags.

I think if placed under pressure in a prelim, they will sh*t the bed again- deep down their players must know they don't really deserve to be there.
So there are only 2 high quality teams this year then? We have beaten the entire top 8 except for Geelong and Richmond. Even then it is not as straightforward as losses for those 2. Geelong, we won 3 quarters and lost 1 (a bad one), In Richmond we had 1 less scoring shot than them (kicking for goal killed us).
I think Geelong and Richmond are better than us, and there is nothing wrong with that as they are 2 class teams and we are still pretty young and shouldn't really be expected to win the premiership at this stage (in normal circumstances)

Blah blah blah. Excuses and utter rubbish.

Last year it was the "soft draw" we got, that was the only reason we finished second. This year apparently we haven't travelled and that's the reason we finished second. Next season we'll finish second again and there will be another excuse as to why it fell our way.

The truth is, we're a pretty damn good side albeit young and still prone to having issues effect our results (Goalkicking yips, hoodoo v Richmond).

Truthfully the only team that worries me in the finals is Richmond, ironically enough. Provided we kick straight, no other team scares me even a little.

beat the eagles and port , or are they just shit teams under your definition total _juddshanks ?

Will be confirmed if they go out in straight sets again.

Brisbane lost two home finals in a row last year. Staring down the barrel of losing three straight home finals come Friday night.

Has any interstate team lost three consecutive home finals?

I suppose that's why OP was asking whether they are the worst top two side ever.

beat the eagles and port , or are they just sh*t teams under your definition total _juddshanks ?

They beat them early in the season. Since then got belted by Richmond and Geelong. Very lucky in a lot of close games.

Even if Richmond thump us by 20 goals the thread title will still be wrong.

I do appreciate the input of footy fans who think that winning close games means you're a poor team though, makes a lot of sense :thumbsu:

Theyre a very mediocre team. Rate them on par with my average team.

They played all season in Queensland so of course they finished top 2. Same thing with Port playing at home all year.

Not that it matters as it will be the biggest asterisk flag of all time.

I've seen some pathetic things on this forum, but making a new account to back yourself up is high up there.

They played all season in Queensland so of course they finished top 2. Same thing with Port playing at home all year.

Agreed mate. Best outcome for all would be a Geelong vs Richmond GF.

Another Salty WCE supporter. We sorted you guys our The last two times we played. Quite easily too. Last year was our first finals for 10 years. Base our finals form on that to your peril. We will be here for a while. Please sulk in private.

Will be confirmed if they go out in straight sets again.
Will be in finals for a few years too come. Every finals game is a test and learning for a young team. When will you guys get to experience that do you think? Oh yeah, we did witness that, it was terrible.

I think their midfield is pretty worthy of a top 2 side but there is not enough fire power in the forward line and not enough quality in the backline imo. They're a good quality side who have achieved top 2 based on consistently good effort and pretty good coaching. But it would also not surprise me if they go straight sets again because I don't think they have another gear to go up that other sides have.

Oh dear. There will not be any asterisk if the Lions win. Check any record book you like and show me. Only in petty minds.

I think their midfield is pretty worthy of a top 2 side but there is not enough fire power in the forward line and not enough quality in the backline imo. They're a good quality side who have achieved top 2 based on consistently good effort and pretty good coaching. But it would also not surprise me if they go straight sets again because I don't think they have another gear to go up that other sides have.
This is a balanced and fair comment by DR Awkward. Clearly not one of those bitter and twisted flogs that can’t accept reality. If you check they support teams that we have put to the sword. Agree. We still lack a big forward capable of kicking multiple goals. Maybe yes, maybe no, however we are improving each year and with a young list will be around for a while. Some don’t like that.

For an interstate side with their big home ground to make the top two then go out in straight sets is unprecedented. Unheard of for a Melbourne based team that plays neutral finals at the MCG.

But to go out in straight sets at home two years in succession, surely this will be considered the biggest choke in AFL history. Port Adelaide were never that bad in the early 2000's.

If they aren't the worst top two side ever (could argue they were last year going on in straight sets at home), then surely biggest chokers of all time if they go out in straight sets in 2020.

For an interstate side with their big home ground to make the top two then go out in straight sets is unprecedented. Unheard of for a Melbourne based team that plays neutral finals at the MCG.

But to go out in straight sets at home two years in succession, surely this will be considered the biggest choke in AFL history. Port Adelaide were never that bad in the early 2000's.

If they aren't the worst top two side ever (could argue they were last year going on in straight sets at home), then surely biggest chokers of all time if they go out in straight sets in 2020.
Salty lil prick

Your side is in the finals and you're not backing them. Shows what kind of person you are.

It's very unlikely. Would require going on the road to Adelaide, coming back to QLD to play Brisbane at their home fortress, then playing Port in Adelaide.

Brutal.

Brisbane lost two home finals in a row last year. Staring down the barrel of losing three straight home finals come Friday night.

Has any interstate team lost three consecutive home finals?

I suppose that's why OP was asking whether they are the worst top two side ever.

Why, because of something that hasn’t even happened?

Is Brisbane the worst top two side ever?