Is Nic Naitanui ridiculously overrated?

Plugger aernt you the bloke on bay13 who started/continued the Rhys Stanley will be better then Naita thread?

Is this a continuation of a bay13 thread?

I didn't start this thread though so I don't see how it can be a continuation of it.

Naita would've got games ahead of Gardiner and King, or would've played with either one.

Would've taken you over the line too, I reckon.

I doubt he would have played ahead of either Gardiner or King much last year. McEvoy had the better of Naitanui yesterday and he couldn't get a game ahead of them.

I also doubt whether he would have made a difference if he had've played in the Grand Final.

I doubt he would have played ahead of either Gardiner or King much last year. McEvoy had the better of Naitanui yesterday and he couldn't get a game ahead of them.

I also doubt whether he would have made a difference if he had've played in the Grand Final.

NN may not have got a game in the St Kilda first 22 perhaps, but it is hazardous to use two very young ruckmen going head to head for the first time as a good guide as to where they are at.

Yes, he broke even with him yesterday.

Yesterday. On Naita's form, he would be getting games ahead of Gardiner this year and last.

In a good side, better than ours, he would excel and absolutely destroy sides by giving your players first hands to the ball. He would have made a difference.

Ah the guy is a 19 yo ruckmen...I can still remember the knives out for Sandi when he was that age and older..Many said he would never make it.

He's 27 now and the best player in the comp...but only really became elite at 25..Struggled through his teens and early 20's.

Ruckmen get time, can't imagine many eagle supporters would be too disapointed yet. Their club clearly lacks pace in the midfield and a penetrating kick (Hello Hill), but one look at what a dominant ruckmen can do and if I supported West Coast I'd still be excited.

The rest of their young kids however is a completely different issue..

Woosha's move to make him a mdfielder at the centre bounce just didn't work because as it has been said, at the moment he just doesn't have the ability to read the play.
He effectively got the first two centre clearances of the game. Unfortunately he struggled to get into it after that.

Mate you're a gun, agreed 100%. Like whenever he gets near the ball the commentators go nuts, against Hawthorn he handballed to a teammate and apparently he beat 3 players in doing so. :confused: Every single thing he does they make it sound as though it's the most remarkable thing done on a footy field, insane.
Come on Drummond, don't be silly. The commentators do like him, and why not? He's showing some incredible stuff for a ruckman of his age.

Regardless, I'm not sure why what the commentators say should have an affect on how people think of him as a player. It's almost like they feel the need to counterbalance what they think is OTT hype by massively downplaying his contributions. It's quite bizarre.

Yes, he broke even with him yesterday.

Yesterday. On Naita's form, he would be getting games ahead of Gardiner this year and last.

In a good side, better than ours, he would excel and absolutely destroy sides by giving your players first hands to the ball. He would have made a difference.

He wouldn't be getting games ahead of Gardiner either last year or this year, King maybe but not Gardiner. Gardiner has been terrific for us the last year or so and was very good again yesterday.

the thing that irritates me is the assumption that he's new to footy. He's been playing for years so as far as footy IQ goes, he's not the sharpest knife in the drawer.

he can do the spectacular stuff uncommonly well. he can do things that few if any other players can do. For that, he gets a lot of attention and comment based on the potential if he does that more often.

He does the common place stuff badly. Any other player who averaged that few possessions per game would be on the rack of public opinion or playing in the 2's. Nic is lauded for his 30 second cameos.

The kid is athletically gifted, no doubt, but the gap between his best and worse is a chasm. He needs to learn how to do the basics well, cos at the moment he's all icing and no cake.

Kudos to You :thumbsu:

You have made the most educated assesment on this kid from any football supporter or professional commentator to date

that was just about his worst game for the year. Won a lot of taps but couldnt have an impact anywhere else on the ground. Didnt look dangerous when he went forward.

Wouldnt go as far as saying he had a howler, but to get barely a possession for the whole game tells you he has a lot of learning to do about reading the play. Cox will be around for a couple of years thankfully.

Over-hyped sure. But over-rated... I wouldn't like to be the man with egg on my face making that call.

For me personally I find this whole mindless rating of kids just that. After 50-75 games, when a kid has had a few pre-seasons and has really learnt the way the game is played at the top level then we can discuss the pros and cons of where they are at but until then it is only guess work. There have been plenty of kids burst onto the scene only to become one hit wonders and there have been plenty that have taken years to make their mark, then you have the rare breed that have it all from their first game. Where Nick is in that I'm not sure but I can't see him not being a good - very good - great player.

NicNat has a lot of bloody good attributes that can make him a star and a lot of work to do on others that might hold him back. I'm sure the WCE coaching department knows which is which and will be working hard to make him a better player.

I'm glad we got Jack but I sure as hell wouldn't be complaining if we had NicNat.

Has been a little disappointing after an outstanding showing in all the pre-season games.
I think the only disappointing thing so far is his lack of endurance. When he goes, he goes hard but I would like to see more of it.

Has to plod far too often and to be honest you cant blame the guy. 200+cm and only his second year in the system I guess we cant expect him to be running around like an endurance machine.

Melbourne should hope Naitanui doesn't develop elite footy smarts, because he already has the skill.

What a stupid thing to post.

All Melbourne is concerned about is developing Watts, who by the way is coming along very nicely thank you very much. I hope Naitanui develops elite footy smarts because he's great to watch.

Fair dinkum there's some absolute flogs on this site

Yeah he's overhyped for sure. Gives me the shits. You'd reckon he's god's gift to football. He's just a guy who can jump, that's all. Stop replaying everything he does 10 times, it's a sure turn-off for viewers

What a stupid thing to post.

All Melbourne is concerned about is developing Watts, who by the way is coming along very nicely thank you very much. I hope Naitanui develops elite footy smarts because he's great to watch.

Fair dinkum there's some absolute flogs on this site

Could be wrong, but i think he may have meant Melbourne as in the Vic teams.;)

Melbourne should hope Naitanui doesn't develop elite footy smarts, because he already has the skill.

A-hem. Fortunately for Melbourne, Naitanui does not have the kind of skill that Jack Watts possesses. Never will either.

Supreme athlete Naitanui is, able to leap tall buildings in a single bound. He's body is already filled and game ready, which is unusual for a player he's age.

Will provide Eagles fans with great highlights of ruck contests and the odd Cazaly flyer, but unless he develops inside his head and understands the game, we will only see more of the previously mentioned.

Naitanui will be a star player. But no where near as important as Watts will be for Melbourne.

Is he overrated ? Not really. The amount of hype surrounding him, is over the top. Granted, the AFL world hasn't seen a kid like this come from foreign background, and burst onto the AFL scene before.

Jim Stynes and Setanta O'Hailpin were from a foreign land, but they didn't exactly burst onto the scene and they weren't draft pick no.2.

For those of you who haven't seen Watts yet (those with inflated opinions), I suggest you go see a replay of Melb v Port game on Fox Sports. Today.

LOL at all the WC posters crying about hanging shit on Naitanui because he's only 20.

The exact same posters that bagged the shit out of an 18 year old Watts. :eek::thumbsu:

You will never be an elite AFL player without elite footy smarts and elite skills. Naitanui doesn't have either, and I highly doubt he will somehow be able to develop these. It's not like he is new to football, he has been playing for over 10 years.

We're not the exact same posters you flog.

Go have a look at the gameday thread on our board from when we played your mob. The majority of posters talk about how good Jack Watts look (despite the fumblys at goal and his being outrun by a crippled Glass)

I think you need to get the chip off your shoulder and harden up :thumbsu:

I just wonder how NicNat will go once injuries start to take a toll on his bodies and what he bring to the table if he starts to loose his leap due to a knee/leg/ankle injury. i just feel that he is one knee reco away from being an ordinary player.

Intelligent theory that one Sultan. Tell me why you couldn't apply the same theory to any player? By the way he only has one body, but if he had bodies as you suggested, when he gets an injury he could use one of his other bodies. Problem solved.

Touch wood for both Watts and Naitanui and their respective clubs, they don't have to go through any excrutiating injuries or rehabilitation for that sort of duration throughout their careers.

I hope they both can go through footy without dealing with what all players dread.