Is Nic Naitanui ridiculously overrated?

fair point but i bet if lyon was offered naitanui in return for stanley, stanley would be out the door quicker than you can say "premiership, here we come"

Not so sure about that. Naitanui is more of a ruckman and we already have McEvoy and a couple of other young ruckmen on our list.

Stanley looks more capable of playing as a permanent key forward than Naitanui and I see him being the natural successor to Riewoldt when he retires. I would be very disappointed if we traded Stanley for anyone.

On a slightly unrelated note, Riewoldt has become a superstar of the comp, but why hasn't Koschitzke reached anywhere near those heights?

The guy played last year. You shouldn't compare him to first years from this year.

How's Hill going this year? He's got 10 points from one game in the AFLPA award as well. Add in Hurley, Yarran, Sidebottom, Yarran, Redden, Ballantyne, Beams, Suban and Bennell as guys who have all had good games in the seniors. If you are talking potential then the guy has it and he does the flashy very well.

People have been talking him up for a brownlow this year and thats just stupid. Naitanui has the chance to be a star but if he's not first ruck he is really, really struggling at his current stage of development.

You can't compare him to any of those players you listed because none are ruckmen.

Compare him against how the other ruckmen went when they came in. The 2 best in recent years has been Cox and Sandilands. Granted they were rookie listed and expected to take time to develop. But its took Sandilands 5-6 seasons to get better numbers then the ones Naitanui is getting right now.

Compare him with other high draft picks like Fraser and Gardiner. I think he has shown more at the same stage than those 2. Remember Gardiner was #1 until he did his knee.

To say he is really really struggling at this stage is just plain stupid.

Not sure, I'd imagine most would probably go with Naitanui but based more on hype and reputation than anything. Ability wise I don't think there is really much difference between the two, both are very athletic and highly skilled players for their size. Naitanui can probably do the more exciting, spectacular things but Stanley looks capable of being a more conventional, consistent player.

Pretty sure every club would be keen to have either Naitanui or Stanley on their lists. Both are exciting prospects, who will become the better player over their careers only time will tell.

You would think that a club would have more of an idea in selecting players than fans and even the media.

Naitanui is a 2nd year player who has already influenced the outcomes of games. He won the game against Hawthorn off his own boot last year and was listed in the game's best players in 3 or 4 of our 5 wins in the second half of 2009.

This year his performances against Essendon were BOGs.. simply dominant displays. His games against PA and Hawthorn were also impressive while his other games have been ok with patches of brilliance.

So we're comparing a raw player with potential who has already got some runs on the board at AFL level to a raw player with potential who hasn't shown anything at AFL level.

I'm pretty sure the Saints are glad you're not in charge of recruitment down there.

Until you can provide an example of a white player that can do the same thing NN can do your hypothetical arguments are irrelevant.

Sick of people having a sad over people being hyped because they are black. We have bigger d**** than you get over it.

The guy who said he'd never **** a black chick is black himself? Bwahaha.

No, I'm actually being serious. I wouldn't swap Stanley for him, I think he has just as much potential as Naitanui and Watts but because he wasn't an early draft pick there isn't as much hype about him.

This is what people forget about yesterdays game.

The Saints psychologically destroyed nicnat before the ball was bounced by naming his conquerer of the grand Final halftime sprint, the great Rhys Stanley.

Thats when the first bricks in the myth of the great nicnat began to crumble when our sprinting sensation destroyed him by about 20 metres with him feigning a hammy ;)(and about the only thing we won on GF day :eek:).

A selection stroke of genius by Rossy. :D

On a slightly unrelated note, Riewoldt has become a superstar of the comp, but why hasn't Koschitzke reached anywhere near those heights?

He just isn't as good as Riewoldt, simple as that. Then again not many other players are as good as Riewoldt either.

Stanley didn't look too promising in the forward role that he played against us IMO.

Kicked one out on the full, I believe.

Considering how difficult conditions were for tall marking forwards I thought Stanley had a pretty decent game. He took a couple of good grabs and was good defensively with his pressure and tackling, set up a nice goal for Dal Santo in the last quarter too. He was probably more effective than either Kennedy or Lynch.

He wasn't the only one to struggle with goalkicking yesterday with the windy conditions either. There were quite a few out on the fulls and bad misses from shots that most players would normally kick.

You would think that a club would have more of an idea in selecting players than fans and even the media.

Naitanui is a 2nd year player who has already influenced the outcomes of games. He won the game against Hawthorn off his own boot last year and was listed in the game's best players in 3 or 4 of our 5 wins in the second half of 2009.

This year his performances against Essendon were BOGs.. simply dominant displays. His games against PA and Hawthorn were also impressive while his other games have been ok with patches of brilliance.

So we're comparing a raw player with potential who has already got some runs on the board at AFL level to a raw player with potential who hasn't shown anything at AFL level.

I'm pretty sure the Saints are glad you're not in charge of recruitment down there.

Just because Naitanui has had more opportunities at AFL level than Stanley it doesn't make him a better player. Stanley has already shown in the NAB Cup that he has talent and ability, pretty hard to judge him yesterday in those conditions. I'd expect him to perform better next week at Etihad against Adelaide.

/facepalm

Is Stanley a better player than Riewoldt? Surely Riewoldt isn't a better player just because hes had more opportunities at AFL level.

Stupid question right?

Go figure. :rolleyes:

You can't compare him to any of those players you listed because none are ruckmen.

Compare him against how the other ruckmen went when they came in. The 2 best in recent years has been Cox and Sandilands. Granted they were rookie listed and expected to take time to develop. But its took Sandilands 5-6 seasons to get better numbers then the ones Naitanui is getting right now.

Compare him with other high draft picks like Fraser and Gardiner. I think he has shown more at the same stage than those 2. Remember Gardiner was #1 until he did his knee.

To say he is really really struggling at this stage is just plain stupid.

Why?

Like I said. He has potential but his last few games form doesn't make him a stand out.

I watch his entire game this weekend and he was not in the play at all. Woosha's move to make him a mdfielder at the centre bounce just didn't work because as it has been said, at the moment he just doesn't have the ability to read the play.

Like I said, he really struggled and I'd like to hear a non-WC person say that he didn't.

Your own supporters are saying that with Cox back at first ruch his influence has decreased. Nothing I have said is made up or a troll.

He's got every chance to be a star but he's going to need to develop for that to happen. On current form he's a handy back up who has the X factor which means he can tear a game apart, but he can also just disappear.

Nic Nat was voted as being in the best 2 or 3 on the ground three times by the coaches in 9 games, which is 3 more than Jack watts by the way, and yet he is now a nonshow. shit if he keeps this up , he will have say 4 more type performances. People compain about being overhyped then proceed to knock him by the same expectations. If he lifts his intensity/workrate, look the **** out!

Has played an above average role in about 3 matches this year with one of them being in the pre-season.

And the commentators act as if they have never seen a black fella play football before, raving on and on about his ruck taps, his 'efforts', his attempted marks, not to mention his "leap".

Sure his an exciting talent but the way a lot go on about him it's as if his a chance for the Brownlow this year.

Was comfortably outplayed by McEvoy today and Lenny won us the game when he was going head to head with him for some reason.
Mate you're a gun, agreed 100%. Like whenever he gets near the ball the commentators go nuts, against Hawthorn he handballed to a teammate and apparently he beat 3 players in doing so. :confused: Every single thing he does they make it sound as though it's the most remarkable thing done on a footy field, insane.

The same knocks on him at junior level are shining through at AFL level, no idea how to get the ball. Averaging 1 mark a game means he has no idea how to position himself. I mean, I know the Weagles field kicking is about as good as Embley's committment, but dude, get a kick NicSpud

I wouldn't swap Rhys Stanley for him though, who I think has just as much potential as a ruckman/key forward but with much less hype.
St Kilda would swap Stanley for Naitanui who has intensity and more ability.

I hope you do a better job with Stanley than you did with Koschitzke.
Not sure, I'd imagine most would probably go with Naitanui but based more on hype and reputation than anything. Ability wise I don't think there is really much difference between the two, both are very athletic and highly skilled players for their size. Naitanui can probably do the more exciting, spectacular things but Stanley looks capable of being a more conventional, consistent player.

Pretty sure every club would be keen to have either Naitanui or Stanley on their lists. Both are exciting prospects, who will become the better player over their careers only time will tell.
We don't need Stanley.

Time will tell you that Naitanui will be the better player by a long way.

Naitanui would be getting more game time than McEvoy and Stanley if he was at St Kilda.

I don't know why anyone would point to the weekend's match with McEvoy beating Naitanui around the ground.

McEvoy has been in the system longer than Naitanui.

Hampson is a great athlete, but his ruckwork didn't come on until his third season.

Naitanui is miles ahead of most raw ruckman.

The thread makes Naitanui out to be Vickery...
You will never be an elite AFL player without elite footy smarts and elite skills. Naitanui doesn't have either, and I highly doubt he will somehow be able to develop these. It's not like he is new to football, he has been playing for over 10 years.
Have you seen Naitanui destroy Hille as a second year ruckman?

Hille jibbed it twice by taking a short step. :D

Melbourne should hope Naitanui doesn't develop elite footy smarts, because he already has the skill.

St Kilda would swap Stanley for Naitanui who has intensity and more ability.

I hope you do a better job with Stanley than you did with Koschitzke.

What proof do you have that Naitanui has more ability or intensity? Stanley has only played just one AFL game in terrible conditions for a tall forward, a bit hard to judge his ability or intensity on that.

We don't need Stanley.

Time will tell you that Naitanui will be the better player by a long way.

Naitanui would be getting more game time than McEvoy and Stanley if he was at St Kilda.

Your key forwards are Henderson and O'Hailpin and you reckon you don't need a talented young tall forward like Stanley? I bet Ratten would love to have someone like him on your list.

Again you have no proof that Naitanui will be a better player than Stanley by a long way. That is just pure guesswork.

Also Naitanui wouldn't have played as much if he was at St Kilda, we're in a premiership window and would still have been playing Gardiner and King ahead of him last year. He would probably be getting the same amount of games as McEvoy and Stanley are now. At West Coast they are rebuilding and have no other ruckmen other than Cox which has given Naitanui more opportunities.

Minor point - Henderson is only 20, rated pick 8 by Brisbane, and from what I've seen has the talent - just needs the experience and development like Stanley.

Also, in NN's first year last season, he was up against Seaby, Lynch (in a pinch-hitting role) and Sullivan. Seaby's obviously traded, Lynch out of favour and Sullivan doing time in the WAFL.