Is Walker better than Cooney?

Originally posted by W W Biscuit
Whatever else is said about Cooney, I cannot agree that the boy isn't accountable. His ferocity at the ball-carrier and second efforts are possibly the most impressive part of his performances so far. This stands out all the more in a team that has lacked this aggression and accountability over the last couple of years.
Ferocity at the ball-carrier and second efforts aren't the same thing as accountability. Accountability involves minding your man when he doesn't have the ball. This weekend will be the first time I'll have a good look at Cooney... unfortunately it will be on TV, so you don't always get to see what's going on away from the contest.

Originally posted by stefoid
When Cooney's body is conditioned in terms of hardness and fitness, and thus he is able to play 4 quarters of AFL footy and make many more contests, watch out!

for those that havent seen squat of cooney so far, heres the lowdown.

1) he will get his own hard ball, and bash and crash to do it
2) he will bust a tackle or dispose well by standing up in the tackle - rarely goes to ground
3) will correctly pick when to handball, kick long or burst free of the pack
4) will pick up his own man and do all the one percenters - good tackler
5) is good on either foot and can kick the long running goal from outside 50, and can do so after winning his own contest, not just on the receive

he may never regularly get 30 possessions - he will probably be more like a mcleoud or akermanis in that he will get 20+ possessions on a good day, but those possessions will really hurt the opposition. his speed, size and smarts will ensure he will be very difficult to tag.

Or maybe like Riccuito

I reckon Walker will be better than Cooney. Cooney is a boy in a mans body, can't see a lot of improvement in him whereas Walker has a lot of physical development in front of him.

I also think Farren Ray will be better than Cooney but he needs to bulk up. He has freat hands and evasion skills in traffic which are very hard to find.

morgoth said:
I reckon Walker will be better than Cooney. Cooney is a boy in a mans body, can't see a lot of improvement in him whereas Walker has a lot of physical development in front of him.

I also think Farren Ray will be better than Cooney but he needs to bulk up. He has freat hands and evasion skills in traffic which are very hard to find.

Who wont be better than Cooney?

The Magenius said:
Another ripping prediction parrot. It would help if Walker actually got a spot in the super-talented blues side ala he is still in the VFL .
Walker>Stenglein.
If the Eagles miss there shot at a flag, questions will be asked about the merits of trading early picks for a guy who's just a tagger.
Any decent key forwards drafted with those picks? :cool:

cypher said:
Walker>Stenglein.
If the Eagles miss there shot at a flag, questions will be asked about the merits of trading early picks for a guy who's just a tagger.
We didn't trade pick number 2 mate.

parrot said:
Starting to look like Carlton actually got the number 1 pick!

Have Carlton's chances this year been deliberately downplayed by Pagan? On paper, their midfield looks pretty impressive. They have obvious deficiencies in other areas (i.e ruck and defence), but i'm finding it hard to find a midfield that is clearly better. I think West Coast were caught out today. They still have Waite and Kouta to return!
LOL

cypher said:
Walker>Stenglein.
Walker is the equivalent of pick 60

Well the answer is pretty clear. Coon miles ahead and will be an AFL superstar whereas Walker will just be another player who fills in the gaps, has talent and might have some good and even great games but wont have the presence and that status that Coon will have.

morgoth said:

Time will tell, but I think you're a pretty poor judge of talent if you can't see upside in Cooney. He is now fully fit and able to properly run out games, he can develop his tackling skills and his goal scoring potential is a massive upside if he gets it together. One more pre-season and I think you'll see a far better and more complete footballer that can break a game apart.

Cooney > Walker.

It's that simple. Next year, boys, you watch.

Cooney = Akermanis.
Griffen = Voss.

Don't you just HATE the sound of that, Carlton? Knowing you've got nothing that comes close? ;)

Walker was playing better football at the time of Parrot's post. So what's the problem?

Besides, Walker's younger and more of a development player than Cooney. He'll come good in time. Infact, out of all the players in that draft, Cooney's the only one to make a significant impact (maybe McLean as well). But does that mean that Walker, Silvia, Ray and Tenace won't be good players? Ofcourse not.

The_Bulldogs_Bite said:
Cooney > Walker.

It's that simple. Next year, boys, you watch.

Cooney = Akermanis.
Griffen = Voss.

Don't you just HATE the sound of that, Carlton? Knowing you've got nothing that comes close? ;)

Waite and Thornton > Williams and Walsh

You've got smalls. We've got talls.

Funkalicous said:
Waite and Thornton > Williams and Walsh

You've got smalls. We've got talls.

Bit unfair to use Tom Williams in your example,got injured, would have played seniors this year. He is a big watch. Walsh is a big disappointment for a top 4 pick similar to Murray Vance, remember him?
Further improvement to Minson the return of Darcy and a possible trade for an established tall and the Dogs look better balanced.

Waite will be a star in no time.

Cooney > Walker.

parrot said:

Have Carlton's chances this year been deliberately downplayed by Pagan? On paper, their midfield looks pretty impressive. They have obvious deficiencies in other areas (i.e ruck and defence), but i'm finding it hard to find a midfield that is clearly better. I think West Coast were caught out today. They still have Waite and Kouta to return!

not at the current moment no but he will be

The Coon has been tagged a fair bit this year (in his 2nd AFL season)... a real learning curve for him. Needs to work on his concentration and do some more sprint work over the preaseason.

parrot said:

Ouch :)

Is Walker better than Cooney?