News Jack Dyer Stand -Demolition Has Begun

Im for the new development but did Willism Cooper have any involvement in our club history? If not then using his name is unacceptable. There must be some Richmond history connected for someone to get his name on anything. If they wanted an aboriginal name they coukd hsve called it the Rioli Mitchell Centre afterMaurice Rioli and Michael Mitchell.

Would rather they just used a wurundjeri word for something relevant to the club than name it after a person with no connection. What's wurundjeri for Jack dyer?

You cant move a bluestone on your curb or alter the facade of your home in the inner city the city council is all about "maintaining heritage" but when demolishing a heritage sports stadium it suddenly rubber-stamped. The board has done a great job and we all support them but that doesn't mean they aare always correct and we go along with everything - they make mistakes too like anyone or any group can. To be honest this has got me riled up to the point of fighting against it. That stadium should be carefully removed so it can be reconstructed elsewhere in the Richmond community. And then to double down and say the new facility may not be named after Jack Dyer - well that's a big "Not on my watch" to Peggy. They have pulled the wrong rein. Why cant they build out to the car park area? I simply don't believe they exhausted all options for expansion or thought out of the box - and just assessed options that are suitable to their plans to get $$$ from the government.

100% agree we as members should fight this.

As I said earlier, a massive base of Tiger tradies, demo/relocation expeperts, heavy machinery opperaters, builders, plumbers etc will gladly volunteer services for gratis.

For me withholding membership payment until a suitable decision is made is a start, and I will be emailing and phoning the club explaining my reasoning.

As I said earlier, a massive base of Tiger tradies, demo/relocation expeperts, heavy machinery opperaters, builders, plumbers etc will gladly volunteer services for gratis.

For me withholding membership payment until a suitable decision is made is a start, and I will be emailing and phoning the club explaining my reasoning.
The building is condemned - completely cooked on the inside - you can sit in the stand but it's unusable

It cant be rebuilt due to asbestos and the fact that the wood wouldn't make it to a new place (and who will take on a stand thats unusable) the wood would crumble as you removed it.

Secondly, we can't build anywhere else as our lease boundary is exactly what you see - the carpark isn't even ours - we have not an inch to expand behind the building

I think it’s also come down to a safety issue as well
When the club was in the wilderness the facilities were neglected

You can read accounts of in the 90’s of possums living in the roofs of buildings and wanter damage everywhere and that was for some of the newer buildings at the time

I dare say the older buildings were even worse and a lot of the core structure of the JD stand would be rotted out and it comes to a point where it can’t be saved
Many years ago I posted a query about the source of all the crap on the top seating area of the JD Stand. I was informed that it was possum shit and that our beloved CEO, the great Benny Gale (you may genuflect at the mention of his name), who was a player at the time, actually caught one of the offending possums. And survived without the need for plastic and reconstructive surgery. I think this story needs to be preserved and revered, telling as it does so much about the ingenuity, courage, tenacity and capacity for survival of the whole Richmond organisation. Now that the JD Stand is destined for demolition, perhaps the time has finally come for Benny to step up and explain all that happened that night. And don't hide behind the "what happens in the JD Stand stays in the JD Stand:".

I think the club has outgrown the name Dyer.
We now have 6 legends of the RFC.
Dyer
Hart
Bartlett
Bourke
Richo
Dusty
I think we somehow should acknowledge all 6.(5 now obviously while Dusty is still killing it).
How many Stands & Buildings in the re development? Surely we can come up with something that has all 6 named?

you are aware they have had call outs for this kind of thing in the past, and we still had Wally cleaning up possum shit

people talk a lot of talk about volunteering trades to the club, but it rarely happens. strangely enough, tradies expect to be paid for their job

Im for the new development but did Willism Cooper have any involvement in our club history? If not then using his name is unacceptable. There must be some Richmond history connected for someone to get his name on anything. If they wanted an aboriginal name they coukd hsve called it the Rioli Mitchell Centre afterMaurice Rioli and Michael Mitchell.

the new building is where the KGI, the school, the bachar Houli Foundation and so on are being based. Its named after Cooper because this building is more about our off field activities than onfield.

The footy dept is taking over the existing building

is it true that these new facilities are only for the womens team and korin + bachar houli foundation ?

the afl team wont be using these at all. huge if true

the new building is where the KGI, the school, the bachar Houli Foundation and so on are being based. Its named after Cooper because this building is more about our off field activities than onfield.

The footy dept is taking over the existing building
so we are building a 60m dollar facility for 2 foundations and women to use and the 1s wont be going anywhere near it. is this a joke ?

is it true that these new facilities are only for the womens team and korin + bachar houli foundation ?

Think we wouldn't have got the grant otherwise.

so we are building a 60m dollar facility for 2 foundations and women to use and the 1s wont be going anywhere near it. is this a joke ?
AFLW will be kicked out of the Comp after 5 winless seasons.
Men to move in.

they are taking over the entire of the existing building

the journalists are acting like its for the afl team when the afl team isnt allowed to use the facilities. its for the women and kgi+ bhf

so nothing changes for the 1s

we are going to fall behind other clubs who are actually building state of the art facilities for their afl team

the journalists are acting like its for the afl team when the afl team isnt allowed to use the facilities. its for the women and kgi+ bhf

so nothing changes for the 1s

we are going to fall behind other clubs who are actually building state of the art facilities for their afl team

what part of this dont you get. it changes for the first because they are taking over all the room and spaces currently used by the school, by the KGI, and so on

and EVERY club who gets govt money has this same trade off

the govts have zero interest in paying for Dusty to have a new ice bath. They pay for the KGI, the school, and the womens teams.

what part of this dont you get. it changes for the first because they are taking over all the room and spaces currently used by the school, by the KGI, and so on

and EVERY club who gets govt money has this same trade off

the govts have zero interest in paying for Dusty to have a new ice bath. They pay for the KGI, the school, and the womens teams.
2 classrooms is hardly a change

its more than that

there is a reason the admin is working out of portables

yeah we will be relocated to cairns and called the cairns tigers ala Brisbane bears :p

i thought this was going to heavily strengthen the 1s. i was wrong
It does. Giving the AFLW their own space means more space for the AFL side. The existing Building will be larger than the new building so it makes sense to keep the Men there and move everyone else out.
Yeah nah. The existing stand is a hole, It's not really the Jack Dyer Stand and there is a reason why its not heritage listed. When the alternative is moving the entire operation to the outer suburbs where there is space, time to bring in the demolition team and get it done today.

News Jack Dyer Stand -Demolition Has Begun