News Jack Steven in hospital after possible assault

This.

How one can possibly hang a bloke out to dry so quickly without any actual facts? Damian Barrett said Steven took himself to hospital at 1am, but as of now it's not been reported what happened in the lead-up to his stabbing.

It might be worth waiting for some before heaping blame on the victim.
Damian Barrett...can’t wait for the truth

Because all mental health cases are the same.

Stupid, stupid comment on your behalf.

Get well soon Jack
yeah they should have looked into his Getting Stabbed stats a bit more before recruiting him.

f*** me.

I'm not saying it is the same or that Jack is to blame for this particular incident. He may very well be an innocent victim maliciously attacked.

But he's a guy with mental health and injury issues who has struggled to get on the park. Round 1, he's mysteriously unable to play despite having a pre-season. Now footy's return is announced, training is about to get underway, and he's out at 1am on a Saturday night and winds up stabbed. Not giving info to police, which also sounds very suss.

I'm not saying he's the same as Clark, but he came with similar promises and similar risks. A bargain player for the level of football they could produce, but both came with injury and mental health concerns. Then things start happening - they're embroiled in off-field incidents, they're mysteriously absent from games... starts to become more of a distraction for the playing group than anything. Clark absolutely was, a huge failure for the trouble he caused.

Steven at his best would be a great addition to the side. But I remember having similar thoughts about guys like Hamish McIntosh and Mitch Clark. These guys with potentially big upside but you get at a bargain price. Why were they bargains? Starts being rammed home over ensuing seasons.

I’ll take being called naive over being called a numpty as you previously stated

so your opinion to me means sweet fu** all
It’s not looking good, but hey, I’m sure he is just one very unlucky innocent dude. Happy to apologise if I’m wrong but if the reports are accurate that he has twice not cooperated with police then, yeah, not sounding great. Glad he is ok, and maybe this is a wake up call Jack needs because if those rumours swirling over the last couple of years about a drug problem are true then maybe this serious close call will jolt him into making a change. Sounds like he could have been hanging with some serious characters if he isn’t willing to elaborate and shed any light to police questioning him.

I'm thinking the bolded might be a factor in firstly taking an uber rather than an ambulance and now not wanting to talk - that last part makes me think he knows who did this which is why he doesn't want to talk. Hopefully it's more along the lines of an something getting out of hand rather than an act of intent
I think your probably right. Doesn't sound like a really serious injury.
I know it's speculating but I bet it's what happened, Was probably at a gathering (Perfectly legal) was pissed (Who really cares? Who wasn't last night) and something happened with a mate or a partner etc.
He should of just told the E.R he fell on a star pickett TBH.

Can’t see him playing in 2020
Nothing good happens for AFL footballers after midnight
The club would have thrown their arms around him when he arrived
So disappointing
And yes I’m blaming him
At 1am this morning I had 2 hours sleep, and I haven’t just been told that footy is back at a new club with questions hanging over my head

Think its fair to question whats going on here to be honest, very rarely get stabbed in the chest for no reason to begin with and why the hell else is anyone on the street at that time of night when the country is in lockdown....
Yes and no. I have a mate who got stabbed at bus stop and he literally said nothing and did nothing. Dude in meth just ran up and stabbed him. No provocation, didn't know him

Here is a chap who has struggled for a few years and has had the very bad luck to run into Covid times just when he was giving himself a chance to come good.
So regardless of the circumstances, he has my sympathy and I wish him the best and I know the club will support him.

That’s rough, but I bet your mate cooperated with the police though and told them what he knew, saw or could remember.
Yeah he did but also he didn't have to worry about journos quoting police statements. He also caught a taxi to the hospital much like Jack caught an uber. Had to stick his finger in the wound so the cabbie wouldn't notice the bleeding and force thin to take an ambulance.

Doesn't sound good...
My cousin, a Saints fan said he was a Meth head. Who knows tbh, let's hope he recovers sooner than later. I was hoping he would inject some pace an class around the stoppages this season. Reckon he's a good player if he can get going.

Not telling the police what happened - sounds no good at all to me - doesnt just sound like he was just unlucky

You contrast that to Geelong born West Coast Eagles premiership player Will Schofield - i can remember way back when Worsfold was still coach - Schofield was back in Geel visiting his parents - walking down a street one night - got king hit - totally random act - ended up with a broken jaw - i think it was a Fijian bloke - but he got charged - could have done jail time . So Will was just unlucky - but he told the club and police what happened - no drama

So Steven gets stabbed and wont tell the police what happened - Geel should make him tell what happened

Everyone is assuming his not saying anything to the cops is some kind of complicity. It ignores two things. First that he has just been stabbed in the chest and might not be physically able to give a statement yet. Secondly that pretty much all legal and media training, which he would have been fed for a decade, is to not say anything to police until a lawyer is present and don't say anything to the media until the club is across it.

He was stabbed at 1am. He probably went into surgery then would have been sleeping it off while most people have been busy questioning his silence

Could be due to anything at this stage, concussion, blackout, protecting freinds /partner

bit too early to be rushing for the pitchforks , either way his recovery should be a first priority instead of trying to blame him for the incident

That's some delayed concussion or blackout, given he got himself to the hospital.
And protecting someone is quite likely in my view. Although I'm not at all sure it's a partner or anyone you could call a real friend. Potentially attempting to protect himself, more than anything.

So no pitchforks here, just stating my opinion that this doesn't sound at all good for Steven or his football future at the moment.
And the clear intimation that the club has no idea at all what has gone on suggests that he's not for divulging any info to them either.

Recovery is certainly a first priority, of course. And I'm not blaming him for getting stabbed. Whoever is responsible should definitely bear the consequences. But I will certainly be somewhat shocked if it eventually turns out that he was the victim of an entirely unforeseen accident or simply an admittedly extreme case of 'wrong place, wrong time.'

Just my opinion, of course. And I'll be delighted to be entirely wrong if that's what the facts eventually reveal.