Jack Watts will finish his career known as a very high quality player at LEAST.

How was Naitanui "disappointing" last year? He played all 22 games for the Eagles in 2010 (a lot of AFL listed big men his age are struggling to get just one game), improved his averages in every statistical category bar tackles (just a drop of 0.5 per game, but still averaged 3.4 per game, which is good for a ruckman, particularly of his age), and established a Champion Data Player Ranking score average 14 points higher than in his first season (one of the biggest improvers in the league in that particular stat), showing that his overall statistical impact was much greater. Obviously stats aren't everything, but there's nothing there to say that he didn't improve greatly on his first season. He might not have been dominant or pulling highlight reel moments out every week (if he was, he'd probably be incorrectly labelled "all flash" a la Dale Thomas once upon a time), but what did people realistically expect from a second-year ruckman? Furthermore, Daniel Rich (a player you mentioned for comparison) was totally stagnant in his development in 2010 compared to Naitanui.

Well I was not aware of the stats

But watching all of his games last year....pre season and probably the first 5-6 games form was good. But after that any eagle supporter will tell you his game went down hill from there. But to be fair he was carrying an injury, so maybe that isn't fair.

Starting to show signs that he will be a very good player. Shouldn't really come as a surprise as he wasn't the no.1 draft pick for nothing.

His progress reminds me a bit of Goddard who was also a no.1 pick but really struggled in his first year or two before developing into a great player. Also like Goddard he is good overhead and has very good kicking skills.

He's still didn't beat an actual direct opponent.

Compare him to say hurley - who's played key forward with a guy on his hammer all day - still managing to kick multiple goals - or go into defence and compete with and outpoint Nick Riewoldt

When Watts can do something like that - it'll be impressive

At the moment he's winning ball on half back - which is still an improvement and sign of continual development - but there's no evidence yet of being a lock of high quality.

I reckon Watts will end up being a pleasant footballer - without being a dominant one.

I thought they all converged on him at once because, you know, he had stopped dead like a scared deer in the headlights with the footy in his hands. He was fair game to be buried into the turf no matter who he was at that point. It's AFL, there's no free passes just because it's your first game or you're the #1 pick.

Agreed. The way his debut was handled by the MFC still makes me shake my head, and think it set him back a fair way confidence wise. Maxwell and co set the tone for the day, what else are they meant to do, ask politely for him to hand the ball over. But in saying that, like many, I can't stand Nick Maxwell, just not because of that moment.

yet it means *** all since he gets caught holding the ball soo many times. I don't doubt that he has good speed it's just his lack of awareness and lukonic style of play that lets him down enormously. Overall he seems to be improving though.
I am 99% sure he has been caught holding the ball only once this season - last Friday night against Carlton.

But because it was a Friday night match, the only match some morons see of the Demons for the entire year, they assume ridiculous conclusions. I assume this is you?

I think that's the point. He never wins contests - ever. When will he win some?

See his mark that lead to his goal last night? Not good enough for you? He has taken plenty of contested marks this year and even done a few classic dont argues in close quarters.

A 3 on 1 pack in the Hawthorn forwardline springs to mind, but that's cause i've watched it so many times on youtube.

Keep dreaming, watts hater.:thumbsu:

Watts is a class act, and last night he really seemed to be showing some leadership qualities, like he wanted to be in the game. Good luck to him, and wait til he gets even stronger.

Last night was the first serious look at the Dees of the future.

Agreed. The way his debut was handled by the MFC still makes me shake my head, and think it set him back a fair way confidence wise. Maxwell and co set the tone for the day, what else are they meant to do, ask politely for him to hand the ball over. But in saying that, like many, I can't stand Nick Maxwell, just not because of that moment.

Was it really a bad thing? He came in under fire, against a bloody good team and received a shock, after spending his junior years dominating and kicking heaps of goals. Maybe it was what he needed to learn that he really needed to work for his career.

If he'd come in and played a few bits and pieces games later in the year, would he have worked so hard over the next two years to get where he is now?

I think that's the point. He never wins contests - ever. When will he win some?

You didn't see his first goal?

Or his hangar?

Or a couple his plays on the wing and HFF?

Maybe watch him play before you make statements about him.

He's still didn't beat an actual direct opponent.

Compare him to say hurley - who's played key forward with a guy on his hammer all day - still managing to kick multiple goals - or go into defence and compete with and outpoint Nick Riewoldt

When Watts can do something like that - it'll be impressive

I reckon Watts will end up being a pleasant footballer - without being a dominant one.

You do realise he was a teenager 3 months ago ?

He's a work in progress, so keep watching. You'll be pleasantly surpised. Or not. ;)

I"m a melbourne supporter and since we drafted this kid i never rated him. Potential was always there, but has a pea heart and shirked almost every contest. His footy over the last 6 weeks or so has been very encouraging and his going in hard for the ball and has a solid set of hands. With every game im starting to like him more, and i think his getting better game by game.

Thanks for being a supporter with a pea heart, have fun with that mate

Exactly, Melbourne supporters who are jumping on board now he is starting to play some good footy should have a good look at how good a 'supporter' they are.

Love this kinda info.
Who was the quickest ? Daniel Pearce??
for perspective any info on judds trials?

Judd was injured for his draft camp wasn't he?

He would undoubtedly be up there.

I think it was Daniel Pearce and Ashley Smith... come to think of it there was one bloke last year who ran 2.75 or something, Joel Wilkinson. So that must make Watts 4th fastest.

the thing i like is rater than just keep going along with the way he has been playing, he is working hard to try and get involved and make an impact, if he keeps doing that he will be ok.

Excellent summation.

Miles ahead of Naitanui but no West Coast supporter would ever agree.

I like Watts, think he'll be a good player at least.
He is considerably better than Naita at this point in time.

At the start of their careers Naita lacked awareness and game sense, whilst Watts lacked confidence.

Confidence is a lot easier to learn than natural skills.

Serious nonsense. Over the course of their very short careers, NN has had far more impact on games.

Jack Watts will finish his career known as a very high quality player at LEAST.