Jason Cloke will have a new club in 2004

Gotta admit, I could not work out why he played one of his best defenders in the forward line, when you are being killed in the back line. Any Pies supporter who argues that it was to cover Rocca's absence, must admit that your list must be pretty slim if that is the case.

Our strongest unit was our backline, so MM upsets it to try and plug a hole. Not the smartest thing I have seen but I guess MM's tactics made players fumble and play without committment?

Don't know what he said, but I said all game that he needed to be sent down back.

He's one of if not our best backman. He's okay as a big man up forward, but that's not where he's going to play his best footy and not where we are going to benefit from his ability.

In the case of Malthouse's use of Cloke, MM can't complain about the criticism he gets about it. Cloke should have been in the backline, and it was apparent early that our defense was struggling, and Cloke up forward wasn't working.

I don't think they will get rid of Clokey regardless of what he said, but I hope that MM remembers today and proceeds to play Cloke down back permanantly next year. That's where he is most damaging to opposition.

Terrible decision Mick, I guess he struggled but Ben Kinnear was a better option and only played about 60 TOG.

Just to extend on the HFF in the Anzac Clash for Cloke we lost by 66 pts and in 2002 against Geelong in Round 15, when we lost by 6 goals, Cloke also played at CHF.

Stats are now used for Cloke in Attack and they are very poor.

If Cloke plays in the Forward Line than expect the Pies to lose by a fair margin considering the three times this has happened.

Ahhhh I thought Mick had the "Sheesh I am gonna cop it this week in the media" face after the game.

He also had that "we lost again and why do i bother with this club at least the eagles never choked" face as well.

Originally posted by Babylove
Don't know what he said, but I said all game that he needed to be sent down back.

He's one of if not our best backman. He's okay as a big man up forward, but that's not where he's going to play his best footy and not where we are going to benefit from his ability.

In the case of Malthouse's use of Cloke, MM can't complain about the criticism he gets about it. Cloke should have been in the backline, and it was apparent early that our defense was struggling, and Cloke up forward wasn't working.

I don't think they will get rid of Clokey regardless of what he said, but I hope that MM remembers today and proceeds to play Cloke down back permanantly next year. That's where he is most damaging to opposition.

Who were they going to get him to play on?

Brown would smash him, and Perrycomo was doing the job anyway.

Lynch? Ahh no.

The game needed to be won, and playing him in his usual role as a loose man would have been counter productive IMO. They had to bridge a gap, not save goals.

Cloke has very few aspects to his game. His strengths are obvious and valuable, but his long term future requires him to improve on heaps of things. I don't reckon he can.

I only heard the end bit of what 3AW was talking about Cloke's "tirade" against Malthouse after match

Terry Wallarse said that it wasn't the smartest thing to be bagging the coach publically after the game - well duh!

Originally posted by NorthBhoy
Who were they going to get him to play on?

Brown would smash him, and Perrycomo was doing the job anyway.

Lynch? Ahh no.

The game needed to be won, and playing him in his usual role as a loose man would have been counter productive IMO. They had to bridge a gap, not save goals.

Cloke has very few aspects to his game. His strengths are obvious and valuable, but his long term future requires him to improve on heaps of things. I don't reckon he can.

The games were we have played at our best have been where we have played good defence. Jason Cloke loose up back would have made it harder for Brisbane to score goals. Having him, Presti, Wakelin and Clement up back, with a couple of running backman around them has always played well for us.

He's played up back all year with a lot of success. Why move him in the most important match of the year?

And are you saying that the only forwards that Brisbane have are Lynch and Brown?

I CAN'T TELL YOU WHAT CLOKE SAID BUT I COULD TELL YOU WHAT THE COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTERS SEATED AROUND ME WERE SAYING ABOUT CLOKE.
But I'll save you the grief:rolleyes:

Originally posted by The Floodbuster
I think Rocca is gone, Collingwood will **** him off.
Rocca went up to console and upset Josh Fraser and Josh's body language was 'just **** off ****er'

He should be. He stuffed any chance they had. At any other club he'd be given his matching orders, but not collingwood who seem to accept anything.

Jason Cloke will have a new club in 2004