Game Day JLT Community Series - Carlton v Fremantle Gameday Discussion

Jaksch or Jones? Flip a coin. Either would struggle with no delivery The priority for the next 3 weeks should be supply. St Kilda had more than double the forward 50 entries.

The recruitment of Marchbank signals the end for White or Rowe. Structurally we can't carry the extra tall.
Jaksch. I just don't think they're that impressed with him.

White will really only play this season where they think he can play a specific role I think. Whitey did a decent job running with someone last season didn't he?

would play Mckay and Macreadie this week with the senior players.

prefer Weitering stay in defence. why not play both LeBois and Pickett. reckon once Pickett gets full fitness will be explosive this year.

dont expect Cripps to play a full game. oppositions will now target him and i want to see protection from his team mates
We have already seen it.Pickett can run through and past opposition with ease.We have an asset.
However he has had pretty much a year out and is doing astonishingly well with what we have seen,he will not recover this year and will need to be tuned up with a preseason next year to see.
Depending on our depth and injury this year he may contribute this season anyway.
Welcome to Carlton Jarrod !
Le Bois can really move and appears and good option as well certainly down the track anyway.
Yes Cripps needs cover,he is a good bloke.Apparently Charlie is a clearance machine and could help him out with stints in the middle,plus SPS the "DOMINATOR"

Need to try Casboult and KJ as the key forwards. SOS and Charlie as the mobile options with LeBois and a resting mid or Sumner as the small forwards. Cas is the second ruck. McKay slots in from the bench while Cas rucking or Charlie is in the middle. More mobile and better marking than two genuine rucks we used last season.

Ohhh sh1111t :(

Jaksch. I just don't think they're that impressed with him.

White will really only play this season where they think he can play a specific role I think. Whitey did a decent job running with someone last season didn't he?
Jaksch has had one too many chances for not one stand out result....he dont bite da bullet and gets injured /crook anyway.
PS i am a Jaksch fan and saying this hurts.

Gee, am I the only one around here who was super impressed with Cuningham's game on the weekend. Despite the occasional hiccup when it came to kicking and giving away a silly free, I don't see why he shouldn't be persisted with.

Give him more game time I say, with a great level of support he could be something. Play him in this match and play him round one if he avoids any damage. The more experience, the better he'll be.

Play jaksch ffs... we didnt spend pick 7 on 3 bust while 2 mtr peter roams around destroying it for gc...give us 5 games in a row to see if he is indeed a dud.

It would seem the stuff he's doing at training, in meetings etc are at such a low standard the coaches can't even warrant him a JLT game.

It's not like the coaches would be biased against him, giving every single other player a run except him for no reason.
If this is true he's only got himself to blame...and it's very disappointing because he is a talent and a nice shot at goal...would prefer over Jones & probably even Casboult.

Probably need to play close to our round 1 side. Plus a few promising youngsters who are close to getting a game.

B: Sheehan Macreadie Plowman
HB: Docherty Marchbank Simpson
C: C Curnow Cripps E Curnow
HF: Pickett Weitering Silvagni
F: Wright Casboult Lebois
OB: Kreuzer Murphy Gibbs
IC: Palmer Kerridge Smedts Thomas Petrevski-Seton Armfield

EM:
Fisher - Has something but needs to build his craft in the VFL before taking on the AFL.
Rowe - If Macreadie, Marchbank and Weitering are ready to go then we aren't gaining heaps with Rowe.
Jaksch - Would have liked to fit him in after 4 in the VFL but couldn't fit him in.
McKay - Needs to clunk a few marks and build his game in the VFL. Hopefully gets to play in a winning side there.
Cuningham - Just not finding the footy and looks some way off just yet. Want to see him build his game up in the VFL, perhaps add some strings to his bow there.

Really expose the young defenders again but this time with some leadership and rebound back there. Marchbank has been outstanding and Macreadie looked great last week. Plowman has been solid. Weitering for a whole game forward and a midfield capable of supplying. Good mix of tall and small forwards.

With the young ones, some are ready, some aren't, some won't make it and some will. Can't be playing them just because they are young, I think they need to reach a level first. Curnow, Marchbank, Plowman and Pickett look ready. On last week Macreadie looks ready. Petrevski-Seton I would expect to be AFL ready. Fisher just a bit small and not quite clean but will likely get there. Cuningham had some ok games last year but just very low numbers for a mid. McKay showing a bit but not holding his marks. Some big games and hands on the footy in the VFL will put them in a good position to come back into the AFL.

This team:

B: Sheehan Rowe Plowman
HB: Marchbank Weits Simmo
C: Smedts Cripps Murphy
HF: Silvagni Levi Charlie C
F: Le Bois Harry Sumner

Foll: Kreuz, Ed, Gibba

IC: Cuningham, Macreadie, Kerridge, Wright, Army, Polson

But don't panic, Bolts has devised a cunning plan to post a competitive score , which they've been rehearsing at closed training sessions. All will be revealed in round 1. ;)

I've heard we have been kicking competitive scores are training and at intra-clubs.

They count both sides, though....

Jaksch or Jones? Flip a coin. Either would struggle with no delivery The priority for the next 3 weeks should be supply. St Kilda had more than double the forward 50 entries.

The recruitment of Marchbank signals the end for White or Rowe. Structurally we can't carry the extra tall.
No surprise this with St Kilda playing a pretty strong midfield compared to our group. After half time we really only had Ed Curnow from our usual starting midfield. Bolton would have known this was going to be the case before the game, given Cripps was only ever going to have a light run.

Rest assured Friday night will see our best midfield out there, although I expect both Cripps & Murphy to still have their midfield time managed.

Took Selwood to the cleaners. People in the crowd were chanting Kouta whenever he touched it. By far his best game for us.

Can't see him playing JLT 3. Got hit high late when he slipped and seemed to hurt his neck (which he's previously done damage to).

Took out Martin against the Tigers, nearly got us over the line. Went everywhere with him and did a good job.

Rest assured Friday night will see our best midfield out there, although I expect both Cripps & Murphy to still have their midfield time managed.

My gut feel is we will win the last JLT game. The real team needs a hit out. Reckon Murphy will play a full game myself and Cripps three quarters. Like a few others have mentioned already would really like to see Jaksch play this one to see where he is at but I am also expecting him to not play as seems he is further down pecking order than he should be for someone been in the system this long.

Two players this pre-season I have found the silence deafening of them not mentioned by either other players or coaches in any interviews I seen this pre-season. These two players are Dale Thomas and Kristian Jaksch.
The only thing I can read into that is that they are not really making anyone sit up and take notice in whatever they are doing.

This game should be a full dress rehearsal. Expecting our round 1 team out on the park. Maybe game time managed and that is it.

I think our best 22 is very competitive ....but take a few exp players out like in rounds 1/2 of JLT and we are woeful. I also think Freo are average despite their off-season recruiting.

I think we will give Freo a good run and be cherry right for round 1. A lot does depend on the quality of our inside 50s but i'm hopeful. I think Pickett and Marchbank aren't first year kids in age terms and can offer some immediate impact. I think Silver will again provide a great lead up target. Cuningham will be great as a 5th type running mid.

We have also done our bit to give Buckley, Graham, Boek their chances. Decision making, kicking, rushed disposal all cause non stop turnovers. Leaving them out makes us a 3-5 goal better side.

Gee, am I the only one around here who was super impressed with Cuningham's game on the weekend. Despite the occasional hiccup when it came to kicking and giving away a silly free, I don't see why he shouldn't be persisted with.

Give him more game time I say, with a great level of support he could be something. Play him in this match and play him round one if he avoids any damage. The more experience, the better he'll be.

His was the best improvement from 1st to 2nd game .

Not as hesitant and certainly more involved. Interesting given the lack of midfield power.

He might be one of those guys who don't believe somethings possible until he's actually done it. They need their ability and instincts verified before they can progress.

These types dismiss all the tyre pumping they get as just that . Reckon Simmo would have been one of those types for a while.

His was the best improvement from 1st to 2nd game .

Not as hesitant and certainly more involved. Interesting given the lack of midfield power.

He might be one of those guys who don't believe somethings possible until he's actually done it. They need their ability and instincts verified before they can progress.

These types dismiss all the tyre pumping they get as just that . Reckon Simmo would have been one of those types for a while.
This is more important game.We dont have to win it but be within 20-30 points..and can pull our best out of game to rest for Richmond.
We have had a big list turnover again and we may struggle a bit with that...we may see a slow start to season and come good mid season....really hard to tell but we look pretty rough at the moment...
I really would not like to be in Bolts shoes.....bailing us out is going to honestly be a huge job....like a few years worth just to be average...
Hope SPS gets a game we need some help.

Game Day JLT Community Series - Carlton v Fremantle Gameday Discussion