Joe Daniher

Daniher's Calder just like his two bros.
Clothier's on our NSW scholarship scheme.

Any other points you'd like me to re-iterate?? ;)

Yes. Have guys at a nightclub ever tested the Nash principle to see if it would work? :p

Cool that Daniher is playing at Calder. Means he is less likely to want to play in Sydney. I was a bit worried he might be playing in NSW. What type of player is Clothier? I know he's a mid. :p

Yes. Have guys at a nightclub ever tested the Nash principle to see if it would work? :p

Cool that Daniher is playing at Calder. Means he is less likely to want to play in Sydney. I was a bit worried he might be playing in NSW. What type of player is Clothier? I know he's a mid. :p
TBH all anyone can say, right now, is that he's dominating. Some sort of on-baller, probably. He's 15 playing in the local U17s (no idea how strong the comp is), kicking bags & getting heaps of the footy.
Anything could happen between now & 2013.

TBH all anyone can say, right now, is that he's dominating. Some sort of on-baller, probably. He's 15 playing in the local U17s (no idea how strong the comp is), kicking bags & getting heaps of the footy.
Anything could happen between now & 2013.

Thanks. It would be great if we could get a gun mid for almost nothing ala the Crows getting Walker.

joe daniher turns 17 early next year - players have to be 18 by 31st December so he just misses out on 2011 Draft father/son. However:

Team GWS will also be given access to four additional 17-year-old selections.
These players, born from January-April 1994 (which joe daniher is), must all be traded during either the 2011 or 2012 trading periods

So if Daniher advises GWS he will only play for Essendon under father-son rule then they may opt to select him and on-trade him to Essendon for a player/draft pick. This would allow Joe Daniher into the system a year earlier.

Suggestion: Andrew Welsh or similar straight trade for Joe Daniher.

If that occurs, I'm pretty sure GWS would want a first rounder or a quality player because we'd be using out first rounder in 2012 draft most likely to pick joey up.

EFC or SFC will have have first DIBS at Joe Daniher.

May have to select him in 2011 instead of 2012.

Precedent set with Dylan Buckley the son of Jim Buckley.

understand this but this ruling would mean essendon are committed to taking daniher in the 2012 draft. dylan buckley will be 18 by 31st december 2011 so is eligible for 2011 draft whereas joe daniher isn't. I guess it depends on whether Essendon wants to wait 12 months and potentially lose a high draft pick depending on father/son bidding system.

To get him onto the list earlier Essendon should consider a trade.

i think essendon and GWS should work out a deal that sees:
  • Essendon secure Joe Daniher at seasons end 2011 rather than 2012
  • GWS receive draft pick, player or both in compensation.
From Essendon's perspective they may think he'll be nominated as a R1 selection in 2012. So they may offer GWS an acceptable player or 2nd-3rd draft pick for him to save using father/son rule and get him into system 12mths earlier

From GWS perspective they are resigned to losing these players (4x17yo) anyway so why not lose a player that would go to essendon in any case.

If that occurs, I'm pretty sure GWS would want a first rounder or a quality player because we'd be using out first rounder in 2012 draft most likely to pick joey up.

we'd be better off giving up our 1st rounder in 2011 than in 2012. The 2011 draft is compromised again with GWS having 9 of the first 15 picks.

The 2012 draft will be less compromised (compensation picks likely to be used) so Essendon should look to deal in 2011. Say Essendon finishes 13th in 2012 (would hope not) - this would mean they potentially would have draft pick no.4. If Essendon are committed to father/son ruling then one other club would no doubt place a 1st round bid so that it propels the rest of them up the order.

We'd be giving up less in 2011 by parting with a 1st rounder than in 2012 potentially for mine.

This is how i'd play it personally.

Why should we give them anything, FS should mean untouchable regardless of what's going on with the draft bullshit.

Instead of committing early draft pick in 2012 under father/son rule we obtain him a year earlier thru this loophole, most likely effectively paying significantly less by trading than by going thru father/son rule scenario.

I'm sorry, but I think your logic is flawed. You are suggesting we would pay less for Joe D if we traded for him this year, but why would it be less? GWS will be receiving bids for these players (who would all likely be top 10 picks in 2012 draft) from 17 clubs, therefore for us to trump at least 13 of the 16 other clubs to get Joe D this way we would need to give something worth a top 10 pick at an absolute minimum.

I'm all for trying to make this trade happen with GWS, but I think we should aim for the best young mid in that pool of players who has potential to be a star rather than waste it on a player that is already guaranteed to us in 2012 at a below market price (how far below depending on where we finish).

Great idea mate :thumbsu: only problem would be trusting GWS to follow through. Would be hard to guarantee they would follow through. But worth a shot definitely. If we can secure him a year earlier for less would love it

This is right. Sheedy wants him and I have no doubt he would screw us and we miss him altogether.

Correct me if I am wrong though...but IF we come 4th last and receive pick 4...the only way we would have to use pick 4 on Daniher would be if the teams who came last, 2nd last and 3rd last bid for Daniher. Howver if a team bids theur first rounder which is AFTER Essendon's pick 4, we would only have to use our 2nd rounder. Almost certain that is how it works.

That's correct.

Joe Daniher