Oppo Camp John Noble (Traded to GCS 2024)

That's probably an understatement about JFN, he has played scintillating attack from half back footy for us, couple of wonderful goals running through chf at full tilt.

Gonna miss him and reckon Johnny is heavily underrated, happy with the Houston upgrade though.
Yeah, your post sums it up for me, too. I loved JFN, and I agree - he was very much underrated.
His heroism in defence was so often scintillating, and i am sure was an inspiration to his team mates.

I will miss him too, and I wish him all the best. He never said a word at the time when he was overlooked for the GF. And buried his grief by preparing for 2024, and giving us his best shot for this year as well.

And yes, he deserved a premiership medal just as much as anyone else in our squad.

But the recruitment of Dan Houston as his replacement, from the standpoint of raising the quality of the team, certainly does so. Hard not to, since DH is AA material.

I am sure that we will lament the loss of Noble's pace and willingness to run over the coming year. He was not that great overhead, and his kicking was a bit Heath Shaw like, but his breakthrough approach to half-back will not be easily replaced. He was the match winning difference in quite a lot of games over the last three years. Houston will apparently add a lot in disposal accuracy from half back, but I don't believe (I haven't seen much of him) he will be faster or more daring.

I don't think Crisp will be needed in the midfield and think he'll replace JFNs half back dash.

I might be underestimating Noble.

Kicking 30m is more efficient than running the ball the same distance.

His 1:1 efforts were not above average, and his disposal could be sloppy.

I loved his attitude, and he deserved a medal over Ginny.

Underrated by some, overrated by many.

Unhappy the club may have been vindicated in believing another half back on the list could best help deliver a premiership.

Thanks for the memories JN.
I’ll probably forget you ever played for the Pies in 5 years.

I might be underestimating Noble.

Kicking 30m is more efficient than running the ball the same distance.

His 1:1 efforts were not above average, and his disposal could be sloppy.

I loved his attitude, and he deserved a medal over Ginny.
I agree with everything except kicking over running. When you run you break lines and put the opposition structures under pressure but I still love the little ranga

Kicking it 60m after running 30m is more efficient than chip kicking it 30m.

The distance was arbitrary. My point being the ball travels faster when kicked vs when carried.

Relating back to Noble, he’d often run like a headless chook only to dispose in a way that didn’t do his manic effort justice.

The distance was arbitrary. My point being the ball travels faster when kicked vs when carried.

Relating back to Noble, he’d often run like a headless chook only to dispose in a way that didn’t do his manic effort justice.

Yep, this. His kicking efficiency was at about 75-80% which on face value looks great, but it’s off the back of lots of rushed 45m+ blazing down the line kicks to an outnumbered team mate which skew the results. Be nice if we had access to the “next possession” stats to better quantify those kicks.

That doesn’t take into account that better options get opened up after running for 30m that don’t appear if you just kick straight away.

Noble may not have been the best distributor but his run and carry was an overall net gain for the club.

That doesn’t take into account that better options get opened up after running for 30m that don’t appear if you just kick straight away.

Noble may not have been the best distributor but his run and carry was an overall net gain for the club.

He deserved his spot in the '24 line-up (and deserved a spot in the '23 GF more than Ginni did).

With Houston and Perryman in the side, '25 would be a different proposition.

He deserved his spot in the '24 line-up (and deserved a spot in the '23 GF more than Ginni did).

With Houston and Perryman in the side, '25 would be a different proposition.

Ginni didn’t take his spot in 23 though. Markov and WHE effectively did in combination. To slot him into the 22 ahead of them would mean moving WHE out of the backline where he’d been very effective, or dropping Markov.

in hindsight Lipinski shouldn’t have been sub and should have been in the starting 22. Perhaps it could have been a toss of the coin between Ginnivan and Noble.

All irrelevant now… they won….

Selection isn’t always based on who is more deserving.

Ginni didn’t take his spot in 23 though. Markov and WHE effectively did in combination. To slot him into the 22 ahead of them would mean moving WHE out of the backline where he’d been very effective, or dropping Markov.

in hindsight Lipinski shouldn’t have been sub and should have been in the starting 22. Perhaps it could have been a toss of the coin between Ginnivan and Noble.

All irrelevant now… they won….

Selection isn’t always based on who is more deserving.

Understand and agree with all the above.

My point was made solely on how I feel about Ginni and JFN as people.

Oppo Camp John Noble (Traded to GCS 2024)