[l
Trade 1:
Stk get; Dougal Howard, Paddy Ryder and pick 10

Port get; Pick 12 and 18

Trade 2;

Stk get; Pick 13, Pick 32, Pick 45,
Pick 51, Pick 53

WB get; J. Bruce, Pick 10 and Pick 82.
We get Bruce and also end up with 10? Sounds too good, how do we trade for Keath? What can Saints do with 45,51 and 53?

I don't get why there's reports that the Dogs don't want to give up their future first because they have that Ugle guy who could be a top 5 pick.

Isn't that a reason to get rid of their future first?

Don't want to waste the pick on matching a top 5 pick, when you could use multiple 2nds or 3rds, no?

I don't get why there's reports that the Dogs don't want to give up their future first because they have that Ugle guy who could be a top 5 pick.

Don't want to waste the pick on matching a top 5 pick, when you could use multiple 2nds or 3rds, no?

There are no reports stating we don’t wanna trade next years first. We apparently just don’t wanna trade this years first. Wouldn’t be surprised if we traded next years first.

You can only use multiple picks if you have the list spaces to match. We’re probably wanting to avoid going to a big points deficit as we also have Nick Stevens and Ewan MacPherson we may also want to match a bid on.

With the Bruce to WB deal stalling and with Essendon looking for a ready-made replacement if Daniher goes, would the Bombers look at Bruce?

Essendon give: Daniher, future third round pick
Essendon get: Bruce, pick 5, pick 25

Sydney give: Jones, pick 5, pick 25
Sydney get: Daniher, future third round pick

Saints give: Bruce
Saints get: Jones

The future third is a sweetener for Sydney to help them with points to match bids on next year’s crop of academy players. They’d get back into this year’s draft through a Papley trade.

If we finish say, 6th next year, that gives us roughly picks 13, 31, 49, 67 etc BEFORE any compromising ie Suns getting priority picks, academy and father-son bids etc.

Can you imagine trying to pay for a pick 3 bid with picks 31, 49 and 67 etc, especially with father sons of Stevens and MacPherson to bid on also? Unless we do some MASSIVE wheeling and dealing, (or completely spud it up next year), there's no way we're getting in front of the Ugle-Hagen bid...

With the Bruce to WB deal stalling and with Essendon looking for a ready-made replacement if Daniher goes, would the Bombers look at Bruce?

The future third is a sweetener for Sydney to help them with points to match bids on next year’s crop of academy players. They’d get back into this year’s draft through a Papley trade.

I'm more surprised by Sydney not looking at Bruce if the Daniher deal falls over.

Not really. You need to fit Max King and Ryder/Marshall in your forward 50 next year with Membrey a certain starter too. Plus not extending his contract. Also bringing in Dougal Howard.

Max won't be the go to guy in his first real year. Members is a third forward. Ryder will float in, but isn't a focal point and is 32.

Can't see it happening.

Max won't be the go to guy in his first real year. Members is a third forward. Ryder will float in, but isn't a focal point and is 32.

Can't see it happening.

I don’t think Ben King is a factor mate And isn’t a link to Bruces situation, no offence.

Yep. They would have to much the Doggies deal though.

If the rumour about Ben King signing for Gold Coast is true, then this trade is probably dead in the water.
No relevance. Clubs will still be chasing King next year and every year after that. Contracts are worth nothing and just give GC a little more leverage if he does decide to leave.

Who knows about a draft that is more a year away.

Dogs will have a better idea next trade period what they need to do.

Remember, Brander was considered pick 1 a year before his draft year and then went pick 13.

Age article out this arvo saying dogs holding firm on 32. And holding firm on a later pick for Keith. Makes sense I reckon, surely the saints have to accept it eventually.
Just standard negotiation if you ask me, I don’t see the Saints releasing him (keeping in mind he is contracted) for pick 32. I like the pick 13 and pick 32 for Bruce and pick 18 that the Saints fan proposed, it looks like a win/win to me.

It makes a lot of sense.

Dogs don't need 32 for keath. He's out of contract. Was a cat B rookie. Has injury issues now.

Bruce is a much more vital piece of a serious premiership tilt for the dogs.

Pick 13 will help the saints get their other deals done.

Traded Josh Bruce [traded to Western Bulldogs for #32 and #51]