Josh Fraser (the Matthew Richardson Role)

TheClokes

Apr 7, 2005
In Berlin, by the wall
Lord Auch
With Cameron Wood and Chris Bryan playing in the ruck... Is it possible to play Josh Fraser in a Matthew Richardson type role?

Starting him on the wing, and letting him be the link player and also drop forward to kick goals.

If Collingwood during the pre-season built an engine into Nathan Brown i think he would best the best player in our team that could possibly do the Richo role.

Josh was playing his best footy when Mckee was playing well in the ruck, i think he should spend more time up forward, now we have got wood. But to put him on the wing well, i reckon he would embarrass himself!

Definately would not embarass himself. Fair dinkum do people actually remember more than one game of footy on here? The number of times in the last 4 years Josh has popped up in a back pocket or half forward flank where some fat arse lazy oppo ruck has let him slide and taken a last line of defence mark or booted a sneaky goal is insane. In one of the most gutless, insipid and moronic games of footy I have watched my club play (2003 GF) he was the only man who walked off that field from CFC who could have put his hand on his heart and said, "I gave my all'. Instead of questioning his ability how about you just drop to your knees and thank whatever god you believe in that we have him?

If he was a ruck in any other team he would be raved about, did anyone actually watch the HOF game, you know the one where the best footy players in the country play and one Josh Fraser did play very well? Guess what the selection criteria was for that game? From Mark Thompson's own mouth: "Players that can win contested footy". Players that can win contested footy, oooh lets all bang on about tap ruckmen shall we. Sorry, look at Spider Everitt, tap ruckmen are an extremely OVERATED commodity. Just remember that line before the words embarassment and Josh Fraser are mentioned in the same paragraph. "PLAYERS THAT CAN WIN CONTESTED FOOTY"

Anyone want to suggest that Collingwood don't need that sort of player? That is why Bryan was so useful on Friday night, he actually has some physical presence and I personally tip we haven't seen the last of him and that Josh could play any position on the field that suits a tall man without breaking a sweat. BTW Richo lovers, if you are one of about 3 players in your team that can actually play footy you will look a lot better than you really are (massive Richo fan myself, but lets not get carried away here people):mad:. Some people talking CAUS on here.

Definately would not embarass himself. Fair dinkum do people actually remember more than one game of footy on here? The number of times in the last 4 years Josh has popped up in a back pocket or half forward flank where some fat arse lazy oppo ruck has let him slide and taken a last line of defence mark or booted a sneaky goal is insane. In one of the most gutless, insipid and moronic games of footy I have watched my club play (2003 GF) he was the only man who walked off that field from CFC who could have put his hand on his heart and said, "I gave my all'. Instead of questioning his ability how about you just drop to your knees and thank whatever god you believe in that we have him?

If he was a ruck in any other team he would be raved about, did anyone actually watch the HOF game, you know the one where the best footy players in the country play and one Josh Fraser did play very well? Guess what the selection criteria was for that game? From Mark Thompson's own mouth: "Players that can win contested footy". Players that can win contested footy, oooh lets all bang on about tap ruckmen shall we. Sorry, look at Spider Everitt, tap ruckmen are an extremely OVERATED commodity. Just remember that line before the words embarassment and Josh Fraser are mentioned in the same paragraph. "PLAYERS THAT CAN WIN CONTESTED FOOTY"

Anyone want to suggest that Collingwood don't need that sort of player? That is why Bryan was so useful on Friday night, he actually has some physical presence and I personally tip we haven't seen the last of him and that Josh could play any position on the field that suits a tall man without breaking a sweat. BTW Richo lovers, if you are one of about 3 players in your team that can actually play footy you will look a lot better than you really are (massive Richo fan myself, but lets not get carried away here people):mad:. Some people talking CAUS on here.

I said he would embarrass himself on a wing moron, the opp coach would lop a mobile medium sized player on him and exploit fraser til the cows come home.

the only other players in the competition capable of the Richo role are Franklin and Goodes.

I think Ben Reid could do it, but i doubt he will.

In reality, Richo is a unique and frakish athlete.

I would agree with all that.

Ried would need to do a bit of work on his tank and hands but his speed and agility are fine for the role. Though we have a lot of midfield rotaters, flankers etc so his is more value to us being developed as a foward.

To be honest most good key fowards are too valuable to move out of the foward line. Richo has been moved on to the wing to get more out of him and relieve some of the goal kicking pressure from him kind of a unique situation.

I said he would embarrass himself on a wing moron, the opp coach would lop a mobile medium sized player on him and exploit fraser til the cows come home.
Fraser has seldom had a genuine towelling in his career, why would it start simply becaaue he played on a wing? Have a look at how modern footy is actually played, ball winners do that, they win ball, if Fraser is winning footy in the centre of the ground how will a medium size player exploit him any more than any other type? If he is winning more footy than they are thats all that matters. Considering your effort towards the forum was about 3 sentences, get back to me when you actually have a point of view that has evidence other than the word moron, thanks.

he could definitely play on the wing and play well but nowhere near the richo role simply because he hasn't got the same ability to take a contested mark. He would have no problem covering the ground and he is certainly capable of playing a damaging role on the wing.

Also, franklin and goodes are definitely not the only other ones who could play the same role. Jono Brown, matthew pavlich, nick riewoldt, brett burton, chad cornes and maybe even travis cloke can play that role. Travis cloke is just a guess but each of the other could certainly play the role because they each have a massive tank, are good in the air and read the play well. fraser has a massive tank adn reads teh play fairly well but is not fantastic overhead.

Josh Fraser (the Matthew Richardson Role)