Scandal Karmichael Hunt admits purchasing cocaine for GCS players - Suns commence investigation into claims

Well make it that footballers can only be tested when at work then. Not 6am on a Sunday morning while at home.
ASADA do the 6am tests, they don't just test on match day, just ask the Collingwood boys. Getting tested at that time in the morning is part of the price you pay for competing as an elite athlete, don't like then find another job.

It is also worth noting that 3 non-attendances for ASADA/WADA drug testing inside a 12 month period means an automatic 12 month ban (but willing to be the AFL wouldn't enforce that). Currently there are about 5 or 6 GWS players who have a mark against their names because they had not properly informed the relevant AFL bodies of a change of address, so testers turned up at the wrong addresses.

Then explain why if it is good enough for private industry to be able to sack professional workers for failing a drug test why should the AFL hide them away behind closed doors?

my original point was that you cannot equate those working in construction and mining (where there are definite OH&S issues) with a bunch of footballers partying post season.

What benefit would be gained by naming and shaming those that have tested positive?

Maybe as a WC fan I should be feeling some sort of schadenfreude, due to the (undeserved imo) media/AFL moral panic surrounding our club in 05/06.

Honestly though, this is ridiculous. It's cocaine, not rape or bashings.... or any number of dubious things that players have gotten up to. These are young men with a lot of money. Drug policy and prohibition is ridiculous from a medical/policing/societal/academic/legal (my field) perspective.

It's just a shame because GC is such a basket case atm. Lame Captain, terrible performance, injuries and firing a coach for really no reason.

The only scandal I suppose would be the inaction by GC hierarchy. Hardly a hanging offence really. No positive drug tests, really just here-say. What possible incentive would a club have to weed out any recreational drug users, when there was really no evidence supporting it until now.

Storm - Teacup - Move on. GC have way more pressing issues. A few players using coke isn't representative of their cultural issues. If they want to rectify those, perhaps start with removing an inarguably selfish captain.

I really shouldn't be responding to a lagging dog.

So, lemme get this straight.

You buy a coupla 8-balls of Charlie for the post season soiree.

You share the drugs with your teammates (as you say, work colleagues and mebbe friends).

Y'all have a swingin' time.

However you are in the sights of the crime commission (who're tryin' to fry the bigger fish).

You get nabbed and squeal like an altar boy trapped with a creepy priest with a raging boner.

Top bloke :thumbsu:

Who wouldn't do the same in his position though?

Would you go to Prison rather than make your mates give an albeit awkward apology, with essentially zero chance of criminal prosecution and very little probably professional ramifications>

If he didn't purchase the coke, i'm sure someone else would have.

Who wouldn't do the same in his position though?

Would you go to Prison rather than make your mates give an albeit awkward apology, with essentially zero chance of criminal prosecution and very little probably professional ramifications>

If he didn't purchase the coke, i'm sure someone else would have.

You can't be sure about that nor would that line (excuse the pun) hold up.

Without knowing the full facts and unless there are any incriminating photo's/ videos, I may be inclined to call Karmichael out as a liar.

What a fool whichever way you swing it.

You can't be sure about that nor would that line (excuse the pun) hold up.

Without knowing the full facts and unless there are any incriminating photo's/ videos, I may be inclined to call Karmichael out as a liar.

What a fool whichever way you swing it.

What? So the 10 (plus?) other players would have not have consumed drugs lest Karmichael provided it? On the Gold Coast? Where it's incredibly easy to find product.

Also, I won't excuse the pun - love a good pun. I wouldn't say it's a defence, it's just reality.

I don't know why everyone thinks he was/is such an average guy. He got caught... that's all. He did a lot more for GC than Folau did for GWS and really only now when the GC looks like a joke is this such an issue.

I personally wouldn't (it's been a long time since I carried any weight in drugs) however he probably was shitting himself, and I'm sure the the coppers were playing on that.

Fair call, though jail time for an 8 ball....that's pretty stiff. Qld is somewhat similar to WA in that Hunt could have been facing upwards of 20 years. Now he'd never serve that, no judge would sentence him to that. He would likely serve jail time though, if he was charged with it... two offences etc.

You've also got to look at it from his perspective, it's not like any of these other players are stepping forward and claiming any of it, taking joint responsibility for the procurement as opposed to lumping it all on KH - making the supply charge available. Again, these guys are athletes, not criminals.

Someone whose name is hilariously already associated with the white stuff, or so I've heard. Like Mary-Jane is to marijuana, ____ is to cocaine.

Hmm, well Josh Hall rhymes with 8 - Ball, which again rhymes with Hall - Aaron hall. Now Aaron in the bible was Moses older brother, who had a magical rod (hey hey). When he cast down that rod, it turned into a serpent, which Swallowed the other serpents. David Swallow is a lapsed Christian, putting him in contention for bad boy of the month. You know another infamous David? David Owen Dodd, who was lynched for being a Confederate spy. Now Tom Lynch is a big boy and big boys are in demand, just ask Bruce. Another in demand player is Mr. Charlie Dixon. This is where the trail runs cold for me.

It's probably Guy 'Baking Soda' McKenna.

http://m.heraldsun.com.au/sport/gol...hael-hunt-claims/story-fn9eu7in-1227423995511

QUEENSLAND’S Crime and Corruption Commission says it has no immediate plans to charge any more professional footballers despite the revelations of disgraced code-hopper Karmichael Hunt.

Hunt allegedly identified a number of former Gold Coast Suns teammates and a rugby league star in a statement to law enforcement officers before he appeared in court on drug charges earlier this year.

That has only just come in though.

The whole 3 strikes policy in its current format is an absolute joke, it was designed to hide player drug use from the public not to get players not to use.

If you think that it is fair, then get into the real world, an increasing number of workplaces are now requiring workers to undergo random drug and alcohol tests, found to have an illicit substance in your system and you're fired. Part of the standard contract inside the mining industry and become almost standard inside the construction industry too.

Yeah because playing footy is similar to working in extremely dangerous jobs in mining and construction.

Then explain why if it is good enough for private industry to be able to sack professional workers for failing a drug test why should the AFL hide them away behind closed doors?

1) In AFL you are a public figure. Straight up things will be handled differently. If you can't see that then I can't help you

2) it's better/easier to have a zero tolerance policy than to try to distinguish those who are 'under the influence' and those who merely tested positive after drugs a week back

3) it's easier to have a zero tolerance policy across the entire company than it is to distinguish between 'dangerous' jobs (actual miners, machine operators) and not dangerous jobs (office workers). But to compare this to another company is fair dinkum ******ed.

Gary Ablett wanted to be a captain. Well, he got his wish.

Captain of the worst club in AFL history.

$$$$$$ + draft picks + cocaine + alcohol + drug cheating + sacked coaches

Culture.
How do we know for certain that Gary Ablett jr is clean? I'm not saying he isn't, but how do we know for certain? I love the way everyone just assumes he isn't one of the Gold Coast coke sniffers because he reads the bible. How many of those bible-thumping televangelists have been done for snorting coke? It almost goes with the territory. He was part of a winning premiership culture at Geelong, but he chose the money and glitz of the Gold Coast. It always seemed a bit dodgy to me.

Ablett senior
  1. sensational footballer with an abundance of natural talent
  2. not a great team player, liked to get away from the club at every opportunity
  3. a reluctant star, media shy
  4. prayed to his Lord Jesus Christ
  5. huge appetite for illicit drugs

Ablett junior
  1. check
  2. check
  3. check
  4. check
  5. ?????
Gary jnr has grown up in his old man's image. He has always said his dad was his biggest hero. Let's not forget, he was 15/16 years old when his old man went on that infamous bender at Crown Casino. I know what I was like at that age. Gaz was a bit of a tear away and was into his surfing and skateboarding. It's highly possible, Gary jr would've been exposed in some shape or form to his old man's seedier lifestyle habits. Just saying.

Tell me where it hurts :$

Yeah this is going to fall flat, you have one bloke making claims trying to lower his sentence without any other evidence to implicate the others. Fact is, at least under this current drugs system we won't know who it was, or what they did, or how many drugs they apparently snorted.

I also enjoy the people here who think it is only our players that get into the nose candy. I reckon there would be a healthy number from other clubs that do the exact thing, or have other weapons of choice.

Also FWIW stuff like Marley Williams putting someone in hospital, Hurley bashing a cabbie and Greene taking to someone with a crutch are worse offences than getting into post season cocaine... But drugs are the topic of the season.

327303-6407be90-1fc6-11e5-9bcb-f95a534f046c.jpg

Yeah this is going to fall flat, you have one bloke making claims trying to lower his sentence without any other evidence to implicate the others. Fact is, at least under this current drugs system we won't know who it was, or what they did, or how many drugs they apparently snorted.

I also enjoy the people here who think it is only our players that get into the nose candy. I reckon there would be a healthy number from other clubs that do the exact thing, or have other weapons of choice.

Also FWIW stuff like Marley Williams putting someone in hospital, Hurley bashing a cabbie and Greene taking to someone with a crutch are worse offences than getting into post season cocaine... But drugs are the topic of the season.
Nah, the story is more about what a rabble the Gold Coast Suns are.

Living the good life, getting paid good money, doing whatever they want and wasting their potential.

Scandal Karmichael Hunt admits purchasing cocaine for GCS players - Suns commence investigation into claims