KDFL March 07 - May 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

how did the coach go????? jace carton
very solid start from coach Carton. very tough in and under midfielder with vision and skills to match. the standout feature of his game however is his evasiveness. Very strong through the torso and shrugs tackles with ease, if your trying to take him down bring a mate:thumbsu: , good luck wrapping him up boys i dont envy you:p

Interesting to see nobody rates avenel a chance to make finals. I'm not saying they will, but i will say that they will surprise a few if they can reproduce the footy from the first quarter of the season.

Good to kick start the year with 4 points yes but I cant see Avenel playing finals in '07 Albo's. I think its great in appointing an outsider to coach after Fess retired, I believe theres a real enthusiasm and the joint is rejuvenated ive been told, but the poor Tiges were well undermanned as you stated.

As much as it breaks me heart to hear of Yea's troubles and no one wants to be part of the departing group before the slide, Avenel itself has been thru its down period and its good too see them start 2007 with a victory.

Only 5 players left from Yea' 2005 flag team, with another 3 (Dunn, Hayes, Hilderbrand) regular senior players. Throw in say 20 games to young Doug Aldous and at a guess of the remainig 12-13 eight would be debutantes, the others with a handful btween them.

So whilst I agree in praising the Swans for a deserved win, lets not forget the effort by the Yea kids who lost the final 3 terms by a kick to a side that shoulda put em away by 20+.

Dont put the cart before the horse and talk finals yet, but I reckon if ya's can get competitive for 4 quarters week in week out then 2008 is a real possibility with a big goalkicker. Lets be honest in the KDFL those that figure late each year have had them - Meka, Pearce, Mitchell, Wayman etc.

hey guys just some feedback and i no it is only round 1 but would girgarre be regarded as top three material or Ardy falling of the pace this year

not sure about top 3 material but i know the boys are looking forward to more success then the last few years....[/quote]

You've already had more success than the last few years cos you've won a game. good effort beating ardy but didn't gig recruit a heap of players last year and draw round one and then flop? I will reserve judgement until they win more than 1 game and don't get smashed every 2nd week. How'd the big recruit canute go in the scooby do's?

touché, you've got my number there Tav, unfortunately for my game it's quite a regular occurance throughout the year, rarely does it not come out once or twice during a match. I was just glad when Trotts sent a msg out for me to stop kicking out.....
I thought you guys were a very well drilled team and both teams were deserved winners but we got those last couple of goals at the right time.
I thought you were a standout for Rushy and was very impressed by your backline they were very quick to rebound the ball back into the middle.
That young ruckman your reffering to would be Paul Enright in his first game of senior footy and hasn't played for two years since thirds days...

Looks like Paul Enright will be one to keep an eye on, then.. Our backline was strengthened by the inclusion of Jake Llyod, who plays 2nd's with the Bendigo Bombers, apparently we've got him for the next 4wks, but are obviously hoping to keep him for the season.. Cheers for the compliment, though I'm not too sure it's justified..

Jacbax - I was keen to chase you up for a beer (and bodzy for that matter), but couldn't find you blokes! Guess on the return trip I'll have to hunt you out.. Yeh, I agree with your sentiments - both sides deserved to win and both should get a bit of confidence out of the game.

Looks like Paul Enright will be one to keep an eye on, then.. Our backline was strengthened by the inclusion of Jake Llyod, who plays 2nd's with the Bendigo Bombers, apparently we've got him for the next 4wks, but are obviously hoping to keep him for the season.. Cheers for the compliment, though I'm not too sure it's justified..

Jacbax - I was keen to chase you up for a beer (and bodzy for that matter), but couldn't find you blokes! Guess on the return trip I'll have to hunt you out.. Yeh, I agree with your sentiments - both sides deserved to win and both should get a bit of confidence out of the game.

It was justified by most our blokes that night back home at the pub mate you were bog for Rushy...
We were inside your club rooms drinking our beers, pretty sure most your senior blokes were out hanging around the cars sucking 'em back...
Anyway, good luck until next time we meet and may the best team win!:thumbsu:

l guess after the game you were all chased out after your stirling game of forty plus possies,but we were in your rooms drinking all your grog for about an hour and never sighted any of you blokes for a chat except Scott Hansen who made the effort to come and say hello,still the beer was cold and the food was good and that is the main thing...:thumbsu:

agree with you all great game at the end when all was close at the end made it a bit more exciting to be out there.
i didnt get a reply from a post yesterday and was hoping to about scott hansen was just a little bit angry at the way he spoke to tav perry about his shots at goal on the run and the young bloke who was a third man up in a ball up does anyone want to shed some light on this issue.
and also did clint mansell play for ardmona on the weekend if so how did he go

You started drinking after all these years Trevor?
Whats the chances of that Thornton-Eildon camp getting a mention at your reunion this weekend?

So Violet Town seems to be all the rage KDFL fans. seems as if they are a surety for finals footy, but is there enough firpower up forward to mount a genuine premiership challenge. There are no Pearcey's down at Violet Town Rec Reserve

Hmm thats a fair call Fossil, I think Violet Town maybe a bit thin up forward. They look for one of there melbourne boys a bit im pretty sure. And i along with you Fossil seriously doubt if one bloke can produce enough 'firepower' to go all the way.. But what the! on Pearcey you must be eating to much cheese up in Stanhope.

very solid start from coach Carton. very tough in and under midfielder with vision and skills to match. the standout feature of his game however is his evasiveness. Very strong through the torso and shrugs tackles with ease, if your trying to take him down bring a mate:thumbsu: , good luck wrapping him up boys i dont envy you:p

yer mate i used to play with him as ive said before on this thread he is diesel williams like good luck trying to catch him.........

how are his talking skills????is he getting the message through????

his missus is a plum hahaha

On the subject of forwards, does anyone have any thoughts about who will win the Goal Kicking this year for the KDFL? You would expect a very tight contest like last year i suspect..

If the P-Train's body holds up (geez it's due to) Id like a few bob on him :thumbsu: Next in line I'll go Meka or young Lambden from Rushy.

Not sure how many VT had unavailable on Saturday, the only thing i saw on the weekend that might hold them back a little on being a genuine premiership chance is they were lacking depth, their 2nds didnt seem to have too many players that will be pushing for senior selection, but like i said, they could have a few players missing thru injury and availability.

Hmm thats a fair call Fossil, I think Violet Town maybe a bit thin up forward. They look for one of there melbourne boys a bit im pretty sure. And i along with you Fossil seriously doubt if one bloke can produce enough 'firepower' to go all the way.. But what the! on Pearcey you must be eating to much cheese up in Stanhope.

Dont know what others think but l would be happier to have 9 goal kickers as was the case on saturday than have 1 bloke who kicks 10 plus,if you rely on just the 1 forward to kick your goals and all of a sudden he gets injured or is unavailable the side goes into damage control,no such problems at VT.If Mills played at FF for all the year he would go close to the ton but is more use up the ground a bit,as for our regular FF,"Dukic",last season kicked 37 in 6 games and l would say he will go close this year..

We still have the great man Abley to come back in the side in the coming weeks after his stint in the 2's,he managed 57 last year so l think the goal kicking power will be more than a headache for the opposition during the year.....time will tell though:thumbsu:

Seems to me Fossil you have spent too much time laying around in the rocks,surely you could have found a better example than pea heart pearcey,kicks bags against the lesser sides but struggles against the good ones,would have been interesting to see how he would've gone had he went back to Avenel this year,dont think he would have gone any good without the powerhouse midfield that Stanhope have to feed him .

Next time use someones name like Meka to be taken seriously:D

I'd say Meka will kick a ton with the likes of lowe and o'brien delivering to him.
No Mitchell or Kellet or Wayman to contend with him this year, but i reckon Lambden from rushy will kick a few bags this year and should kick 70-80, i also reckon Dukic should go close to the ton...
I'm not so sure about pearce though, i reckon some of the other young lads in stanhopes side might kick just as many...

I'd say Meka will kick a ton with the likes of lowe and o'brien delivering to him.
No Mitchell or Kellet or Wayman to contend with him this year, but i reckon Lambden from rushy will kick a few bags this year and should kick 70-80, i also reckon Dukic should go close to the ton...
I'm not so sure about pearce though, i reckon some of the other young lads in stanhopes side might kick just as many...
the big full forward from undera is also up there, i think dukic will miss to many games to get to 100

Seems to me Fossil you have spent too much time laying around in the rocks,surely you could have found a better example than pea heart pearcey,kicks bags against the lesser sides but struggles against the good ones,would have been interesting to see how he would've gone had he went back to Avenel this year,dont think he would have gone any good without the powerhouse midfield that Stanhope have to feed him .

Next time use someones name like Meka to be taken seriously:D

I think thats a little below the belt there action jaxson, meka doesn't exactly go to far out of his way to get the pill himself, doesn't mind a dive either. The P-train has had a rough run with injury's over the past few years and still manages to kick a bag full, also the kids got a heart of gold similar to his wig.

how bout we have a stab at rookie of the year fellas. any names spring to mind?
from avenel, scott kanters and joe o'connor would be our best bets. maybe clarke from rushy or horsbourgh from vt?

After playing them on Saturday i dont know how regular you will hear it, we won by 10 goals and i dont think we are one of the better sides in the 2nds comp right now.
can't realy use that game as a marker for the rest of the year look through the team list there is 4 to go into the 1's over the next few weeks and something like to go into the two's with at least 6 of those pushing for one's spots week in week out.