Keeping Tippett an uphill battle: Crows

I don't think money is the issue, I think home and family, plus his missus is the clubs enemy at the moment. If he really wants to go home theres sweet **** all anyone can do about it, as nothing will change his mind.

Lets hope for his sake and ours, that he realises staying with the crows at this exciting period will benefit him much more than going to some shithouse GC franchise that will not get anywhere in the first 3 or 4 years.

Hopefully he will grow a bond with the other players and falls in love with the club, thats the only thing we've got going for us, aswell as the foreseeible premiership in the next 2 or 3 years if the guys stick together.

Kurt should know as well as anyone that the GC will be a joke in the first few years. Living in Brisbane I know that QLD is a majority Rugby supporting state, even the lions with a stadium slap bang in the middle of the CBD can only attract 25 - 30000 crowd tops, so the Gold Coast won't get squat to their games. The consortium are basing the 42 000 potential members from the membership of the Southport Sharks, which have a massive 50 000 members, but the fact of the matter is, the only reason they have that many members is because a) the membership is free and b) they get cheap meals at the club. Hell my mate is a member solely for that reason, hes never seen a southport game in his life. So I can only imagine the rest of the stingy bastards are in the same boat.

I hope he stays, I want to get 4 Crows on my rego plate :)

Weather Tippett stays or goes doesnt matter at this stage of the season...so what if he has put the talks on hold till end of season, lots of players do that and still sign on at end of season. I think it means he wants to concentrate on his footy and i dont think that is a bad thing. The go home factor is large, we have benefitted , Jarman, welsh, Thompson, whilst players that have left us to the go home factor, stenglien, johnson watts, have not been as good after they left adelaide.Lets just hope if does go sellar and mckernan can fill his role. Playing in your home state makes a difference to some players and no difference to others, lets hope it makes no difference to tippett!!!:)

I hope he does go to the Gold Coast then does he knee in the first game and has to retire.
too harsh?? :p

I don't think he's going anywhere. If the Gold Coast wasn't around, no one would speculate him going home to Brisbane. But if he does go to the Gold Coast because they offer him more money and the Crows couldn't match it, then good on him (well, more like f*** him) - he'd rather have money than a premiership :thumbsu:

Yes, way too harsh. You shouldn't wish that on anyone.

I wonder - we often hear about players who try to "do the right thing by the club" and ensure the club gets good compensation. Is that applicable in this case? Can Tippett do anything to get us good compensation or is it entirely in the AFL's hands?

Yes, way too harsh. You shouldn't wish that on anyone.

I wonder - we often hear about players who try to "do the right thing by the club" and ensure the club gets good compensation. Is that applicable in this case? Can Tippett do anything to get us good compensation or is it entirely in the AFL's hands?

Even moreso than usual. He has the option of going to the GC as a trade, or as an uncontracted player. He has every right to demand that the GC trade for him rather than going over as an uncontracted player. Odds are that we'd get a better deal in a trade than we would from the AFL's compensation plan.

If I was Kurt Tippett I sure would feel guilty abandoning the club which has not only turned him into a football player, but an AFL player.

Lets not forget he was incredibly raw when he came over, and had played something like 20-30 games of football in his life.

Hopefully he sees this, and if he did decide he wanted to go home, then he would make it his priority that the AFC is compensated accordingly.

Are we going to be discussing this for the next year and a half?

It's already been discussed for the past year and a half :D! Check out how many 'go home' factor threads there have been in the last two years, it's a source of constant paranoia for most on this Board. Welcome to the Adelaide Board ;).

At the end of the day it is a career, it happens all the time in the corporate world. Organisations train and develop staff and sometimes a couple of years down the track or sometimes immediately they go elsewhere (usually for a bigger pay packet). At least we get some compensation.

These people have personal interests as well and it's not as black and white as "he should stay and be grateful because we drafted and developed him".

Some of the questions you would ask yourself:

(Questions we don't have going for us)
  • Do I want to live in Adelaide when my family, half my friends and girlfriend are in the Gold Coast?
  • This is going to be over in 7-8 years do I want to be in Adelaide then?
  • Should I treat this like a career?
  • Should I try and create the most wealth out of this and set myself up for the rest of my life?
(Questions we do have going for us)
  • Do I want a premiership?
  • Will I form the same friendships at the new club?
  • Does the new club have the same culture?
  • Are the new coaches any good?
  • Will I get the same "status" as I would in Adelaide
It's going to be hard to keep him. The first sign is that he knocked back an extension on his contract. The second sign is that Guy McKenna has stated that GCFC will be aggressive and exhaustive in luring good uncontracted players, no doubt they have already talked. If he decides to go to the Gold Coast that's his choice and I totally understand why and would hope he does well. I certainly would hope I'm not some myopic moron who thinks he's a traitor for leaving Adelaide, hopes he injures himself and boo when he's playing against us.

I certainly wouldn't boo him or anything like that, but I will blame him if I look like a fool wearing my signed number 4 guernsey ;)

If it was the other way around we would love it (eg Scott Thompson wanting to come home).

As it stands, the club is aware of the situation and will do all they can to keep him.

If he goes, he goes, and I for one although being very disapointed on a football level, do not begrudge him the right to chose his own career destination.

It should be rememred that he had no choice over who drafted him and footy is a business now. Just ask Torney and Massie about that.

At the end of the day it is a career, it happens all the time in the corporate world. Organisations train and develop staff and sometimes a couple of years down the track or sometimes immediately they go elsewhere (usually for a bigger pay packet). At least we get some compensation.

These people have personal interests as well and it's not as black and white as "he should stay and be grateful because we drafted and developed him".

Some of the questions you would ask yourself:

(Questions we don't have going for us)
  • Do I want to live in Adelaide when my family, half my friends and girlfriend are in the Gold Coast?
  • This is going to be over in 7-8 years do I want to be in Adelaide then?
  • Should I treat this like a career?
  • Should I try and create the most wealth out of this and set myself up for the rest of my life?
(Questions we do have going for us)
  • Do I want a premiership?
  • Will I form the same friendships at the new club?
  • Does the new club have the same culture?
  • Are the new coaches any good?
  • Will I get the same "status" as I would in Adelaide
It's going to be hard to keep him. The first sign is that he knocked back an extension on his contract. The second sign is that Guy McKenna has stated that GCFC will be aggressive and exhaustive in luring good uncontracted players, no doubt they have already talked. If he decides to go to the Gold Coast that's his choice and I totally understand why and would hope he does well. I certainly would hope I'm not some myopic moron who thinks he's a traitor for leaving Adelaide, hopes he injures himself and boo when he's playing against us.

If the club is true to its word and the main reason Kurt wants to leave is because of money we should be able to keep him. 2 years ago Bill Sanders said (when Welsh and Hudson left) that the Corws will never lose a player they want because of money. So any offer of the GC should be able to be matched by the AFC, then the olny reason he would want to leave is beacuse of family. If so he shoudl harden the "F" up as every other pro sport in the world requires players to leave their home and they all do it with no fuss. AFL players seem to have this mummy's boy factor where they have to live close to their parents, its pathetic really unless illness of an elderly parent is an issue.

I think us "mummy's" get a bad wrap! :p

Do you have a "support" network around you? Family? Friends? Surely young AFL players have the same needs? There's something wonderfully Australian about rocking over to the folks place for a bbq with the family on the weekend. Or having your best mate get you out of the sh*t when you find yourself there. Network's of people you love and trust are pretty important in a young persons' life. I'd imagine that, being isolated in another State and although you have your team mates around you, it's not quite the same.

Kurt will stay with us if it's the right thing for HIM to do.

What's funny is we have about 12+ uncontracted players at the end of 2010.

Not sure what point your trying to make?

We have approx 40 players on our list and given the maximum playing contract is 3 years, that means on the average 13 players each year would be coming out of contract. Its about right.

Lets not get bound up in this issue. You can only control so much of the situation but make sure you do your best. Thats all we can ask.

A similar situation has happened in WA remember. A marquee player with a shit club and he hasn't budged and they are years away from winning a flag.

I think us "mummy's" get a bad wrap! :p

Do you have a "support" network around you? Family? Friends? Surely young AFL players have the same needs? There's something wonderfully Australian about rocking over to the folks place for a bbq with the family on the weekend. Or having your best mate get you out of the sh*t when you find yourself there. Network's of people you love and trust are pretty important in a young persons' life. I'd imagine that, being isolated in another State and although you have your team mates around you, it's not quite the same.

Kurt will stay with us if it's the right thing for HIM to do.

Good point so instead of buying Port powers franchise when it goes back on the market move his family down here i have room for 2 of them.Ill take the ones who are keen gardners

PROBLEM SOLVED

Keeping Tippett an uphill battle: Crows