Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2013 phantom draft

With the likelihood of St Kilda finishing 3rd last, are they in the box seat to snare James Aish?

With pick 3 Aish is most likely not available but you always have to be prepaired just in case a Scharenberg goes earlier than expected.

From reading stuff around the traps, hasn't Scharenberg been pencilled in for the No. 2 draft spot?

I'm still backing Aish for no.2.

Not too many things are pencilled in at this stage.

Knightmare, where would you rate Kelly?

If Melbourne get a priority, they could do worse than taking Kelly and Aish, thoughts?

Also, Knightmare, what was Dom Sheeds form like before the champs?
I notice a lot of blokes have him around 5-15, what is your assessment?

Apologies if you've already answered these questions 100 times, It's a long thread, cheers.

Knightmare, where would you rate Kelly?

If Melbourne get a priority, they could do worse than taking Kelly and Aish, thoughts?

Also, Knightmare, what was Dom Sheeds form like before the champs?
I notice a lot of blokes have him around 5-15, what is your assessment?

Apologies if you've already answered these questions 100 times, It's a long thread, cheers.

Melbourne certainly need more guys who can run and do something outside the contest so Aish and Kelly will be considered. Aish is the more likely selection of the two.

I rate Sheed highly. He has the performances on the board and was a worthy winner of the Larke Medal. I wouldn't hesitate to draft him top 10 but he's more likely to go 10-25 with clubs looking for some quicker mids.
Personally I don't see that as a factor in his game because he not only covers the miles over the four quarters but because he's such an impressive user and so composed under pressure. He'll not only find it but still use it well and be effective almost not unlike Mitch Grigg for those Adelaide watchers, though I'd say Sheed is the better of the two.

Hi Knightmare,
With Geelong having two injury prone big ruckmen, we are likely at some point next to be playing two undersized ruckmen and losing the hitouts. Who are best players in the draft at reading opposition ruckmens taps?

Hi Knightmare,
With Geelong having two injury prone big ruckmen, we are likely at some point next to be playing two undersized ruckmen and losing the hitouts. Who are best players in the draft at reading opposition ruckmens taps?

I'd be interested to see some stats on who best reads opposition ruck taps.

Without knowing the numbers Bontempelli, Crouch, Sheed, L.Taylor. Dumont, Dunstan and Freeman all could be up there.

Hey KM do you know if Jacob coniglio is a chance to be a rookie selection?

He's played some solid footy in the colts and more recently reserves so he could be in the mix for a rookie position.

There are just so many high level smalls this year - L.Taylor, Hartung, Impey, Kennedy-Harris among others so it's going to be a fight for all those other smalls.

He's played some solid footy in the colts and more recently reserves so he could be in the mix for a rookie position.

There are just so many high level smalls this year - L.Taylor, Hartung, Impey, Kennedy-Harris among others so it's going to be a fight for all those other smalls.

Gday KM.......I would like to put together a phantom draft, but I dont have the in-depth knowledge that you have. So rather than analyse the attributes of each potential draftee, I was thinking I might try to put together a phantom draft based on club needs/strategy as I see it without the descriptions, and indicate why I have chosen that player to go at each respective pick.

Do you have any dramas with me using your player descriptions to formulate my phantom draft.
I am going to ask Chris25 for the same, and leverage of both of your descriptions if this is ok.

Thank you

Gday KM.......I would like to put together a phantom draft, but I dont have the in-depth knowledge that you have. So rather than analyse the attributes of each potential draftee, I was thinking I might try to put together a phantom draft based on club needs/strategy as I see it without the descriptions, and indicate why I have chosen that player to go at each respective pick.

Do you have any dramas with me using your player descriptions to formulate my phantom draft.
I am going to ask Chris25 for the same, and leverage of both of your descriptions if this is ok.

Thank you

No worries mate.

Go right ahead.

It's all for fun.

Hey Knightmare,

David Swallow, Adams and Sloane have all been linked to the Demons recently. Whilst I doubt we can land any of them, how would we have fared if something like this transpired:

OUT: Pick 1 (Priority) and Pick 3
IN: Swallow, Adams and Sloane

Hey Knightmare,

David Swallow, Adams and Sloane have all been linked to the Demons recently. Whilst I doubt we can land any of them, how would we have fared if something like this transpired:

OUT: Pick 1 (Priority) and Pick 3
IN: Swallow, Adams and Sloane

Firstly I'd be shocked to see any start of draft priority picks awarded, even in Melbourne's situation.

But on the players suggested.

Sloane has expressed that he wants to stay in SA so nothing will happen there.

Gold Coast I believe are strongly committed to Swallow, they're just waiting for him to get fully healthy and he can start living up to his potential through the midfield from next year. With their limited midfield depth while they have played him out of position I don't see even for pick 1 that he'd be moved on with Gold Coast so deep with KPPs.

If trades for Swallow or Sloane came up you'd jump at it for those specified draft picks as Melbourne cannot develop their own talent to any acceptable level and these guys can both really play and be major difference makers through the midfield.

Leigh Adams is the only possible of that group and could probably be had for a second round selection but there are others I'd invest in first.

Daniel Cross/Brad Sewell/Brock McLean/Lenny Hayes are the guys I'd be making plays for firstly as guys who can bring an established presence to that midfield and help lead them and mentor some of the young developing types.
Once you have 1-2 of those I'd make a move for some young midfielders who are probably not receiving the opportunities their talent deserves. George Horlin-Smith, Sam Kerridge, Patrick Karnezis, Kyle Martin Jared Polec, Gary Rohan and Viv Michie would be among those I'd strongly look into if they were available.

Start playing James Magner in the 1s through the midfield full time and add some of those guys and things can improve. Keep just drafting youth and turning over 1000 games per year and the downward spiral will continue.

I'm assuming he meant Taylor Adams.

I'd be shocked if David moved to Melbourne and not to North, I'd say he's way more of a chance moving home to WA than to the Demons if that did eventuate that GC would consider trading him.

Firstly I'd be shocked to see any start of draft priority picks awarded, even in Melbourne's situation.

But on the players suggested.

Sloane has expressed that he wants to stay in SA so nothing will happen there.

Gold Coast I believe are strongly committed to Swallow, they're just waiting for him to get fully healthy and he can start living up to his potential through the midfield from next year. With their limited midfield depth while they have played him out of position I don't see even for pick 1 that he'd be moved on with Gold Coast so deep with KPPs.

If trades for Swallow or Sloane came up you'd jump at it for those specified draft picks as Melbourne cannot develop their own talent to any acceptable level and these guys can both really play and be major difference makers through the midfield.

Leigh Adams is the only possible of that group and could probably be had for a second round selection but there are others I'd invest in first.

Daniel Cross/Brad Sewell/Brock McLean/Lenny Hayes are the guys I'd be making plays for firstly as guys who can bring an established presence to that midfield and help lead them and mentor some of the young developing types.
Once you have 1-2 of those I'd make a move for some young midfielders who are probably not receiving the opportunities their talent deserves. George Horlin-Smith, Sam Kerridge, Patrick Karnezis, Kyle Martin Jared Polec, Gary Rohan and Viv Michie would be among those I'd strongly look into if they were available.

Start playing James Magner in the 1s through the midfield full time and add some of those guys and things can improve. Keep just drafting youth and turning over 1000 games per year and the downward spiral will continue.
Valid points.

Take out all the intangibles for a second, I want to know if...

David Swallow, Taylor Adams and Rory Sloane = Tom Boyd (1) and James Aish/Matt Scharenbury (3)

I'm assuming he meant Taylor Adams.

I'd be shocked if David moved to Melbourne and not to North, I'd say he's way more of a chance moving home to WA than to the Demons if that did eventuate that GC would consider trading him.

Yeah, I know it's super unlikely. Just read up on it the other day and couldn't help getting excited :p

Valid points.

Take out all the intangibles for a second, I want to know if...

David Swallow, Taylor Adams and Rory Sloane = Tom Boyd (1) and James Aish/Matt Scharenbury (3)

Yeah, I know it's super unlikely. Just read up on it the other day and couldn't help getting excited :p

David Swallow, Taylor Adams and Rory Sloane as a package are much more valuable than pick 1 and pick 3.

David Swallow and Rory Sloane are more valuable than picks 1 and 3. With picks you never quite know what you are getting but with Swallow and Sloane to a greater extent an established an very high level midfielder you almost always take the established guy first unless you have a very good reason to do otherwise.

The only of the above who may at some stage get traded is Taylor Adams who would require a top 10 selection to acquire.

Swallow it would take another few seasons of not featuring in the midfield till he starts to think about moving.

Sloane looks like he'll be a one club player unless later in his career he expresses that he wants to move back to Victoria but the sense is despite rumours early season that he's satisfied in Adelaide.

With Dave's knee steadily getting better from injury, I think you'll find he's been playing in the middle far more over the past couple of weeks. Played mostly on ball last week against Melbourne.

I'm with KM though. It would be extremely surprising to see him depart now, right when the team is finally starting to win! Don't know if KM knows Dave personally or anything and is sharing that information about 'it taking a couple of years being not played in the midfield', but I'd say it's common sense. Regardless, his shift back into the midfield has already started with his knee getting better. Looking much more comfortable back doing his contested work. :D

Both he and Sloane are almost franchise level players. You can build marketing and membership compaigns around them. Both of their respective clubs will be very committed to them.

KM who are Brisbane and Collingwood next f/s

Collingwood's next father son is Jake Kelly (draft eligable this year) who may be in with a chance with that final draft selection or for a rookie position. With Darcy Moore one for next year who has received some early media attention and could be a 1st-2nd rounder if I was to assess at this point where he may stand.

No idea who Brisbane's next father son is. But they have Isaac Conway and Cain Tickner this year as zone selections this year.

Collingwood's next father son is Jake Kelly (draft eligable this year) who may be in with a chance with that final draft selection or for a rookie position. With Darcy Moore one for next year who has received some early media attention and could be a 1st-2nd rounder if I was to assess at this point where he may stand.

No idea who Brisbane's next father son is. But they have Isaac Conway and Cain Tickner this year as zone selections this year.

What about geelongs