Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2013 phantom draft

Who are the 1-2 Nick Smiths of this year's draft? The efficient, intelligent footallers who a bunch of incompetent recruiters will overlook multiple times for players with more flair but will end up playing more AFL matches than most of them. Last year I was tipping Jason Ashby and Adam Carter to be the Nick Smiths, and I love those sorts of players, so keen to know who to watch out for. I ask you because I remember you rating both of those guys last year.
Templeton. :thumbsu:

KM what do you know about ciaran Byrne and witch team do you reckon bailey rice will play for under f/s

Byrne is an Irish. From what I understand he's likely to sign with Carlton as a rookie at seasons end. Know nothing about his game having never seen him so not a whole lot I can contribute.

Don't know enough about Bailey Rice either to comment.

KM,

Looking through your phantom draft, I wonder if the dogs will look at the next best available KPP or go for an outside midfielder with skills.

The two midfield names I see are Billings and Kelly .

From what I've read Billings is more forward than mid.

Looking at our list, we have enough half forward flankers, do you think Kelly would be a better pick up than Billings?

Unless Matt Scharenberg isn't picked up by the Saints, then I reckon it's out of Billings and Kelly.

Billings is more a forward than a mid at this point. I tend to like Billings more in a forward pocket. Make him someone who gets his touches deeper in the forwardline. He's so strong at his size and close to goal his touches are quality in more that LeCras type way though less freakish.

I'd still probably go Billings before Kelly. Kelly is a solid citizen but Billings just can do a few more things as someone who is capable through the midfield but also so eo incredible up forward for his size.

Would Hunter be a similar type to Billings?( I know not as vaunted a player as Billings)

Billings is more a Jimmy Bartel/Nick Dal Santo/Mark LeCras. Has little bits of all without being the same as any.

Hunter looks better further up the ground. Billings I really like closer to goal the way he can take over games.

Billings is more a forward than a mid at this point. I tend to like Billings more in a forward pocket. Make him someone who gets his touches deeper in the forwardline. He's so strong at his size and close to goal his touches are quality in more that LeCras type way though less freakish.

I'd still probably go Billings before Kelly. Kelly is a solid citizen but Billings just can do a few more things as someone who is capable through the midfield but also so eo incredible up forward for his size.

Billings is more a Jimmy Bartel/Nick Dal Santo/Mark LeCras. Has little bits of all without being the same as any.

Hunter looks better further up the ground. Billings I really like closer to goal the way he can take over games.

Read a few mocks comparing billings to Steve Johnson. Similarly, t.menzel also drew these comparisons.
Just wondering if you think a) the comparison is apt? b) how similar is billings to menzel? And c) do you think billings is as good as or even better than menzel (assuming menzel has no knee troubles)?

Cheers in advance

Read a few mocks comparing billings to Steve Johnson. Similarly, t.menzel also drew these comparisons.
Just wondering if you think a) the comparison is apt? b) how similar is billings to menzel? And c) do you think billings is as good as or even better than menzel (assuming menzel has no knee troubles)?

Cheers in advance

Billings has some similarities to Stevey J. Just doesn't have those same freakish tricks. But like Johnson he can play forward or midfield and do his damage.

He has some similarities to Menzel and that's probably one of the better comparisons. If Menzel didn't have those knee issues they probably could both be in a similar category though Menzel again a touch more freakish and Billings a stronger mark and stronger 1v1.

Patrick McCartin continues to smash them with his power and aggression and the best hands/pack mark I have seen from a 16 year old. Clearly the best underager in the country and looking like no 1 in 2014.

I'm guessing you saw McCartin's 7 goal game yesterday v Bendigo? He's strong and a strong mark isn't he?

I still have Goddard at my no.1 spot but McCartin is closing in and has been in my no.2 spot since the u18 champs.

If you ask Chris25 he thinks some of the South Australian KPPs are better than McCartin and there are some West Australian KPPs who also are showing some promise for next year so it's looking like a promising group of talls.

Knightmare, there has been a lot of media hype with Gold Coast's Jack Martin. Will he be as good as they say he will? Recently it was said he could be better than O'Meara, but I find that hard to believe after seeing what he has produced in his first year. Cheers

Saw Mcarthy was the first WA player picked, wrote the rest of this mock off.

I trust that you also saw that I rate Sheed and Acres more highly then.

Knightmare, there has been a lot of media hype with Gold Coast's Jack Martin. Will he be as good as they say he will? Recently it was said he could be better than O'Meara, but I find that hard to believe after seeing what he has produced in his first year. Cheers

I don't believe Martin will be "better than Jaeger" as Gold Coast people are speculating. Martin has the opportunity to become the best talent in this draft if things go right but I'd say he's a more offensively talented Dale Thomas. He's an absolute rake and not the contested ball winner O'Meara is but does have some incredible pace, ability to use the footy and the ability to take some absolute hangers which are more the features that make him special.

You have Wilson at 60 in the 'best of the rest'? So you're saying Richmond could possibly pick him up with a third round pick or will he go earlier?

Some rate Wilson higher than others.

I've found his impact to be erratic and mostly lacking as a guy who can at times do damage, but probably not often enough for me.

Wilson could go 2nd - 3rd round at a guess at this point.

Still plenty of time and closer to the draft, draft positions will become more clear.

I trust that you also saw that I rate Sheed and Acres more highly then.

I don't think you know too much about the WA crop.

I don't believe Martin will be "better than Jaeger" as Gold Coast people are speculating. Martin has the opportunity to become the best talent in this draft if things go right but I'd say he's a more offensively talented Dale Thomas. He's an absolute rake and not the contested ball winner O'Meara is but does have some incredible pace, ability to use the footy and the ability to take some absolute hangers which are more the features that make him special.

Martin is very comfortable on the inside.

It's just a shame his hands and contested work fall by the wayside when he also takes hangers and blows by opponents. He's absolutely on par with Jaeger in terms of football ability both inside and out, Jacks issue will come from off the field, not on it.

He's a freak, you will never see his arms get pinned in a tackle, it's what makes him such a standout, there's virtually no part to his game that isn't elite or close to it.

If Hugh Goddard is the No. 1 pick in next years draft, will it be the first time in any sport that a pair of cousins were taken with the top pick?

In the NFL Peyton and Eli Manning, two brothers were both taken No.1 overall in the 98 and 04 drafts. So i guess it would be the first set of cousins but brothers would probably be more impressive :)

George Hewett (NAFC/PAC) will go in the first 40.

Probably right in talking to some South Australian scouts.

He's had a strong season.

amazing to see hampson in your mock knight!!!! great work!!!

Hampson is a good one. He's the only real breakout state leaguer I've really liked this season. Tall, high production guy with some class and versatility to him. Any club could use that.

I like him a lot.

If Hugh Goddard is the No. 1 pick in next years draft, will it be the first time in any sport that a pair of cousins were taken with the top pick?

It's possible but not that I'm aware of.

Hey KM. Who are the best Ruckmen in the draft and would Geelong pick up Darcy Fort in the rookie draft?

Darcy Cameron is the best ruckmen in this draft.

Darcy Fort may be available in the rookie draft but it's no certainty. May become clearer closer to draft day.

North Melbourne recently have been drafting lots of 185cm+ Flanker/Mids who show obvious talent, but their fitness levels, strength, health or all three cause other teams to not want to draft them as they don't want a project.

Who are the players in this draft in the 30-60 range who would be top 30 picks if they didn't have such a minor fixable issue (i.e fitness, strength), the type of player who we probably won't see for 2-3 years but have an undeniable talent

North Melbourne recently have been drafting lots of 185cm+ Flanker/Mids who show obvious talent, but their fitness levels, strength, health or all three cause other teams to not want to draft them as they don't want a project.

Who are the players in this draft in the 30-60 range who would be top 30 picks if they didn't have such a minor fixable issue (i.e fitness, strength), the type of player who we probably won't see for 2-3 years but have an undeniable talent

Nicholas Robertson is a guy we haven't seen this year with injury in those early rounds fits this type as well as any.

George Hampson as a mature agers has had his injury issues over the years but is a ripper as another tall but classy type.

Matthew Merlo as a strong bodied inside midfielder is excellent but has missed time this year and previously with injury.

Cameron Conlon if you don't mind a tall ruck/forward.