Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2015 Draft Almanac

Cheers for that. Also, thought I'd mention Nick Rippon. Seems to regularly get 30+ for North Ballarat in the vfl, works on the inside and outside. Why do you think he's been overlooked? Is it purely down to height?

Sub 180cm. Lacks a point of differentiation v AFL talent. You look at him and ask "what can he do that others can't?"

It screams high level state leaguer/possible AFL depth. But you draft for guys with the intent to find best 22 players, and Rippon doesn't look like that best 22 player.

With the way the dogs are currently playing, I don't think the hulking Minson type ruck is going to suit going forward and I can't see Cordy being a long term prospect. Know of any rucks in 21 - 25 age bracket of the athletic / agile mould, KM? Much love.

I'm genuinely surprised Tom Campbell hasn't been given a shot with Minson omitted.

Cordy has been terrible. And Campbell has for a few years now been a really strong performer. So Campbell is one I would like to see given a stretch of games at AFL level before looking externally.

--

Of the young ruckmen: Grundy, Naitanui, Witts, Lycett, Longer and T.Nicholls are those I value most highly and would back to run a ruck division.

Of those maybe Jarrod Witts if he can't get a game over the second half of the season could plausibly request a trade (though as a Pies fan I thoroughly hope not!). He would be a heck of a get as a taller Shane Mumford style ruckman, which in 209cm package is something any team can use - with that followup work and tackling something we haven't seen from a guy that tall, and forward of centre he is also a threat on the lead which is also worth noting. Has good agility. Reliable by foot. So he can lead a ruck division.

Lycett if he wants to eventually become a genuine number one ruckman in his own right would be another big time addition. He has ability forward of centre but he is a very high level ruckman already and can become one of those very best few in the competition.

Tom Nicholls from Gold Coast depending on where he fits v Zac Smith is that other I would strongly advocate as a super athletic ruckman who again from a follow-up and tackling perspective brings rare energy by position. He is something like a less powerful Naitanui, not quite having that same strength and not quite the same extreme leap, but that same kind of game where everything with him is in contested situations, and he has that rare all round athleticism and power to him.

After that group. I see others as too far off to say I'd definitely invest, and others overrated and too costly for what they offer. But probably one or two others present themselves over the course of the season as being worthwhile long term ruckmen.

--

While outside the target age group you suggested Matthew Kreuzer and Matthew Leuenberger would as number one ruckmen through free agency be my recommended targets with those younger projected star ruckmen highly unlikely to be available. And both can really play, with Leuenberger just needing those ruck minutes he can't get behind the ever impressive Stefan Martin, then Kreuzer who probably by mid year should be right to go is another who may look for greater success elsewhere or perhaps a new opportunity.

With the free hit nature of free agency and surely a lot of salary cap space I'd be personally targeting Leuenberger as a free agent, with Kreuzer the backup plan. And then if one of them can be had, Tom Campbell as that depth ruckman would likely be sufficient, if the club plan on parting ways with Minson at seasons end.

How does Wietering compare to Lever at the same sort of stage of development (pre knee of course), in terms of overall ability and also playing style/attributes?

You're right in your observations. His kicking efficiency is through the roof. The question for Carlton will be whether they want another back flanker. But he has certainly elevated his play this year and looks like a genuine father son selection.
Not just Carlton. We've had him into the club plenty I believe.

I wouldn't say that Caleb Daniel is a success and thus follow the dogs lead. He is yet to play a game. He has two attributes that hopefully let him succeed. Disposal efficiency and elite work rate. Unless Francis can have both these traits not so sure he would be a worthwhile draft choice.
Never said he was a success Gmod23 but I know the kid and he has been told all his life he is too small. He will make it trust me!

Thanks heaps KM. Yeah I've always rated Campbell's tap work but he is as agile as a plank of wood and not much faster either. He seems to be a Minson type that can mark above his head and kick a goal but lacks the tackling pressure and endurance.

Seems Bev values defensive presence around the ground and the ability to nullify opposition rucks over tap work which is why Cordy has been persevered with.

awesome news this morning about the academies :D

hopefully have the first 2 picks and get a buddy/rough combination and keays with a 2nd round pick

eddie would explode if that where to happen

at this stage do you think it would be a weltering and scache combination or something else

How does Wietering compare to Lever at the same sort of stage of development (pre knee of course), in terms of overall ability and also playing style/attributes?

Not just Carlton. We've had him into the club plenty I believe.

Weitering is taller and more a genuine key defender compared to Lever, with better ability to stop in addition to comparable rebounding ability.

The style of Weitering's game is something like a Ben Reid. Or given Reid hasn't played back in a few years, a Hooker or Rance. As a key defender who stands out most because he can rebound, both using it well but then also being able to take intercept and 1v1 marks, as opposed to just going the spoil every time.

The basics with Weitering are that he is a very good kick, has excellent endurance by position, excellent mark. Improving and pretty good 1v1. Capable stopper without it being his calling card. And capable of moving up the field - onto a wing and able to play as a back flanker if you want him to, in addition to being a key defender. In saying that unlike Lever, Weitering given he is 195cm is a genuine key defender which I'm not prepared to say of Lever.

My comment regarding Rice is Carlton don't particularly need him based on list needs, with their other needs greater than their needs for a back flanker. Doesn't mean he won't get selected by then, and it doesn't mean St Kilda won't get him. Just that specifically is my comment at this point regarding the two clubs he can choose.

awesome news this morning about the academies :D

hopefully have the first 2 picks and get a buddy/rough combination and keays with a 2nd round pick

eddie would explode if that where to happen

at this stage do you think it would be a weltering and scache combination or something else

News about the academies?

With Brisbane it is unclear where the club finish.

Weitering may be near the top of Brisbane's list as probably the better of the key position players.

Schache has some work to do before he is spoken about as a likely top few pick.

Weitering is taller and more a genuine key defender compared to Lever, with better ability to stop in addition to comparable rebounding ability.

The style of Weitering's game is something like a Ben Reid. Or given Reid hasn't played back in a few years, a Hooker or Rance. As a key defender who stands out most because he can rebound, both using it well but then also being able to take intercept and 1v1 marks, as opposed to just going the spoil every time.

The basics with Weitering are that he is a very good kick, has excellent endurance by position, excellent mark. Improving and pretty good 1v1. Capable stopper without it being his calling card. And capable of moving up the field - onto a wing and able to play as a back flanker if you want him to, in addition to being a key defender. In saying that unlike Lever, Weitering given he is 195cm is a genuine key defender which I'm not prepared to say of Lever.

My comment regarding Rice is Carlton don't particularly need him based on list needs, with their other needs greater than their needs for a back flanker. Doesn't mean he won't get selected by then, and it doesn't mean St Kilda won't get him. Just that specifically is my comment at this point regarding the two clubs he can choose.
Thanks for all that, been wanting to hear a bit more about Weitering for a while now, as it seems he could well and truly be in the ball park around our first pick (if we haven't traded it) and seems to have an awful lot going for him, including a very late year birthday, which is something I've taken note of since way back in the 90's. If Brisbane finish bottom I reckon he could be the go for them and he could be very tempting for us as well, really giving us something to think about.

As for Rice, unfortunately he plays in a position that we have about a hundred options for as well (eg. Savage, Newnes, Webster, McKenzie, Roberton, Murdoch, Acres, Wright, Shenton, plus the likes of Dempster, Gilbert, Geary and Ray for the time being, and maybe Montagna down the track).

Thanks for all that, been wanting to hear a bit more about Weitering for a while now, as it seems he could well and truly be in the ball park around our first pick (if we haven't traded it) and seems to have an awful lot going for him, including a very late year birthday, which is something I've taken note of since way back in the 90's. If Brisbane finish bottom I reckon he could be the go for them and he could be very tempting for us as well, really giving us something to think about.

As for Rice, unfortunately he plays in a position that we have about a hundred options for as well (eg. Savage, Newnes, Webster, McKenzie, Roberton, Murdoch, Acres, Wright, Shenton, plus the likes of Dempster, Gilbert, Geary and Ray for the time being, and maybe Montagna down the track).

Talking St Kilda and the backline situation.

One dynamic that has puzzled me the past two weeks in watching St Kilda is Robertson taking the kickouts over Savage.

Savage is a really long kick and seemed through the NAB Challenge to be going great guns as the kickout guy and primary rebounder with his run also impressive, and same story late season last year (after he switched back).

Has Robertson just passed him by as a rebounder? Or what's the story there?
If indeed Robertson has passed Savage by as that primary rebounder, and he isn't so critical to winning at St Kilda with all the backline depth, I look at Savage as a potentially good get for other clubs. He just feels underutilised for me.

Savage in that period of games when switched down back last year would have been in our best 6 or 8, if not higher, throughout that period (in that stretch of 8 games he was ranked no.8 in the league for metres gained and no.2 for effective long kicks) and it would have been pretty similar in the first couple of games this year (where he had the most metres gained in all games in one round and top 2 or 3 in the other, and was ranked no.1 or no.2 in the comp for effective kicks and another kicking stat), but he got tagged out of it against Carlton last week and this weekend they said he had been getting work on his hammy during the game and then got subbed out with it (and had ice on the hammy), so it may be that he's got a bit of a hammy issue that they were trying to protect him from. He did do a hammy in the NAB Challenge, so perhaps there are some lingering or recurring issues there.

Other than that, he is a 100% lock in our starting 18 and when fit and in form is one of our most damaging weapons by far and if we were a better team he'd be getting tagged every week. He is like Jason Gram was, but with a much more consistent, penetrating and accurate kick. Gram could kick it a bit further (65m to Savage's 60m) but they went higher/slower and not as accurately.

Roberton has returned to his pre-ankle-injury form of 2013, if not better, but Savage is certainly the better, more penetrating, consistent and longer kick. Webster is probably our no.1 "designated kicker/kick-out" though and that would have been the main reason we brought him back in on the weekend, after just a couple of VFL games (after missing all of the NAB Challenge series and the first couple of rounds of the season). We've really missed his kicking in the early rounds.

It was really noticeable on the weekend that we had the kicking of him, Billings, Lonie and McKenzie and it's a fair part of the reason we were much more competitive this round, as turnovers have been killing us again this year. A big thank you to Chris Pelchen and his love of all "lefties"!

Knightmare, can you clarify for me what the situation would be if the Saints finished 17th or 18th, and bid 1 or 2 pick on Mills, causing Sydney to use their 1st and 2nd round picks at least, then bid St Kilda's 2nd round pick on Dunkley? 2 points, would Sydney have to put up more than their 1st and 2nd round picks for Mills? And would they have to use next years picks to keep Dunkley?

Knightmare, when are you getting some more profiles up mate? I'm hanging out for them!

Knightmare, can you clarify for me what the situation would be if the Saints finished 17th or 18th, and bid 1 or 2 pick on Mills, causing Sydney to use their 1st and 2nd round picks at least, then bid St Kilda's 2nd round pick on Dunkley? 2 points, would Sydney have to put up more than their 1st and 2nd round picks for Mills? And would they have to use next years picks to keep Dunkley?

I'm working under the assumption that the new proposed bidding system will go ahead (I haven't heard any confirmation, but I'm not sure why it wouldn't go ahead).

In that situation Sydney would need to give more than their first and second round picks for Mills and Dunkley to get them both. No question. With the way the points system works.

Depending on whether bidding under this new system comes before or after trade week changes things. Maybe if it comes after trade week Sydney can move some players for picks and they don't have to worry about next years picks being affected. The bidding happens before trade week, then no question Sydney will need to cut into next years picks.

Knightmare, when are you getting some more profiles up mate? I'm hanging out for them!

Sounds like I'll need to pick up my feet and I am behind where I usually am at this point admittedly.

Will over the coming weeks get some more profiles to start flowing in (ongoing).

It's dependent on time, but I'll make time regardless and have more profiles up and going before the u18 champs.

I'm working under the assumption that the new proposed bidding system will go ahead (I haven't heard any confirmation, but I'm not sure why it wouldn't go ahead).

In that situation Sydney would need to give more than their first and second round picks for Mills and Dunkley to get them both. No question. With the way the points system works.

Depending on whether bidding under this new system comes before or after trade week changes things. Maybe if it comes after trade week Sydney can move some players for picks and they don't have to worry about next years picks being affected. The bidding happens before trade week, then no question Sydney will need to cut into next years picks.

Sounds like I'll need to pick up my feet and I am behind where I usually am at this point admittedly.

Will over the coming weeks get some more profiles to start flowing in (ongoing).

It's dependent on time, but I'll make time regardless and have more profiles up and going before the u18 champs.

No worries mang. If you need a chop out gimme your login and I'll answer a few questions for you. I can't promise accuracy or your reputation doesn't take a hit or I don't post animal pr0n. The offers there.

Im interested to see the development in the draft crop of 2013 so I've decided to rank the top 10 on what they have shown so far. I'd like to hear other people's opinion as well. ( numbers in brackets are the number they were drafted at)

1- Marcus BONTEMPELLI (4)
2-Lewis Taylor (28)
3-Jarmen IMPEY (21)
4-luke dunstan (18)
5-luke McDonald (8)f/s
6-cam MCCARTHY (14)
7-jack billings (3)
8-Zach Merrett (26)
9-josh kelly (2)
10- Christian Salem (9)
(Patrick CRIPPS recent form could see him jump into the top 10)

Im interested to see the development in the draft crop of 2013 so I've decided to rank the top 10 on what they have shown so far. I'd like to hear other people's opinion as well. ( numbers in brackets are the number they were drafted at)

2-Lewis Taylor (28)
3-Jarmen IMPEY (21)
4-luke dunstan (18)
5-luke McDonald (8)f/s
6-cam MCCARTHY (14)
7-jack billings (3)
8-Zach Merrett (26)
9-josh kelly (2)
10- Christian Salem (9)
Jarman Impey is very high! I'd have everyone you listed from 4-10 ahead of him and possibly even Cripps.

2-Lewis Taylor (28)
3-Jarmen IMPEY (21)
4-luke dunstan (18)
5-luke McDonald (8)f/s
6-cam MCCARTHY (14)
7-jack billings (3)
8-Zach Merrett (26)
9-josh kelly (2)
10- Christian Salem (9)

If I was doing that 2013 draft again. My draft board without mulling for long, would look something like:
1. Bontempelli (4 - WBD)
2. McCarthy (14 - GWS)
3. Boyd (1 - GWS/WBD)
4. Cripps (13 - CARL)
5. Billings (3 - ST.K)
6. Dunstan (18 - ST.K)
7. McDonald (8 - NM)
8. Josh Kelly (2 - GWS)
9. Merrett (26 - ESS)
10. Taylor (28 - BRIS)

McCarthy and Cripps certainly at the end of last year weren't in my 10, but both have been big improvers putting forward strong NAB Challenge campaigns and have really come on strongly this H+A season. And Bontempelli has continued on from his late season dominance last season. Otherwise small bits of movement without anything major.

2-Lewis Taylor (28)
3-Jarmen IMPEY (21)
4-luke dunstan (18)
5-luke McDonald (8)f/s
6-cam MCCARTHY (14)
7-jack billings (3)
8-Zach Merrett (26)
9-josh kelly (2)
10- Christian Salem (9)
Aish would still be top 10 for mine even if he is playing like a spoilt brat
1.Bontempelli
2.Taylor
3.McDonald
4.Aish
5.Cripps
6 Honeychurch
7.Merrett
8.McCarthy
9.Billings
10. Kelly

2-Lewis Taylor (28)
3-Jarmen IMPEY (21)
4-luke dunstan (18)
5-luke McDonald (8)f/s
6-cam MCCARTHY (14)
7-jack billings (3)
8-Zach Merrett (26)
9-josh kelly (2)
10- Christian Salem (9)

Boyd would still be in the top 2 without DOUBT! The kid will be a gun and is going to take a while to develop, it is crazy to leave him off your list.

Boyd
Bontempelli
--------- Little daylight
McCarthy
Kelly
Billings
KK
Aish
McDonald
------- I like these players long term
Cripps
Merrett
Langdon
Dunstan
Taylor
Honeychurch
These guys depending on your thoughts could be ranked differently based on needs.