Knights on the move?

they would for Fev. who could be the missing piece in a finals push that wasn't far away.
Cmon .......Fev's not going anywhere ......Carlton have had the opportunites many times and not had the balls to get rid of the guy

They are just running him thru the mill at present ......... i reckon just b4 PS training starts they'll hug and embrace, put the whole thing behind them .....Carlton and Fev will then state that Fev will have the best season ever to prove Carlton that keeping him was the best thing :rolleyes:

It's a well trod path :rolleyes:

If Knights did want to go, I'd be pretty happy with any of the following:

- Cameron Wood & Pies 1st round
- Ryan Griffen
- Dale Thomas
- Luke Ball?

Knights is a potential match winner, and we'd need something equivalent back.

these as centrepieces of a trade, whether things need to evened up a little on either side is irrelevant.

No no no ........Knights can be a match winner ......these 2 will only ever be cameo players

Thomas teases but has rarely delivered .......a no for me

No no no ........Knights can be a match winner ......these 2 will only ever be cameo players

I wouldn't be so sure of that. plus in that scenario (unlikely that it is) there is also a first round pick

Thomas teases but has rarely delivered .......a no for me

he could be exactly what we need.

"biteme" could you please weigh in to this.....

nothing has changed in the last 3 weeks has it...

surely a move by his management secure a few more favourable terms on his contract.....

probably seen no better example of how important he's become elimination final night....

Hi Guys,

Chris wants to stay a crow, of course his manager has had Vic clubs ringing him. I spoke to Chris last week, he is adament he wants to stay in SA, you guys are just going to have to part with a bit more money. Cant be any clearer than that. We would love him back in VIC, but it aint gonna happen.

Thanks biteme. The problem with rumours on BF is that the media get a hold of them and then "put it out there" on their talkback show. And then BF posters start getting excited because they think the media have verified the rumour they got from BF in the first place.

Biteme FTW

Seriously, we couldn't possibly get Griffen for Reilly and our first could we?

I can see the Doggies make a push for both Hall and Fev, but they can't afford him.

So either Carlton are that desperate to get rid of Fev they'll take Reilly, a first (which they want to get after loosing pick #11) and paying out some of his salary.

AND the Dogs believe a 2 year window to be worth losing Griffen.

If that happens I'll lose my mind.

Would love to land Ryan Griffen for Reilly and our first round pick but cannot see it happening.

I think if Fevola goes anywhere it will be to Sydney and Barry Hall to the Western Bulldogs will play a part in this trade. Hasn’t Hall just signed a 2 year deal with the doggies, so why would they want both Hall and Fevola getting in each other’s way?

From all accounts, they are struggling to pay Brian Lake his true market value is, how can they possibility afford to add a Hall, Fevola and Akermanis contract to that as well.

If Fevola leaves Carlton it will be to Sydney, Hall to the Western Bulldogs and Everett and a second round pick (either from the dogs or swans) to Carlton.

Saying that, I still think we should go into talk and offer that deal for Griffin as a first round pick and a Reilly who would allow them same salary cap relief may help them land there man.

Hi Guys,

Chris wants to stay a crow, of course his manager has had Vic clubs ringing him. I spoke to Chris last week, he is adament he wants to stay in SA, you guys are just going to have to part with a bit more money. Cant be any clearer than that. We would love him back in VIC, but it aint gonna happen.

Good to hear. You've always been on the ball with Knights and what he's up to, so to hear you say that he's definitely wanting to stay makes me a bit happier.

If it's just a matter of dollars, then I'd think we'd be well placed to hang onto him long term.

Casing point to why managing Tippett's contract with care will allow pay increases to guys like Knights.

Spot on but can you explain as we fight to hold onto the Tippets , Knights Dangers , Walkers etc etc why are we signing up all 4 star veterans espec. Burton again.
Correct me if wrong but can only have 2 on veterans list and only lose half their salary .
Love to win in 2010 but will be hard to get over top 2 then so see 2011 as the year ,if we can keep Knights and Tippett etc with good 3 year contracts. :diamond:

If Knights did want to go, I'd be pretty happy with any of the following:

- Cameron Wood & Pies 1st round
- Ryan Griffen
- Dale Thomas
- Luke Ball?

Knights is a potential match winner, and we'd need something equivalent back.

these as centrepieces of a trade, whether things need to evened up a little on either side is irrelevant.
Not interested in Wood - he's on a par with Maric, Moran & Griffin (if/when he pulls his finger out), so I don't see how he significantly improves our team.

Griffin - would have him in a heartbeat. Knights for Griffin is probably a fair trade.

Thomas - meh, not that impressed with him.

Ball - Love him as a player, just not sure how much longer his body can stand up to the rigours of AFL footy.

Would love to land Ryan Griffen for Reilly and our first round pick but cannot see it happening.

I think if Fevola goes anywhere it will be to Sydney and Barry Hall to the Western Bulldogs will play a part in this trade. Hasn’t Hall just signed a 2 year deal with the doggies, so why would they want both Hall and Fevola getting in each other’s way?

From all accounts, they are struggling to pay Brian Lake his true market value is, how can they possibility afford to add a Hall, Fevola and Akermanis contract to that as well.

If Fevola leaves Carlton it will be to Sydney, Hall to the Western Bulldogs and Everett and a second round pick (either from the dogs or swans) to Carlton.

Saying that, I still think we should go into talk and offer that deal for Griffin as a first round pick and a Reilly who would allow them same salary cap relief may help them land there man.

Wouldn't put it past the Bullies to take both Hall and Fev, Hall can play up the ground quite well, as more of a CHF, leaving Fevola to the square. As for salaries, I doubt Hall or Acker will commanding much in that respect and considering all Fev's indescretions I'd say he'd be on a reduced contract as well. Also if Lake does decide to go that would free up a little extra room for Fev.

Spot on but can you explain as we fight to hold onto the Tippets , Knights Dangers , Walkers etc etc why are we signing up all 4 star veterans espec. Burton again.
Correct me if wrong but can only have 2 on veterans list and only lose half their salary .
Love to win in 2010 but will be hard to get over top 2 then so see 2011 as the year ,if we can keep Knights and Tippett etc with good 3 year contracts. :diamond:

The problem with fitting all these players in wont be next year, these blokes are all contracted for next year, so next year isn't so much of a worry. They are negotiating for the years following, as such the main pay rise for the likes of Tippett, Knights and co will likely come into effect going into the 2011 season which, if all four veterans retire at the end of next year, would be perfect timing to open up a little extra room in the SC. The other thing to remember is that only half of Goodwin's and McLeod's salaries contribute to the total salary cap, and even then, none would be on the massive salaries they would have attracted in their mid-late 20's.

Not interested in Wood - he's on a par with Maric, Moran & Griffin (if/when he pulls his finger out), so I don't see how he significantly improves our team.

Griffin - would have him in a heartbeat. Knights for Griffin is probably a fair trade.

Thomas - meh, not that impressed with him.

Ball - Love him as a player, just not sure how much longer his body can stand up to the rigours of AFL footy.

Yeah agree, Wood doesn't really excite me too much, had a decent game against us in round 19(IIRC), but still struggles to get a constent game in a side that contains only one other ruckman in Josh Fraser.

Thomas is yeah big meh, flashy, but really won't offer much more than Myke Cook will in a year or so, and Mykes probably a better kick of the footy too:eek:

Too many worry's about Ball's body for mine to be trading as a direct swap for Knights, maybe with a draft pick or something.

Griffen, would certainly agree with, similar age and both potential star players.

I'd look to Melbourne for a trade. They are likely to miss out on burgoyne and might be keen for some experience around their kids. How would Knights, Reilly and pick 13 for pick 2 go? (Fantasy?)
This would give Melb a gun, a solid experienced player to mentor their kids and pick 13 in exchange for what would basically be Trengrove. I'd be happy with that but couldn't see Melb wanting to part with pick 2 when they know they will get 2 guns in Scully and Trengrove. Couldn't hurt to ask mind...

Melbourne wont release their first two picks. They even went after a mid first.

I could see them getting an experienced head here or there, but not at the cost of someone like Trengove.

Ryan Griffen definately wants to return to Adelaide, and has told the bulldogs so.

A trade WILL happen that will land Griffen at the Crows, and Carlton WILL trade Fevola.

I dont want a carton of Beer Jo, but you can forward me a crate of scotch when Griffen runs out for us next season....

I'd look to Melbourne for a trade. They are likely to miss out on burgoyne and might be keen for some experience around their kids. How would Knights, Reilly and pick 13 for pick 2 go? (Fantasy?)
This would give Melb a gun, a solid experienced player to mentor their kids and pick 13 in exchange for what would basically be Trengrove. I'd be happy with that but couldn't see Melb wanting to part with pick 2 when they know they will get 2 guns in Scully and Trengrove. Couldn't hurt to ask mind...

That sounds way too generous for mine.

Seriously, I wouldn't even take a D Rich, for Knights, Reilly and pick 13.

It amazes me how under-valued Knights and Reilly are by lots of posters in here. I would expect to hold on to both of these for their entire careers.

All this trade talk. I don't think the AFC is lacking in much at all. In fact, this year, we simply don't need to trade.

So many posts talking about Shirley (yet again), Douglas....trading sideways is a waste of time. These two are also better value now to the AFC than anything we could trade them for.

Can we stop all the fantasizing please, it makes my flu seem worse.:thumbsdown:

Ryan Griffen definately wants to return to Adelaide, and has told the bulldogs so.

A trade WILL happen that will land Griffen at the Crows, and Carlton WILL trade Fevola.

I dont want a carton of Beer Jo, but you can forward me a crate of scotch when Griffen runs out for us next season....
Stop exciting me, my desk keeps moving and I can't work.

Hope true as a quality lad and will add a lot to our midfield.
My only concern how are we going to get him here --Please -Please dont say trade Knights for him as he is a must to keep.
Poss. Griffin , Reilly or Douglas plus 2 nd rnd draft pick which might be wishful to pull off .
We could trade Burton then Bullies would have MOY trophy to add to their lean trophy cabinet

bullshit. Lockett turned them down.

Sorry .....Collingwood board of directors voted on & rejected Lockett, much to the displeasure of some

Forget what the public perception is / was

Really hope that's true ......because apart from Kosi Griffen has always been the player whi has realy excited me

His run off HB and ability to kick low and hard 50-60mtr passes is second to none

May not be the midfielder the Bulldogs were trying to make him .....but off HB a fantastic replacement for Macleod

In this day and age how important is that quarterback to most teams gameplans!!!

Source mate? Don't need to name names but just in general...someone from the dogs? from the crows?

Knights on the move?