News Koch blocks Tredders push for the board

Imagine hiring Ken Hinkley for a billion years and then saying no to Tredders coming aboard, no wonder the club is a cesspool of directionless mediocrity.
I said the same thing in the discussion about old mate jordan peterson. You can dislike particular opinions such as anti vaxx, but you can still agree with other things the same person says. There is no need to do any sort of mental gymnastics over it just to be seen not to agree with anything a person says.

Being an anti vaxxer is dumb, but wanting football success and knowing what it takes is right in his wheel house, as is you know, having a spine.

Can you imagine him not showing up to AGMs etc. Like Hinkley because he might be asked some tough shit? Nope.

He would win a board position easily for this alone, his views on vaccination wouldnt even remotely be a factor.

I’m also fine with the club saying no, you have to become a member elect board member.

Not sure he has the runs on the board post career to just jump onto the board willy nilly.

Yeah, but that whole angle is absurd given some of the randos Koch has appointed to the board.

ie. Holly Ransom is an easy target, but there’s a handful of very good reasons for that.

Cannot agree, but that is what living in a free society is all about. It is not up to Darren Cahill to nominate who gets his seat on the Board it is the Board's prerogative to fill the casual vacancy with the person they think will best serve the interests of the footy club.
Darren was brought in for a specified role on the board. He has left so why can't he recommend a replacement for him, for that replacement to do a specific role similar to what he was asked to do?? Its not a demand, but a recommendation. Why do you take this - its not his station in life to recommend others - approach??

If they all respect each other what the bloody hell is wrong with a recommendation???

People are always making recommendations about Port board members. Ex Premier Marshall made a recommendation in 2020, Port assessed it and said yep that person is a great fit.

I stand by my original statement as I think an individual knocking on the door saying Joe Blow has nominated me to take his set on the Board so when do I start is very presumptuous as it shows little knowledge of due process.
Due process is a term thrown out there, that most people don't understand. Koch hasn't done due process he has done an I'm scared I will block him exercise.

Warren Tredrea is not any Joe Blow. He is a premiership captain of our club, a hall of famer and bloody good football brain.

As I have explained I do not like the system but it is the one we work with.
If you don't like it, then try and do something to change it.

In the words of John Kennedy. DO SOMETHING!!!

What you and those who agree with you seem to be suggesting is that existing Board members should be able nominate their mates for Board vacancies.
People make suggestions. What is wrong with that. Then those people are assessed. Yes you want a decent assessment process.

I don't think there has been a decent assessment process.

Would you be happy if Cos Cardone decided to pull the pin and nominated one of his mates from McGuire Media to fill his spot?
Yes I would be happy that Cardone pulled the pin.

I would then expect a proper assessment of the candidate he nominated and anyone with any ****ing brains would say this person has a material conflict of interest over the PBs so we reject him on that alone. Its not that hard!

But Koch has proved conflicts of interest and process only apply when and how he wants it to. That's how a huge chunk of the AFL unfortunately works.

I do not give a rat's what Killer Cahill wants as he is pissing off after less than four years in the job so given his situation maybe he was not the best choice for a Board position? If the Board intends to replace like with like they will go for someone with an international sporting background. Maybe some one like Anna Meares who is already a Port Adelaide Ambassador would be a good choice?
Anna Meares is based in NZ. That rules here out. Anyway why do you want a sports person, but not a football person to be given an easy way thru??

What are you scared of??

Do you think a marketing company should have no board members who have worked in marketing?

Do you think a manufacturing company should have no board members who have worked in manufacturing?

Do you thing a motor vehicle company should have no board members who have worked in the motor vehicle industry?

We are an elite level football club, yet have no board members who have played in an elite football competition.

If not maybe Kyle Chalmers or Bruce Djite who are also Port Ambassadors could fill the role, unlike some past appointments they are all Port supporters. You never know the nett gain at the end of 2023 might be that we have Warren Tredrea and one of the aforementioned on the Board.
Kyle Chalmers is 24, he has no real life/work experience to be on the board, but he should be part of an elite athlete advisory set up within the footy department.

Kyle Chalmers empties the tank, every bloody time he is in a big race. He should teach the whole footy department what to do come big games.

If you are on the board you aren't supposed to get involved in the day to day stuff, so board members have oversight roles and ask questions and demand answers. Kyle is someone you want involved at the coal face, not overseeing things.
As for Kathy Nagle David Koch does not have to say anything to Kathy as she will understand the situation and will have the opportunity to run against Tredders at the end of the year, if he is still interested.
No he doesn't have to say anything because he just told world we want all our footballers to run in member elected positions so anyone who is a member elected director is basically useless because we only want footballers to win a popular vote and nobody else.

About the only semblance of a democratic process we have left in the Club is the election of Member Nominees and no one should have a problem with that.
I have a problem we only vote 2 to board, I have a problem we don't have in our constitution the day the AFL stops controlling our club like the crows do - 31/10/2028. We have a board who wont change enough things because the Chair is all powerful and is scared of change - that affects his profile.

In any case as you know the AFL has to rubber stamp Board appointments and maybe they have objections to Warren Tredrea getting a shot it- I am not saying they would veto an appointment but in these strange times who knows?
Koch can't veto Tredders or any players now getting voted in by the members given his statement about how past legends should get on the board.
In any case Tredders does not seem to be up in arms about the rejection and we appear to have supporters who are more upset than Tredders. Hopefully there will be some rational and relevant questions asked at the AGM without creating a circus which plays into the media's hands.
Tredders can accept that they don't want him, what he can't accept was that it has taken over 4 months to respond to him, and they didn't get back to him, he has to chase them. How ****ing hard was it to pick up the phone and communicate with him?

How hard would it have been for Koch to say I wont appoint any ex players to the board, you all have to run for a member elected position, back in October, given this is his so called good governance and transparency model??

AFL wouldn't tolerate a tinfoil hat wearing anti-vaxxer/ conspiracy theorist on Port's board and Koch and co. deserve congratulations here.

Ok troll fool.

Looking at the Board it appears that knowing what it takes to lead a Port Adelaide premiership side is obviously not a valued area of expertise.

Koch directly appointed Ransom in two seconds flat, but hey Tredders wait 12 months and jump through some membership ballot hoops.

Could be wrong but I don't think insufficient levels of millennial disruption was the missing piece of the premiership puzzle.

From the PAFC announcement article of Ransom being appointed a board member:

Port Adelaide’s chief executive Keith Thomas says despite being a West Coast supporter, Ransom ticks off the most important requirement for any member of the club – she’s a challenger.

“Holly is a highly creative person and a challenger of the status quo - Port Adelaide is very much the same,” Thomas says.

Clearly the current admin only want to challenge certain aspects of the status quo, which seemingly don't relate to winning premierships

Port Adelaide’s chief executive Keith Thomas says despite being a West Coast supporter, Ransom ticks off the most important requirement for any member of the club – she’s a challenger.
Tredrea challenges Hinkley's record of being at a club for too long without achieving success.

Koch: "Not like that!"

I don’t recall - is the voting system first past the post? Maybe Koch expects Fiacchi to run again and wants Tredders there to split the vote?

On iPhone using recycled electrons, via BigFooty.com mobile app
This could actually be close to home.

Koch would hate to have Tredrea AND Fiachi there. Too close to losing his numbers.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I have a problem we only vote 2 to board, I have a problem we don't have in our constitution the day the AFL stops controlling our club like the crows do - 31/10/2028. We have a board who wont change enough things because the Chair is all powerful and is scared of change - that affects his profile.

This is the big one. I reckon you can probably trace every problem, including this incident/issue with Tredrea, back to the fact that our board is not controlled by or accountable to our members. Even Hinkley - much as we dislike him - is only still here because (unanimously or in majority) the board's metrics of success are completely divorced from the members'.

I'd feel a lot better about appointing Tredrea, or anyone else, to the board if I knew we could remove them for non performance.

Maybe Tredrea makes it onto the board before the member election, and maybe his is a golden era that begins with Hinkley's head on a stake in the middle of the Brougham Pl/Queen St roundabout and ends with a four-peat, but ...

Warren Tredrea is not any Joe Blow. He is a premiership captain of our club, a hall of famer and bloody good football brain.

... you could have asked for no finer a football resume nor more outstanding character than Russell Ebert when he was appointed coach in 1983. I want us to become again the club that was willing and able to pursue success so ruthlessly. That would apply to club legends appointed to the board in the way it did to the very best of our club when he was appointed as senior coach.

Whatever the reason for this story breaking on the eve of the AGM, and whatever the outcome of Tredrea's declared candidacy, do you (REH, and others) have an understanding (or opinion) of how intertwined board/constitution reform is with the other big issues facing our club, and what the best way forward is?

So when's Koch up for re-election? Can he be voted out by members? Or because he's an AFL appointee, he's untouchable?

Darren was brought in for a specified role on the board. He has left so why can't he recommend a replacement for him, for that replacement to do a specific role similar to what he was asked to do?? Its not a demand, but a recommendation. Why do you take this - its not his station in life to recommend others - approach??

If they all respect each other what the bloody hell is wrong with a recommendation???

People are always making recommendations about Port board members. Ex Premier Marshall made a recommendation in 2020, Port assessed it and said yep that person is a great fit.

Due process is a term thrown out there, that most people don't understand. Koch hasn't done due process he has done an I'm scared I will block him exercise.

People make suggestions. What is wrong with that. Then those people are assessed. Yes you want a decent assessment purpose.

I would then expect a proper assessment of the candidate he nominated and anyone with any ******* brains would say this person has a material conflict of interest over the PBs so we reject him on that alone. Its not that hard!

But Koch has proved conflicts of interest and process only apply when and how he wants it to. That's how a huge chunk of the AFL unfortunately works.

Anna Meares is based in NZ. That rules here out. Anyway why do you want a sports person, but not a football person to be given an easy way thru??

What are you scared of??

Do you think a marketing company should have no board members who have worked in marketing?

Do you think a manufacturing company should have no board members who have worked in manufacturing

Do you thing a motor vehicle company should have no board members who have worked in the motor vehicle industry?

We are an elite level football club, yet have no board members who have played in an elite football competition.

Kyle Chalmers is 24, he has no real life/work experience to be on the board, but he should be part of an elite athlete advisory set up within the footy department.

Kyle Chalmers empties the tank, every bloody time he is in a big race. He should teach the whole footy department what to do come big games.

If you are on the board you aren't supposed to get involved in the day to day stuff, so board members have oversight roles and ask questions and demand answers. Kyle is someone you want involved at the coal face, not overseeing things.

No he doesn't have to say anything because he just told world we want all our footballers to run in member elected positions so anyone who is a member elected director is basically useless because we only want footballers to win a popular vote and nobody else.

Koch can't veto Tredders or any players now getting voted in by the members given his statement about how past legends should get on the board.

Tredders can accept that they don't want him, what he can't accept was that it has taken over 4 months to respond to him, and they didn't get back to him, he has to chase them. How ******* hard was it to pick up the phone and communicate with him?

How hard would it have been for Koch to say I wont appoint any ex players to the board, you all have to run for a member elected position, back in October, given this is his so called good governance and transparency model??

Good luck at the AGM. I hope you are able to change the system so that Members take back control of the Club.

Given that Tredders will get in as a Member rep later in the year there are not too many ex AFL players who would fit the bill as Darren Cahill's replacement. If would be great to find someone with some playing and coaching experience.

People make suggestions. What is wrong with that. Then those people are assessed. Yes you want a decent assessment process.

I would then expect a proper assessment of the candidate he nominated and anyone with any ******* brains would say this person has a material conflict of interest over the PBs so we reject him on that alone. Its not that hard!

What are you scared of??

Do you think a manufacturing company should have no board members who have worked in manufacturing?

Tredders can accept that they don't want him, what he can't accept was that it has taken over 4 months to respond to him, and they didn't get back to him, he has to chase them. How ******* hard was it to pick up the phone and communicate with him?

I have no doubt Tredders would bring a new perspective to the Board. Warren Tredrea is a person of experience and success in the AFL and when you look around the traps there are not too many with his experience and his ability to identify the key issues and come up with solutions. I also have no doubt Tredders will get eventually on the Board if he wants it.

You are right Kochie could have handled things better, he could have explained the situation to Tredders and put the whole deal to bed months ago but for reasons best known to Kochie he didn't and that is David Koch. I am not really sure what Kochie means when he says the Club does not want to be put in a position where it chooses 'club legends over club legends' for a board position. Was there more than just Tredders in the mix? Has a past AFL player been head hunted, or is this just another of Kochie's flak deflecting one liners?

You are also right about the system and the lack of accountability to Members. Unfortunately it is not going to change we are stuck with it and the important thing is that the Board get it right and appoint someone with an elite sporting background. The field is not overly extensive so purely as an example I would not be too disappointed if a guy like Bruce Djite came on board. Ok, he does not have a Port AFL background but he has made it to the top in his chosen sport, he has an executive profile in SA and his community involvement would suit the PAFC Board to a tee. He is also a guy who seems to get listened to in the media and often has some forceful points to make. A replacement for Darren Cahill will eventually be announced but it is unlikely to be someone who will rock the boat so maybe Bruce Djite is wishful thinking.

I wish you well at the AGM and hope that your questions are answered.

News Koch blocks Tredders push for the board